Weekend visit to Kalemegdan, Belgrade park and fortress

19 41
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
1 year ago

There are some places that we visit again and again and we do not stop admiring them, as if we see them for the first time. One of such places is Kalemegdan. A place of fond memories for me from my childhood when I walked there with my parents until today when my children walk with me.

Kalemegdan is the most famous park in Belgrade. It is known for the Belgrade fortress, located above the confluence of the Sava and Danube rivers. It was built for a long period from the 2nd to the 18th century and destroyed and rebuilt many times. Due to its great cultural and historical significance, this place is the most popular tourist attraction in Belgrade.

The fortress was handed over to Serbia in the 19th century and then the arrangement of the park began. Kalemegdan consists of Upper and Lower towns and each part of this place hides its secret, the spirit which takes you back to old times where you can feel the presence of Turks, Austrians, Hungarians, and other nations that have played important historical roles here. "Kalemegdan" consists of two words: “kale”, which means a city, fortress, and “megdan”, the Turkish word for field.

The fortress as a historical military stronghold always provides a sense of protection and security and I feel safe and peaceful when I walk there. What fascinates me the most are the gates. I like to go through them, through their shadow. As I walk through the gates, each one offers some new look behind which delights me every time.

I like to enter small towers and look out the window.

And my husband is afraid that the tower will collapse, so I wave to him in the picture. 😊

The most mysterious place in Kalemegdan is the Roman well. When I was a kid, I was scared of it.

My children love Kalemgdan because of the amusement park.

And because of the dino park where you can see about 30 life-size replicas of dinosaurs.

And because of the zoo. The wall of the zoo is made of mosaics of various animals. I love this creative work.

At Kalemegdan, I always feel relaxed. You can have a drink and enjoy the peaceful surroundings.

I like to sit on this wall because of the beautiful view of the rivers.

Near this wall is "Pobednik", translated as "The Victor", one of the most famous monuments in Serbia.

The park is beautifully landscaped and has lots of greenery and benches where you can relax. All photos were taken in the wintertime by me, but Kalemegdan is beautiful all year round.

Thank you very much for reading.

The images and the article are original and mine. The article was previously published on Hive by me.

Greetings!

Jelena

12
$ 1.83
$ 1.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 5
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Es bonito recibir de primera mano la informacion, ademas con imágenes visuales tan bien logradas, toda el paisaje y las estructuras encierran tanta historia que apasiona, saludos

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What a great fortress!!! I love historical places and put the hand on those old stones with so much to tell us... and with a Roman wall, cool my favorites! jaja

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I also like historical places. I enjoy peeking into corners of the past... I am especially fascinated by the house museums of some historical figures.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh it looks like the towers here! And I also love the animals mosaic on the wall. You enjoy your day with your loved ones and thank you for sharing it to us.

I'm on hive now too. 😊

https://hive.blog/@tiredmomma

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, it is a very special place where you feel like you are traveling through time. Oh great, I'll follow you on Hive.🤗 You have awesome articles with beautiful photos on readcash that you can publish on Hive, I believe many people will like them. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

wow that place is surely amazing, it feels like travelling back in time.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It really feels like some old times there as we pass through the gates...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes I can feel it really, the ambiance. .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i feel scared when i see the underground, i feel tight and i cannot breathe well. i like the mosaic especially the butterfly and zebra.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I understand. Many people feel the same when they are in such places underground. The mosaic is very interesting, I photographed only a part.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow. I like how it built. The place is so amazing and beautiful. I also love how they added the mosaic animal on the wall. Very creative

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, Kalemegdan is one of the most beautiful attractions of my city.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow. You are blessed to be able to visit that wonderful place

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will also be scared of going into that little window.. Always nice to spend time with our loved ones..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, the tower could really collapse, it is very old. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for the walk through this beautiful part of your city with such historical memories in its architecture and also images in different materials. The dinosaurs are great.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm glad you enjoyed this walk. It's nice to go back to the old days sometimes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If I were you, I would certainly visit that place againa nd again as well. It's so beautiful.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I have many memories of that place. It has a special charm and historical significance.

$ 0.00
1 year ago