Famous Filipino Street Foods That You Should Try

45 46
Avatar for Jinifer
2 years ago

Street food is one of the best things that Filipinos have. These are the most famous kinds of foods that foreigners and tourists usually love to try. Some foreigners travel to a particular place just to taste different street foods. We Filipinos are really fond of street foods. It's like it's already part of our lives. LOL. Every afternoon after school or after work, we always head to our "suki", our favourite street vendor and dig in to our favourite street food. It's been two years since the last time that I ate street foods. Though we also cooked foods like that, it always feels different when you're on the street with a stick in your hand. Teehee.


[ KWEK KWEK / TOKNENENG ]

Kwek-kwek is my favourite out of all street foods. It is basically just made of eggs or quail eggs and coated with an orange batter and deep-fried until it becomes crispy on the outside. The Kwek-kwek and Tokneneng are quite the same and the only difference between the two is the eggs that are used. The kwek-kwek is made of quail eggs while the tokneneng is made of regular eggs of a duck. It tastes even better if it's dipped in a sweet and spicy sauce with onions and cucumbers.

[ FISHBALLS ]

In my humble opinion, fishballs are the most popular street food, not just in the Philippines but also popular in other Southeast Asian countries. A fish ball is just a fish paste with cornstarch, baking powder, and other spices. It is then rounded just like a meatball. Its main ingredient would definitely be fish. It wouldn't be called a fish ball if its main ingredient was pork. LMAO. I'm just kidding.  Just like with the kwek-kwek, you can just dip it in a sauce depending on what you prefer, either sweet or spicy. The sauce is what makes it even more tasty. If you want, you can eat it with rice. 

[ BALUT ]

The street food that the Philippines is known for. Balut street food is not just known in the Philippines, but other Southeast Asian countries have it too. But it's just that when we say balut to other foreign people, they will automatically say that it is from the Philippines and a portion of Filipino food. Balut is just an egg with a fetus inside. It is also called a "duck embryo", which is incubated for a period of 14 to 21 days, and some even last till 28 days, when it is already formed into a baby chick. When you eat it, you just have to open a little hole and sip all the water inside the egg and put a little bit of salt and vinegar. It is best eaten at night. To be honest, I myself haven't eaten a balut with an egg inside. It's not that I'm being "maarte", but it's just that I can't eat a baby duck. Whether it's 14 days old or not, I still can't eat it. I only eat balut penoy, a hardboiled duck egg that doesn't have a baby duck inside or the embryo hasn't perfectly formed yet.

[ ISAW ]

Isaw is a pig or chicken intestine being barbecued, which are two of my favourite barbecues. You can eat it with rice on the side. It is best eaten during dinner time, as it is usually prepared or sold during the night. I haven't seen anyone selling barbecue during the daytime. Have you? LOL. If you're worried about the inside of the intestine, don't worry since they've already cleaned it. But it honestly makes it taste better. I'm not kidding. HAHAHA

[ BANANA CUE ]

A Banana Cue is just a caramelized banana on a stick. Literally. You just have to deep fry it and pour some sugar on it until it becomes sticky and starts to coat the banana. This is the famous 3 P.M snack of the Filipino people, along with cola or just orange juice. You can also make a lot of things using bananas. The first one is this, the banana cue. You can also make turon, a banana wrapped in a lumpia wrapper and sprinkled with white sugar, or if you want, you can also make caramelized turon, which makes it even sweeter.

To my non-Filipino friends, I hope you enjoy the foods listed above.LOL. You might as well wanna try it making one of those. I assure you that it tastes better than what it looks like.



An article entry to @JonicaBradley 's writing prompt #20 FOOD. And if you wish to participate you can write at least 600 words and must be originally written by you. Don't forget to tag @JonicaBradley and submit your entry here at PromptlyJonica. ENJOY!

Lead Image


Jini's Note:

Thank you my lovely and awesome read cash buddies! I also wanna thank my humble and generous sponsors for sponsoring me, you guys are the best! Thank you, my awesome buddies, for leaving an upvote, likes and comments.

You can always hit the Like and Subscribe button if you want to.

Arrigathankyougozaimuch :>

011022021

18
$ 6.74
$ 6.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 8
Sponsors of Jinifer
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jinifer
2 years ago

Comments

I would definitely love to try that. Tasty looking dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa fishball, mas gusto kk talaga ung gawa at hindi ung nabibili sa palengke I mean mas masarap hahaha pag ung halot balot kasi parang ang iba ba hahaha. Tas yang isaw, tokneneng shituuuuuu the best. Tas ang sauce ay sweet and sour with chili ahhhh the best tapos palamig hihu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

super duper ultra mega combo! HAHAAHAH sarap ng kwek kwek kapag may palamg ate nohh HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is beauty in trying different cultural background foods

$ 0.00
2 years ago

exactly! Thanks for passing by :>

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wow isaw , masarap kumain ng isaw lalo na pag masarap yung saw sawan mo which is may kalamansi at sili, tapos banana cue pang meryenda.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mas masarap kapag maanghang yung sauce talaga hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mapaparami ang kain mo ,haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't eat balut hehe. The rest , tlgang masasarap hihi

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

hindi ka nag iisa ate yen, di din ako kumakain ng balut na may baby sa loob haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakain ko na yung iba pwera yung isaw hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nakain ko na din to lahat ate pero except sa balut na may baby sa loob, di ko kasi talagang kayang kainin ay haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pinapatanggal ko sa akin haha. Yung yellow lang saka nilalagyan ng suka. Pero tagal na rin akong d kumain. D ko na maalala haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is beauty in trying different cultural foods

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kwek kwek looks lami I want to try that for sure

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it's super lami kuya! You can make your own version too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hmm i like super lami Inday, perhaps I shall make it one day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can’t believe you have all of this hidden Before now.. they are all amazingly beautiful, I couldn’t count how many times I felt like grabbing one off the screen of my phone.

It was a lovely time on your food journey and entry

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mouth is watering while making this article, I've been craving for these street foods too haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My favourite ever food are street foods. Haha, that kwek kwek word is sounding very Sek$y hehe, all foods are looking delicious. Good night mate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sounds like quick quick LOL haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would love to try most of these, especially the Kwek-kwek. But I think I can't eat a Balut ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeess kwek kwek is just so easy to make. Maybe you can make some version of yours hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure, I will try. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Filipinos really have so many street foods and I will like to try it some day in the future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you definitely should! hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, I don't understand the whole point of Balut; it doesn't seem like it is a good choice of food. Do you find it delicious?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

honestly, No. I, myself don't even eat balut LOL. But most of them loves to eat balut

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great to learn different street foods from Philippines. They look attractive and I can see how people would want to crave to eat them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

maybe you should try kwek kwek too princess, it's just easy to make and it tastes delicious

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bakit walang kikiam🤣 Masarap yung kwek kwek kaso di na aford ng baon after school🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah ako dati nong high school ako, di ako nag ssnack eh kasi every afyernoon lang ako bumibili ng snakc sa suki namin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kalami ba ana tanan sis. Labi na ang banana cue. I remember kadtong buntis pa ko, mao jud nay permanente nakong pangitaon.hahha Magkabuang tawn akong pares pumangita asay namaligya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

banana cue diay imong gi lihi te hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lahat po yan, except sa balut 😂kahit bayaran papo nila ako ng pera hindi po talaga nila ako mapapakain nyan haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

WAHAHAHAH sameee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was good to learn about other's traditions but I just cannot deal with the thought of people eating embryo omg.. sorry am not judging, but just nope.. I'm a vegetarian and when I saw banana, I felt.. ufff finally something I can eat hahaha 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha you're not alone, I, myself don't also eat balut hahaha. I just feel sad about the baby chick inside 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know right? it's just too painful to think about.. also, eating embryo is like so weird...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my sis!😲 No. 1 ko talaga yung balut. Naalala ko tuloy nung college ako. Lagi talaga kami kumakain namg balut tas mura dun sa amin sa province tas nung nag work na ako sa City. Nagulat ako sobrang mahal yung isang piraso.😄

Kakamiss lang kumain ng ganito. Yung isaw din sobrang sarap. Ang sarap sis wala akong masabi. Kwek-kwek at fishballs kakamiss din..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

diko mo kaon og balut kay malooy ko sa piso nga naa sa sulod HAHAH balut penoy ra ako kaunon gyud hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lahat yan, sis except yung babana hehe. I dont' eat bananas kasi, pero pag turon, gusto ko yung wrapper :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bawal ka po sa saging ate? kahit anong klaseng saging?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

since birth, sis. tinatry daw naman ni mama pakainin ako nung bata ako pero ayoko daw talaga hehe. oo kahit anong saging 😬

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ngayon lang ako naka encounter ng hindi kumakain ng saging ate hehe, though meron akong kakilala na hindi kumakain ng saging pero hindi lahat ng klase ng saging , may isang klase ng saging lang siyang ayaw kainin hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago