Tree Bombing - My Crochet Journey p2

5 29
Avatar for Judith1969
3 years ago

Hello again dear read.cash readers. Missed me?

I rarely logged in to read.cash nowadays. I was having so much fun with noise.cash, so during my free time I browse thru noise.cash and forget to write an article for read.cash.

I was also very busy with my reports to the Bureau of Internal Revenue (BIR), I can only have a few minutes of spare time, just enough for noise.cash. We all know that writing an article takes up a lot of time and it is better to do it in one sitting.

Anyways, I finally finished encoding the stuff needed for the BIR portal, all I need to do now is just to print the forms, so better write one article before I tackle with that.

So, this article is again about my journey with crochet. This is the second part. If you have not read the first part yet, here is the link :

https://read.cash/@Judith1969/my-crochet-journey-p1-ed906349

For several years and many times I have been having bazaars, I really thought that the art of crochet is long gone. I thought that I am alone in my crochet journey. This craft is no longer taught in schools. Every time I have a bazaar and when somebody ask me if I can teach them, I would gladly say YES.

One time, I was invited to join a bazaar in Lapu-Lapu City, in celebration of their coming fiesta. As this was a free rent of space and the schedule was in a weekend, I gladly accepted the invitation. When I arrived at the venue to set up my stuff, I saw some trees that were covered with crocheted items. I was so amazed. I keep on asking who made those and put them up on the trees, but no one knows who.

During the day of the bazaar, somebody approach my booth, she was so amazed with my display and we got to talk.

My booth :

I learned from her the identity of the people who put the crochets up the tree. They call it tree bombing.

It appears that I am not alone in my crochet journey as there is a group of crocheters in Cebu that I did not know about. Mam Judy, that is her name, is a member of the group and she introduced me to the rest of the members. The group is being called as CEBU CROCHET GROUP. They then invite me to join the group and since then I became part of it.

I attended monthly meet-ups, which is just about camaraderie, laughter, food and crochet.

When the group was again commissioned to work on another tree bombing, I was already part of it. Each member who wants to participate in the project were tasked to crochet doilies that will fit into a 20โ€ x 20โ€ in size.

We brought our finished doilies on the agreed schedule of putting up the tree bomb. And one by one connect the doilies to cover the tree.

We were divided into two groups. One group is for the free range tree bomb, meaning the doilies that are being put up has no theme.

While the second group has a theme of earth. They portray the sea, land and skies.

I am so happy and fortunate that I found this group. It is just full of positivity, laughter and fun.

Thank you for dropping by and see you in my next crochet journey.

๐Ÿงก๐Ÿงก๐Ÿงก

6
$ 0.69
$ 0.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.02 from @marblely
+ 1
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
3 years ago

Comments

Akala ko numg una pasabog haha vombing kasi๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ Pero ang ganda po ng ginagawa niyo Ang ganda siguro mamasyal jan at makita ko mga punong nilalagyan niyo ng design dinarayo na dn siguro ng mga turista,nakakabilib ka dn talaga madam nagwowrk ka sa BIR Dame mo pa talent hehe commentor mo ata aq sa noise cash๐Ÿ˜‚ Sana magoatuloy oa ang journey niyo sa Tree bombing love it po๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜โค๏ธ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Never heard of tree bombing before. I love how the tree looks like. It is so beautiful. That should be included in places to visit in Cebu. I love every detail and color of the tree bombing. ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. ๐Ÿงก

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You ladies added so many colours to the tree! The tree bombing is really beautiful and I love your booth! All the colours, so strikingly beautiful :) Do you leave the pieces there forever or do you take it back after a while? I read of another writer on Steem/Hive who did tree bombing too. Wonder if you two know each other :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I bring home with me the unsold items every after bazaar event. ๐Ÿ˜

Yes, I know that you are friend in Steem as I saw your comment on her article. In fact she is in one of the pictures above, the one with her glasses on top of her head. ๐Ÿ˜ And she's the one who introduced the group to me and vice versa. ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
3 years ago