Elemi 9+

34 68
Avatar for Jumper-01
1 year ago

21st may 2022.
I already know what most of my Nigerian brothers and sisters on this platform would be thinking after seeing a title like this and yes I love the song of course Davido is my fave but more than the artist behind the song the message behind the song is something I love.

For all of my foreign audience who don’t know what elemi 9+ means-Well it is synonymous to saying the nine lives of a cat. You must wonder why would a Nigerian artist use such line in his recent hit single titled “stand strong

.. can’t deny my devotion

Well according to the lyrics of the song he was talking about his personal struggles and life as a world wide artist in Nigeria. You see davido is from a very wealthy family and most times people tend to assume that because a person is wealthy they don’t have problems at all.

And as much as that may sound true it is not everybody have their own share of problems. For the rich it might not be much but it is there. For davido one of his was how the death of his friends over the years affected him mentally and how make sure he doesn’t loose his head and stay strong. Well he said all these in a short film that was recorded during the making of the song.

What does Elemi 9+ mean to me ?

Just for clarification Elemi 9+ is a Yoruba word. The Yorubas are a people mostly located of the western part of Nigeria. Well for me Elemi 9+ means not giving up. It signifies the undying spirit of a struggler. A person who has refused to be put down by life permanently.

Truth is adversity would come, as humans we should welcome them because it is part of life. It has been before us and would be after us. So we can’t completely eradicate problems and adversity. We would always run into them so what can we do but Face them head -on.

The elemi 9+ spirit is an embodiment of strength and will. The will to get up every time life knocks you hard to the ground. The ability to stare life deep in the eyes and say “knock me down as much as you want but I am going to get back up”.

Apart from that all the lyrics and their arrangements in the song is something I just think is phenomenal. First he started off with lines like“even though your body full of bite marks from all dem canines”- which was a way of him talking about his struggles in the part and all the attacks he had pass-through to this point in his life. He then went in the song to say “ my fears are easier to face now”- which meant that he is getting stronger. And then he says “my steps are guided by jehovah”- which is praying for himself and the moves he makes. And he did that quite a number of times in the song.

Now people might say it’s because I am just a big davido’s fan yes of course I am but you can’t deny that this song is a powerful song. For those of you who haven’t heard the song yet here is link to listen. And without further ado ladies and gentlemen I give you stand strong by Davido.


Thank you for reading with me.
Jumper✍️
©copyright2022.
All rights reserved.

23
$ 2.98
$ 2.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Cogamedia
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 15
Sponsors of Jumper-01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jumper-01
1 year ago

Comments

Nigerian people have Multi talent. I have many friends some are working online Like @HappyBoy and one my firend @Jeni added on what's up. I love to your taste in song so you like motivational lyrics. I was in wonder meaning of Elumi+9. Thanks for making clear its meaning. I shall like to listen your favorite singer. I hope it will be my favorite also.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah me too I would love to listen to your songs too .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sure brother, I shall mentioned you in my article when I published them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Alright thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo, for real, nor be only money get OBO to where eh dey so, if its just money, Dj cuppy for done still go far too, Davido work hard for where he is and the whole industry still sees him like not worthy of what he has, he's not easy for him, trying to prove himself, those people heart has already locked against him, but still don't allow it to hold him back.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly bro you are saying everything 100 % you can change the minds of people that don’t want their minds changed

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I might listen to the song too because I love songs whose lyrics are meaningful and relating to life´s experience and also an inspiration to learn from.

The truth is that, everyone has one problem or the other. It doesn´t mean only the poor encounters such, the rich do also.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly and that is the thing with Nigerians we love a good “grass to grace story “ if it is a “grace to grace “ we don’t really think much of it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

OBO is good no doubt but the way you said about this song ehh, this oyibo People go go download am now and start giving. Davido should come and pay you for advertisment 😏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Abi? I feel the same way as you bro I dey send evidence go him dm now

$ 0.00
1 year ago

See as you just dey hype this song 😂 the only thing I like in this song is that choir that did backup for him. Unfortunately for davido, this song got released around the same time with burna boy's last last and Asake's palazzo, na those ones I dey vibe to pass this stand strong

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂ahh na only me be 30BG for this nigeria

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Keep standing strong my brother 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just imagine 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. Funny enough, I don't even know about this song. When I saw your title, I was thinking, "what's this man up to today". It's easier for us to assume rich people have no problem but they are humans afterall. The rich also cry.

I like the song... First time I'm hearing it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice I made you listen to the song wow.. I am sending this to davido’s dm to collect my reward.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That would be super cool. I hope he sees it too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe you will win a Grammy unlike davido 🌚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahhhh this man hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂 Emi ika

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That song is among my favorite for this month. HerBAE no go minus, HerBAE elemi 9+.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo forget that one na rebe na him be my elemi 9+ oh .. 😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣 this comrade sha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love davido too and the song burst my head for real

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Better person no be that nonsens* freedom boy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Burns boy last last is better sha... No argue

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Normal. Dem just blind

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If I give you upper cult now them go say I too dey vex quick .. na why you prefer R9 over the real goat

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lovely song by an overrated artists

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Overrated wow? So you just going to push years of relevancy likes it’s nothing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish I could reply this using a sticker 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That song, "stand strong," is a fantastic song that everyone should listen to and learn from. Challenges will inevitably arise; all we need to do is prepare and stand strong to overcome them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah you are right and that is why I absolutely love the song

$ 0.00
1 year ago