Yarn Tree Bombing - The Making

16 41
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

November 19, 2021

Β Any idea what a yarn tree bombing is?

Yeah, me too, has no idea before.

That was before I get to know and be a member of this group, the Cebu Crochet Group.

This will be my second time to join the group in a yarn tree bombing activity. I have written about the first experience here:

https://read.cash/@Judith1969/tree-bombing-my-crochet-journey-p2-8a30973d

The venue for this activity will be at the grounds of Montebello Villa Hotel where The Visayas Art Fair will be held.

Our group was divided into four sub groups based on our location. This is for easier coordination between members.

Each group is assigned with one tree to yarn bomb.

There is the Team Mahogany, the members of this team are all from Lapu-Lapu City. Team Eucalyptus has members coming from Cebu City. Team Mango’s members are those living in the North while Team Santol are those from the South.

Each tree has different designs to be put up.

Mango Tree – Circles / Doilies / Flowers for the trunk while the branches will have dream catchers and mandalas.

Mahogany Tree – Christmas ornaments and garlands for the trunk and decorated big picture frame for the branches.

Santol Tree – will have granny squares for the trunk and wind spinners for the branches.

Eucalyptus Tree – will have the same as the mango tree for the trunk and branches.

I belong in Team Mango. This means that we will be dressing up the mango tree. Below are the dimensions of the mango tree that we are going to yarn bomb.

As there are only 6 of us in our team, we have to do overtime in creating doilies to wrap around this tree. I have posted some of the doilies I made for this activity in this link : https://read.cash/@Judith1969/jazz-up-your-face-mask-4c27d0b0

These are just some of my finished doilies.

I have added more doilies using pink yarns. I think I have exceeded the required 1sqm space to cover, but that is okay. I am more interested in having my work being showcased during the art fair.

I made small flowers before and just store them for future bazaars. I added them for the tree bombing. These will occupy the small spaces in between large doilies.

I also submitted several mandalas. I made them before for the group’s activity last year but was not pushed thru because of the pandemic.

This is the biggest mandala I have ever made so far. Β I think this is 24”in diameter.

Another one in mix of green color and is 15”in diameter.

I made small ones too. These are 8”in diameter. The brown one is made of 100% cotton thread while the red one is made of 100% acrylic.

It is not easy to attached these mandalas into to hoop. It really takes a lot of patience to finish one but then, the result is satisfying.

We will be installing these doilies and mandalas tomorrow morning and that is good for another story.

Thanks for crafting with me.

Β πŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈ

That’s all for now folks.

Thanks for dropping by.

To my sponsors, upvoters and commenters, a HUGE THANK YOU!

Thanks for the 🧑🧑🧑.

Β 

Β 

Β 

Β 

11
$ 6.39
$ 5.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @ZehraSky
+ 6
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

Comments

Ahh, now I see the beginning of this fun adventure. Your creations are beautiful πŸ’™

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you Monika. i enjoyed making them too. 🧑

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the fourth mandala. Reminds me of Maikrame, not sure if the name though but it sounds like that. They sell crocheted home designs and they are all aesthetic.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think you are referring to macrame? They are handicrafts too and they make beautiful home decors. πŸ§‘πŸ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those are so pretty my gosh. I wish I could make one of those someday, and participate in yarn tree bombing too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Where are you located? If you're in Cebu, you can join our group. Our admins keep us updated on any activity and we get paid for this too. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I am far from you guys. That's sad. I am still looking for a crochet group for our place since most groups I am a part in are open for everyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, my. Why so galing ate Judith???

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is too much ma'am Judith.😲 All of it are perfectly awesome, perfectly beautiful. I love it ma'am Judith. I'm your super fan. Both of you ma'am Carolina are the best crocheters ma'am.πŸ₯° I like also the colors. It's really amazing.❀️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks Ramona., Yeah, I also like Carolina's finished projects. She's good too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always welcome maam Judith. Yes ma'am both of you are the best.πŸ₯°β€οΈ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I've seen these things before but I never knew there was an event like this. I thought some random person just crocheted something on a tree. I'd like to be a part of that someday. It seems fun to be with people who share the same interest as mine.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Where is your location? Maybe you can join our group. 🧑

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm from Cagayan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, ok. Maybe there is a crochet group there too? Or you can create one and unite all the crocheters in Cagayan. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

T

$ 0.00
2 years ago