Have we become oversensitive?

14 37
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Sometimes I feel that people around me feel too much. They feel every word, look, and reaction. It often happens that they feel wrong, guided by their subjective beliefs. There is a lot of prejudice, identification with situations that have already happened, and skepticism about something different. I feel they are fragile and easily become hurt and insulted. But I don't want to insult or hurt anyone. I just want to be free to say whatever I think and what is following good values โ€‹โ€‹and moral principles, without fear that my words will hurt someone.

People sometimes think that there is a hidden intention behind every word. And then they start defending themselves from the attacks they imagined themselves. A storm of various emotions starts then, which is hard to stop. And usually, it all ends in a vague misunderstanding.

The oversensitivity of the people around me makes me not behave freely. I have to think about whether my words will be misunderstood and then I correct the expression of my views accordingly. People around me take everything to heart. Sometimes such an environment makes me tired and overwhelmed. I donโ€™t know if we have become oversensitive in general or if it is just a case of the people around me.

I love freedom and free people. I love open minds who will understand what I am telling them in the right way. I love people who have a sense of humor. Unfortunately, there are fewer and fewer of them. They are overwhelmed by fear and negative thoughts. When I suggest to someone because of something that I think is not good, I do it with good intentions so that it does not happen again. But usually, this suggestion is understood as an attack on someone's personality, which is completely wrong. And then comes a superfluous defense and I feel like Iโ€™m talking to that person in a different language. Sometimes it seems to me that even my look will be misinterpreted and that someone will feel it as criticism.

I don't know if it's an oversensitivity or a lack of self-confidence. I just know that I don't feel free in the company of oversensitive people because I have to pay attention to every word I say. I don't know if it's just oversensitivity or some other type of problem with fragile people. I'm confused. I am a sensitive person and I feel others. I would never say something that will hurt someone, but even so, I find myself misunderstood when talking to some people. Their oversensitivity is a burden to me.

What do you think about that? Have people become oversensitive or maybe it comes to complexes, weakness, and insecurities?

Thank you very much for reading.

The article is original and mine. The lead image is from unsplash.com.

17
$ 2.10
$ 1.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.16 from @Ezelazra3
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 14
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

It is not your fault, perhaps we are experiencing a lot of stress nowadays, dear Jelie and it is unconsciously affecting us. Do not be sorry for being you especially if you are just merely expressing your opinion. I am sensitive to some topics just the super personal ones but I am cool with most of it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree with this because I have noticed it too. We are all easily triggered by something or someone. I guess we have had too much freedom to express or do what we want to do without being accountable to our words and actions.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Everyone is over-sensitive, perhaps because of the pressures they live in, which affects their self-confidence, and they see every word as if it meant them and meant to insult them. I do not like hypersensitive people. I like a person to have a sense of humor and to accept any words said to him by those close to him without misunderstanding him. I suffered so much that I restricted my words to avoid problems, This is annoying, but it is better than going into justifications and discussion ๐Ÿ˜ถ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I absolutely agree with you. I think the same and I am glad that someone understands me. It's hard to explain that feeling and you understood it the right way. You are my soulmate. ๐Ÿ˜ŠMy little cute friend.๐Ÿ˜Š I say little because you are very young. ๐Ÿคฃ But very smart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I am over sensitive now. It is making me vulnerable. Need to change my feelings for people.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Be what you are because it is always the best. If you are in a sensitive period, there is certainly a reason for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe I'm angry with people. Betrayers everywhere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Leave them aside and turn to good people. Get rid of anything that might hurt you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm thinking that too. Already broke 3 glasses in anger.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I am one of those oversensitive person hehe, especially when no one notice me I felt like " what's wrong?" or " did I do something wrong" and I started to panicked and my question for myself was never end..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Don't be too self-critical because sometimes it's not our fault, sometimes it's not us but other people. You are a good person, that's why you feel that way. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, haha maybe I was just only over reacting sometimes ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People are becoming more cynical and paranoid by the day, thereby making them become more over-sensitive. It's understandable though, overly sensitive people likely have serious things bothering them in their lives.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, you're right. I am sure that their background is more serious and that there are deeper problems they have with themselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago