Writing Prompt #8: Nature

61 155
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

As I sit outside in the garage this morning listening to the birds, watching the sun rise, and smelling the smells of outdoors it occurs to me that not everyone is able to spend so much time in nature.

To me, nature means the great outdoors. But it can also mean personality. As in, "It's not in my nature to do that."

What does nature mean to you? If it means the earth and all of her bounties, do you get enough of it? Do you love it or hate it?

Earth's Beauty

I feel incredibly privileged to be in such close contact with nature. Yesterday I rescued a baby rabbit.

Rescued baby rabbit

Today I helped a toad get out of the dog water. The poor thing was getting cold. As soon as I took it out of the water it goes away to find a dry spot.

Big open sky

I love being out in nature. I love the fresh air and the open sky. I love the trees and the birds. I don't love the biting and stinging insects. Those I could do without. I love to go barefoot and get my toes into the earth.

Going barefoot is difficult here because of huge stickers and cactus plants. I do love harvesting the prickly pear fruits to make cactus jelly! But I don't like stepping on or kicking them!

Prickly pear cactus. Look at the size of those needles!

Unfortunately, I'm allergic to much of nature. Trees and grasses, cats and horses, feathers and wool. Everything I feel so privileged to be a part of. I take handfuls of pills to help with my allergies so I can continue to enjoy nature.

So many pills!

Personality

Some people believe we are born who we are and others believe we are shaped by our surroundings. This is called nurture versus nature.

A person can be nurtured (shaped) in a certain way to become who they are with their belief systems, thoughts, and skills.

But a lot of who we are is intrinsic. We are born that way. It is simply our nature.

It is in my nature to love the helpless. Whether it is older people or sick animals or human babies. When I see something or someone who is helpless, I want to be there for them.

It's just in my nature.

Some people seem bitter and angry. It is in their nature to always see the negatives in life. Whereas some people are always happy and delighted by life. It is in their nature to see the positives in life.

Are these people born this way? Have they been trained? Is it nurture or is it nature?

What is your nature? Are you lazy, happy, resourceful, goal oriented, mathematical, artistic, or creative? Do you always see the positives or do you struggle with the injustice of life?

This week's writing prompt is nature.

The rules are simple.

  1. Write about nature

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words

  4. Tag me @JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun

I hope to read more this week than last week. I'm still reeling a bit from all the grief, sadness, and caring for people. It might be in my nature to help the helpless, but it is also in my nature to run and hide and seek the comfort and peace of my own company.

This prompt series has taken on a live of it's own, so please, don't feel slighted if I don't get to read your post. I'm read as many as I can.

37
$ 6.03
$ 3.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
+ 28
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

I have a poem that I'd like to submit for this writing prompt, but it's about 300 words - could I still submit it here?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This looks like a great subject for a writing prompt, as you say nature can mean many things, the natural world, our own human nature, the nature of life itself. I am sorry that you are allergic to many things in the natural world. I hope with the help of the medicine you can still enjoy getting outdoors. I will have a think about writing an article on this. I love your prompts as I struggle on my own to think of a new topic to write about each time, so these prompts do inspire me. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm happy they are helping!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, hey there! prompt 8 already? time surely flies. still got 3 prompts from you to catch. from the cheating, then compassion and this one, nature. good thing, this doesn't have a deadline. i'm hoping to produce an article about the 3 prompts as soon as I can. I feel like I have missed a lot on the fast few weeks. aww

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi there. I just remembered this prompt of yours. Lol. Should I tag you in my article or can I tag you in the comments or how should I go about it? Am quite new here so feel free to let me know. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Most people tag me in the article. Feel free to invite people of you like.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh apparently I wrote another nature inspired post. Lol. You can just check my latest 2 posts if you still haven't seen the tag in one of them. :) Have a great day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alright then I shall edit my latest article and tag you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like this topic. Might join the prompt again. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this topic because nature is just so wonderful, while human nature is complicated lol!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Nice prompt topic but that was sad to know that you cannot actually maximize your experience with nature every time you are close to nature or most of your allergens. Is there a cure in that? Or That's a nature you have to deal with for the rest of your life? ๐Ÿฅบ

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I live on 30 acres in the Texas panhandle. I'm surrounded by nature. And the allergens. But living here and having animals makes it totally worth it. I can't imagine living in a city every again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aw, that's good to know. Praying for your health๐Ÿ™ it's quite difficult to drink lots of pills

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wow, I love it. I love Nature very much. I'll join this prompt sooner. โ˜บ๏ธ

$ 0.05
2 years ago

As I this article, thinking about nature, I feel peaceful and relaxed. It is like I'm sitting in the middle of the meadow and reading a book. Gotta join this prompt.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I love this prompt, but I already have written an article about nature , the be closer to green. ๐Ÿ˜… I'll just gonna make a new one. I guess I missed to join the previous prompt because of my series of stories

$ 0.05
2 years ago

you could write about human nature. You can't miss a prompt. They're there always. No deadlines.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure.. If I'm out of topic ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This could be my first ever prompt ๐Ÿ˜… I will try this out! This one I'm pretty sure what to say. ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I agree with the nature and nurture concept. Our skills can be a result of being nurtured. And on the other side, our traits and attitudes could be just our nature :).

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It is a question for the ages and one psychologists continue to research.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is your nature to help many of us here battling with writer's block to come up with something using prompt word. Now, it is in my nature to keep growing and becoming a good writer.

I am entering this soon. Thank you ma

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Always, you're welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Helping is really your nature, such a good person but please don't forget about your own needs :) I'll surely participate again to this prompt of yours. Hope youre doing well. And did the rabbit survive?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

No. I think the poor little thing went into shock and never came out. That is the most common result.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know what I love the most about nature? I love nature because it's the only thing that makes me relax and gives me peace of mind. I always have my "me time" where I spend my day in a place where all I can see is nature. I just love everything about it. :)

May I request a topic for your next prompt? Can you do it with pets? Hehe thankyouuuu

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I might be able to squeeze pets into a prompt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love nature. Will definely write about this one.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Goody!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is an interesting prompt. And it reminds me of a graphics design that I did before and I want to do it again. So, I will be doing at least two things related to this prompt. Thanks for this.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Sweet. Will you share the design with us, too?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I posted a couple of variants in noise.cash. and I used a third version in my post We Only Have One Earth. Which is my contribution to this prompt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully I can write with this promt.. My time didn't allowed me last time...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You can write any prompt any time forever. There are no deadlines.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh really? Ok I will choose which best that suits my mood. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

not a nature lover but I will try my luck in here...mwehehehehehe

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You sound like my eldest daughter. She doesn't like getting "nature all over" her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

same as you ma'am I easily caught with allergies...and I always have patches of red marks all over my body when in contact with grasses and branches

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I took 2 years of allergy shots. I'm not sure how much good they did, but I would hate to think what shape I would be in is I had not taken them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you got shots because of your allergies??? well lucky for me it didn't get that far or worst..so I did control myself over things that could wake my allergies..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. I think the idea behind the shots is to expose the body to tiny amounts of the allergens hoping to reduce the histamine reaction over time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahh ok and did it give you some comforts then?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well... I'm not sure. I imagine without it I would have been much more uncomfortable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you should also be careful because even though you got shots you still might be prone to allergies..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm definitely still afflicted with allergies. And though I take medication in the morning and the evening AND a nasal spray daily, I still have to go every 4 months or so to the doctor due to sinus infection caused by allergies.

And my lifestyle is still 100% worth it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

glad to hear that..

keep safe always!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have missed a lot but I need to write on this as this is a very interesting topic. Nature is all around us and what we do everyday. I'm in for this

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yay!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully one day I will have the time for a prompt!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You've written them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really is in your nature to help people especially the helpless. And you are right, some people are shaped by their surrounding or environment. Well I have different kinds of nature especially the lazy part๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ but I also have so other good ones lol. I really have no idea what to write about this though But I will read from others for sure, I know I will come across their entry.

By the way, how have you been? How are you doing?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I still feel mostly numb. I'm sure it's is exhaustion from being around so many people. I usually only see people every other week or so. Spending time around people for seven days. Oof. It's going to take time to recover. That's just how it is, though. I probably need to find something else to cook.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah! I guess and I really do understand that kind of situation. I hope you find your space soon enough.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nature is something that can relieve stress, I really really love the beauty of nature. The most satisfying is when you are with your family outdoor and then you are relaxing under the shade of a tree. Picnic etc.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sounds like you have a story there, waiting to be written.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would love to. I am planning to write about nature, since I am a farmer and I'm always dealing with nature.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Me, too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great prompt Jonica and one of my favourites too! I will no doubt join this week too.

Iโ€™m sorry to hear of your many allergies though. Not cool to be taking so many pills each day ๐Ÿ™ˆ

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Those are just my morning pills! Lol. I also take pills for diabetes and depression. But, allergies are to blame for much of my condition.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh dear! Thatโ€™s a lot of pills Jonica. Make sure to protect your liver from the damage they can cause. I canโ€™t even imagine taking this many pills, but I know that my mum, dad and nan also take a lot ๐Ÿ™ˆ

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Don't worry. I get liver enzyme tests regularly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago