Rainy day in Sopron

19 42
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
1 year ago

When I arrived in Sopron, a place I had never heard of before, it was raining. I watched the raindrops on the car window glass and wondered if the rain would allow me to get to know this town. Sometimes we do not determine the exact path we will take and go somewhere where the feeling leads us, by accident. And here lies the greatest beauty of travel. I got out of the way, not knowing what awaits me there.

One of the feelings that make me happiest is the expectancy when I enter an unknown place.

When I stepped into the streets of this city, I felt like I have already been there. Everything was familiar to me in an unfamiliar town where people rush less than I was used to.

For a moment everything slowed down. And the rain that I thought would bother me was very pleasant. I felt like I had dreamed of this place before and of this rainy moment.

That rain was not the same as the usual rain, which is sometimes so boring, that we can't wait for it to stop. I wanted this rain to last as long as possible. I played with my umbrella. I let the rain wet me and run down my face. It rained in an almost imperceptible way. Discreet but audible. The silence in the town made the sound of every drop of rain falling on the street heard.

On the paved wet streets, the reflection of the surrounding houses gave the feeling of walking on glass or some large mirror.

There was a lightness in the air. People spoke a language that was difficult to understand. Although I didn't understand anything, I felt the hospitality of the locals. They are not at all similar to my people. They are restrained. But very kind. I enjoyed their serenity.

I felt like a child trying to catch raindrops and walking happily across the ponds, not caring if my feet would get wet. There was not a single "if" that would spoil this rainy day. If anyone even thinks that rain can ruin the day sometimes, I’m sure it’s not this rain. This rain brings peace and freedom.

Sopron is an old and beautiful town in Hungary, founded by the Romans in the 1st century. After the collapse of the Roman Empire, the city was devastated and rebuilt after the arrival of the Hungarians.

Most of the buildings were built in the Baroque style. The Fire Tower is a symbol of the city, and it used to have a practical role: the guards from the Fire Tower observed the town and its surroundings to alert the population if there is danger somewhere.

In Ursuline Square, there is the Virgin Mary Fountain, originally made in the 18th century, and the Ursuline Church, a sacred building in Sopron.

Almost every building here is a cultural monument. Sopron is one of the most authentic places I have been. That was my first and the last impression. And I am grateful to this city for giving me an encounter with the rain that made me very happy.

Thank you very much for reading.

The images and article are original and mine.

15
$ 1.69
$ 1.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Ezelazra3
$ 0.05 from @foryoubtc09
+ 10
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

The tree with pink flowers in the first photo seems to say a warm welcome. With its classical architecture, this city creates the impression of living in the past. I especially loved its cobbled streets.

The umbrella standing on the ground expresses the satisfaction of surrendering to the rain.

You have reflected the beauty of the city very well with the photographs you took. A classic Hungarian city from the Roman period.

I love your photography style Jeka, you have an artist's eye. with love...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Waooòo mosam is owesome..... I loveeee rainy weather.and your clicks are amazing specially click have umbrella is just amazing.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks, I also love the umbrella photo a lot. Rain is always inspiring.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's great to travel without careful planning, and it's good that the rain added something nice to your trip, it looks like a really beautiful ancient city, did you miss me? Because I did😁❤️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh yes, I missed you and I wondered where you were. 😊❤️ I didn't have time to read here yesterday, so I will now. Yes, Sopron is a very old and authentic city.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

at first, I thought I had read 'scorpion' only to realize it is Sopron. Is that an actual name of a place?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, it is the name of a place in Hungary, near the border with Austria. A very beautiful city.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like this cultural trips, it's a nice city that I didn't know! And when it's raining we can appreciate those reflections but also take care with wet grounds too... I don't want more rain now, after this long crazy raining weeks jaja

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh too much rain is definitely not good. Sometimes it’s nice and inspiring to walk in the rain but not often of course.😊 I didn't know about this town before, a very interesting place. When you are there, you have the feeling that you are in the past.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

wow, thanks for the virtual tour Jelena. The place was beautiful no doubt. is that a cherry blossoms

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are welcome. 😊 It looks like cherry blossoms but I'm not sure. It was a great experience to spend some time in that city.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ita been raining since the early hours of this morning in this part of the world too. Those are splendid snaps by the way. 😊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks. 😊 It was raining in my town tonight too. I love the rain. It awakens beautiful emotions in me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Made me nostalgic. Rainfall is always a beautiful thing for me. You had the new experience. Well dear, your snaps are awesome.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks. It was a pleasure to spend some time in such a beautiful city and the rain contributed to make the impression even better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A beautiful place indeed ,anyway is that a cherry blossoms?How I wish I can touch and see a real cherry blossoms😁. Anyway ,have a great friday friend and stay safe🤗

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks. I'm not sure if it's a cherry blossom but it seems to me it is. Have a nice weekend! 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I prepare to step into unfamiliar places, I get nervous, and then it turns into exploratory curiosity. Historical places are very interesting.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I love that feeling when I step into an unfamiliar place. I am always excited in these situations. I agree, historical places have their very interesting stories.

$ 0.00
1 year ago