An Aftershock

21 52
Avatar for Jijisaur
1 year ago

It is almost a month since the big earthquake hit the northern part of the Philippines where I currently live. July 29th, 2022 was an eye-opener for me. It was really a traumatic experience for me because I really thought that the land will be cracked open. I was inside of a building at that time and all I can hear were the breaking and creaking of the ceiling. 

I believe now that nothing is impossible. The Earth can vanish in a second with just an asteroid with the speed of light hitting it.

I had sleepless nights and had a hard time eating food. I was not in the mood and spirit just of thinking of the traumatic experience.

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

Thank you, sponsors!

Midnight, Aug 19th, around two in the morning, a shake woke me up. Someone is like pulling and pushing the bed, I heard the ceiling is creaking and then I realized that it was an earthquake. ~Ahh, I hate this feeling. It was quite strong so everyone woke up and checked on each other. 

The aftershock from the 7.3 magnitude is still felt after almost a month now. 

If ever, we have our emergency and food bag to go. 

It is hard to live in constant fear and trauma. 

I am feeling better now because that we know how to act in case a big earthquake hits the ground again. 

It is comforting too that I am not alone in this traumatic experience. 

Some people too have different traumas and fears in life. I read some of my friends’ blogs about it and felt really sorry for what they have been through. 

These events in life made them stronger. I admire people who did not give up on life just because someone is bringing them down. Hugs to all~ 


On a lighter note,

How was your day, guys? I had a little headache last night probably because of overwork. I went to bed early because I feel dizzy. I am glad that I woke up feeling much better.

I hope you have a wonderful Friday! Cheers!


That is it for this article. I will see you at the next one!

📸 All photos are credited to Unsplash

Date Published: Aug 19, 2022

Check my other articles!

🤩 Can You Make Yourself Seem Like A Psychopath By Just One Text? https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/can-you-make-yourself-seem-like-a-psychopath-by-just-one-text-eac5964e

☁️ I Am Jealous Of The Clouds https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/i-am-jealous-of-the-clouds-b5a1f27c

💙 Winning On A NFT Giveaway! https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/winning-on-a-nft-giveaway-9c3c4751


13
$ 1.13
$ 0.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @Pichi28
+ 6
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
1 year ago

Comments

Keep safe sa inyong lahat Jijisaur. Matagal tagal na simula nung last lumindol dito sa Mindanao, nakakatakot talaga pag may earthquake tas may kasunod pang aftershock.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Scary po talaga huhu. Medyo na trauma talaga ako sa nangyari. Take care din, Sydney!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Earthquakes or any natural disaster are surely traumatizing. We can't rwally stop nature from doing its thing. We can only take safety precautions. Awtsu, take care, Jiji! We will pray for your safety.🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, cutie! Stay safe rin!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, that's very traumatic for people who experienced it especially to those who lived in Northern region. The ground shook violently, scraped the beneath, and caused fear to humankind.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I find it hard to sleep every night since. Thanks for dropping by, Den.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🥺 aww madam... Ingat always po

$ 0.00
User's avatar J.M
1 year ago

Hello, JM! Wow, you are so handsome with that cute cat. Can I be your friend? Thank you for reminding me to take care everyday. I <3 U

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can relate to you. The fear is constant when you experienced it first hand.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, we are not alone in traumas, just different ways. Hugs to you Fluffy!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Different traumas different ways of coping up, we can't stop such events but I hope you'll be safe always.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you! We are still alert though. Take care!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aigooo, kaya pala may nababasa na naman ako about earthquake kahapon. Jan na naman pala sa inyo. My goodness, be alert always. And may God always guide you all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo Panda Panda. Mukang sa northern Luzon lang yung lindol huhu. Stay safe rin po kayo dyan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can feel how you are feeling right now, please take care of yourself and be safe. I am always scared of incident like this and I don't pray to experience one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Put your mind at rest. All will be well. Take good care of yourself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Taga Abra ka? Grabeng experience nga sa inyo! Huhu. Be alert pa din! Lam mo .. takot ko earthquake talaga. I cant imagine experiencing yung ganun kalakas and may mga kasunod pang small shakes ...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Malapit po sa Abra, pero mas grabe duon as in tumba mga buuldings and bitak bitak mga daan. I do hope makarecover sila ng mabilis kasi grabe ang nangyari.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakatrauma talaga yun sis kasi na feel mo yung sobrang lakas. Nagulat din ako nun pag kita ko sa mga news. Di ko inexpect na ganun pala.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, it was and still is scary. Up to this day our emergency bag are still hanged near our door so incase of another big quake, we are prepared.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sis it's better to be prepared always.

$ 0.00
1 year ago