Working from home brought me a disease - herniated disk

22 47
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

People are adaptable by nature. There is no situation to which we cannot adapt, although this sometimes seems difficult and perhaps impossible. Due to the great challenges imposed on a global level, we had no choice, but to adapt. And we adapted to a new way of life. It turned out to be possible. Anything is possible when you have no choice.

When the first case of a person infected with the Covid-19 virus was declared in my country, my company organized incredibly quickly so that every employee gets their own laptop and starts working from home. We thought it was the only danger we needed to watch out for and everything else became less important.

In a very short time, the mindset of the whole world began to recognize only one priority - to protect oneself from the Covid-19 virus. We began to neglect our health and to worry only about the symptoms that could indicate a virus infection. When there were no such symptoms, we felt safe and happy to be given the chance to work from home.

And here I am now. I am happy that I was not infected with the virus and that I worked safely from home in an uncomfortable dining chair in conditions that are not adapted to the eight-hour working hours on the laptop. But I can't move. I feel strong pain in my lower back and every movement is very painful and almost impossible.

What actually happened? Eight hours of sitting in an incorrect position of the spine, on a hard wooden dining chair, led me to suffer from one disease. This disease is called herniated disk. A herniated disk refers to a problem with one of the disks that sit between the bones, that make our spine. My herniated disk is in my lower back and I also have pain in my legs. The situation is very uncomfortable because one wrong move can put you in a state of complete immobility. I had physical therapies after which I felt a little better, and exercises were recommended to me.

The pandemic will end one day. But after all, when the pandemic passes, I will be left with this disease that I will have to live with for the rest of my life. When you get this disease, you can never be completely healed, but with exercise and physical therapy you can improve your condition so that you do not have to have surgery.

Never forget to adapt the conditions to everything you do, not just adapt yourself to the conditions. Provide conditions that will suit you, that will not endanger your health. If the job requires you to work from home, provide an adequate comfortable chair and desk, as you would in an office. Take breaks. Get up to walk. Breathe in some fresh air and come back. Constantly sitting in the same position can be very dangerous even though we rarely think about it.

Thank you very much for reading. Take care of yourself.

Article and photo are original and mine.

@CoquiCoin mi querida amiga, thanks a lot for sponsorship renewal!

16
$ 3.74
$ 3.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
+ 11
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I can relate to this to, I have a friend who works from home.. Most times he works 12-15 hours and he is always on a particular spot, he has been having some pains in his back lately so his doctor adviced him to try and do a little work out some time... Now he do jogs every single evening and I believe it is helping the situation

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I also know many people who have similar problem. Therapy helped me a little and exercises are also important.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to have a boss who said that there are two things you should never skimp on, and that's the chair you work in and the bed you sleep in. When I started working at home, my back pain started, so I know what you mean. I hope you feel better. Y de nada amiga, es un placer ser tu sponsor πŸ€—

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Your boss is a smart man. He is absolutely right. When we are young we think we can handle everything but later we feel the consequences. We always need to take care of our body and health. P. S. El placer es mío.😊 I love Spanish language so much. 😊❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Y lo hablas bien, o al menos los escribes bien;) Saludos!πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh dear! It’s not good. I hope you will be fine soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks dear Luci, I am fine now, after therapy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I could not using a dining chair, I got a gaming chair which is awesome for sitting at my desk, I hope you are okay now

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I was thinking about gaming chair but they were expensive, so I put it off but that is the best solution. I feel better now, thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My father was also suffering from this condition, I think some exercise can prevent this situation. You should start exercise, it will definitely help you. Wishing you the best health

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Helloooo! Nice to meet you here in readcash. I am sorry about your condition :( I hope and pray for your betterment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This doesn't really sound good... I hope you take care of yourself and get well soon dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've also felt the same way. hernia disease is indeed an early symptom of a lack of movement from the body as a whole because what works is the hand muscles and brain performance. Exercise or yoga is important for overall muscle stretching. And don't forget to drink lots of water. keep up the spirit for the sake of your beloved family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry to hear that Jeka :( I hope you regain your health. Please don't neglect your exercises! And yes, you are right. We may experience various health problems as we stay sedentary at home in pandemic conditions. I have been at the computer for 2 years and 10 hours a day. I can notice that my eyes are deteriorating. I'm going to have to change my glasses. Now I hope to get out of the house arrest caused by the pandemic. I hope this life of imprisonment ends very soon for all of us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I haven't started exercising yet, I decide to start every day but I still haven't. I know that I must start. Physical therapy helped me a little. And I hope that this pandemic will end soon and that we will return to a free and normal way of life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I, too, had to learn to live with my herniated disc. In 2020 I was almost 3 months without mobility and affected with a lot of pain. I could not walk, lie down or stand up. It was a torment. I changed traumatologist and treatment and in a week I could walk and then I did rehabilitation. I got better but the injury is still there. I understand what you went through.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I suddenly could not move. When I managed to move, I went to the doctor and herniated disc was found and I received therapy that helped me a little. I also understand how you felt, a very uncomfortable feeling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And very painful. I cried a lot 😒😭😭😭.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Get well soon Jelena. Working from home can also have such effects, like staring at your laptop all the time can get you spar eyes.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, that's true. I hope I will get well, I feel like some old lady. 😊 Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe that will therapy you'd be fine. Don't bother too much about it, but have faith.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope so. It will be better but it is an uncomfortable feeling when your back hurts and when every movement is a potential danger.

$ 0.00
2 years ago