Seventy versus Seventeen

11 16
Avatar for JenThoughts
1 year ago
Date: May 25, 2022

Whaaat!? Seventeen? Not Seventy?

Can you please try to read "seventy seventeen seventy seventeen" several times. Can you hear yourself saying the same number? If someone will say the two numbers in a very slow voice, can you hear the difference? or again hearing the same number?

Hello guys and gals how are you? Wet season already started and we are having rain since morning. Mr. Sun wasn't able to show his bright sunshine today.

For today's article I decided to share a very fresh experience of mine. It just happened today. It is about Seventy versus Seventeen.

Let's start...

Yesterday a child of our neighbor asked me,

Ate, are you cooking Kutsinta?

Yes, I am

He then went home and go back.

Ate, my sister said she will order seventy pieces for tommorow.

What time she needs it?

She went home and might be asked his sister.

Anytime ate.

Please be specific on time because if you need it by morning, I will cook it very early in the morning and when you need it in the evening I will cook it in the afternoon. (So, they will have it fresh.)

He went home again and then he said morning.

Since we came here 2 weeks ago this is the time first I will cook kutsinta because there is an order. I wonder how they knew that I know how to cook kutsinta. Might be they overheard me and my other neighbor's conversation that she will order kutsinta for Friday because it was her sister's birthday.

I went to town to buy the needed ingredients but unfortunately when I reached home, the cheese was not there. I wasn't able to check it yesterday because I wanted to go home as the rain will about to fall.

I prepared the utensils last night so in the morning everything is ready.

I woke up early and let my husband put some oil in the molder while I did the mixing of the ingredients.

While he is doing his task he asked me,

Who ordered this?

Our neighbor.

Did they pay for it already?

No, might be cash on pick up.

I don't know about them since I am new here but seems my husband can't believe it. They know them a little because he is living here before.

To make the long story short, I packed the seventy pieces kutsinta. Then sell the other 25 pieces to our churchmates since I cooked 100 pieces.

Pick up of order

My churchmates already picked their order and I am still waiting for the one who ordered the seventy pieces. I really thought there is a celebration because they ordered a lot.

The one who told me yesterday is the youngest sibling and now the older brother is the one who picked the order.

Ate, is the order ready?

Yes, how many pieces is it? (I asked again to make sure)

Seventeen.

Whaaat!? Seventeen? Not seventy?

I cleared it up to your brother yesterday, I said to him, Kuya 70 pieces? so it's 210 in total. Might be he didn't hear it. Anyway, his younger brother has a very slow voice that I can't hardly hear his voice even we are just neighbor.

He insisted that their order is just seventeen pieces. I was shocked and don't know how to react.

I just open what I packed ang get 17 pieces and just put it in the plastic container and hand it to him.

Can you imagine, 17 pieces order? Where in fact 50 pieces is my minimum for orders.

Oh! I just found myself laughing lol. Might be I was deaf and didn't hear exactly the right number. I texted my husband and he call me back. I told him what had happened and were both laughing. I told him there's a lot of mouth who will eat it hahaha.

I just give it away

Wrong number? No worries. We ate a lot as we wanted. I gave some to my ninang (god mother), sister, to my mother, to my niece and nephew and to my sister in law.

As of now, its 5:04 in the afternoon there is 9 pieces left. If someone will visit us this time then he/she could eat this up.

Closing thoughts

This is a lesson learned for me to make sure the number of orders. Listen well and asked the customer carefully.

I was happy that I didn't mind to be angry nor thought it as a failure because in times like these we can be able to share some of the blessings to others. My husband told me to sell it to others but I choose to give it away.

Want some? There still some pieces left hehehe.

Sponsors of JenThoughts
empty
empty
empty

Meet my wonderful sponsors. You can check them too.

Thank you for reading. See you
in my next article.

If you want to read more, you may check HERE.

Images are mine.

8
$ 1.41
$ 1.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 6
Sponsors of JenThoughts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JenThoughts
1 year ago

Comments

Seventy and seventeen really do sound alike, especially when you didn't hear it well. It's normal to make mistakes like that sometimes, some numbers can be mistaken for others. So what happened to the remaining kutsinta?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hmmm might be you didn't read it tell the end? Because in the last part I write that I just give it away.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol, now I have seen it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

See? the answer is in there hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

omg dami niluto mo sis, dapat sa susunod pa spell out mo na rin heheh!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha siguro sis para sure na sure hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naku sis bilhin ko na lang sana paborito ko yan eh kaya lang naipamigay mo na pala😁

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Pwede din kitang bigyan sis kasi may natira pa hehehe.. Catch mo na! Ito oh! hehehe. Thanks for reading sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nako, Yan Ang favorite snacks ko before. Way back elementary day. Mura at Ang sarap pa

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Me too I like it very much and that push me to learn how to cook it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahh, sarap naman Yan ma'am🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago