Going to sign up to be an organ donor

18 39
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

I woke up with the need to do something good for someone. Anything that came to my mind was not good enough to meet my need. On television, I saw an appeal for help to a young girl who needs financial help for complicated heart surgery abroad. There is also another chance to be saved, and that is a heart transplant, but unfortunately there are currently no organs for transplantation.

In my country, over 2,000 people are currently waiting for an organ transplant. It is their only chance to continue living and that chance comes down to waiting as long as they can.

My country, Serbia, ranks last in Europe in terms of organ donations and the number of transplants performed. This is something that should change. I decided to be one of the initiators of change. I went to a medical institution to apply for a voluntary organ donation after my death.

At the medical institution, the authorities told me that the signing, which until recently functioned in practice, was abolished by the new law and that now you only need to declare during your life that you want to donate organs and inform your family. The new law aims to make all citizens potential organ donors unless they declare they do not want to during their lifetime.

This seems like a good solution. I went home and told my family that I want to donate my organs after my death. The reaction was not encouraging. In their opinion, I shouldn't think about it now. But I think every moment is the right time to think about it. It is wrong when the fear of death does not allow people to think rationally. We will certainly die, but why not do something good after death.

According to statistics, it has been determined that one donor can save eight lives. If we were all donors, there would be more life on earth. There would be more fulfilled wishes, used chances to prolong the lives of many people who are waiting and hoping for a miracle to save them. Let's be that miracle. A ray of light in someone's darkness. We can do it. Let our heart beat after us.

Thank you very much for reading.

Article is original and mine.

Lead image source: unsplash.com

9
$ 2.08
$ 1.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 5
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Donors are also a hero, because of their willingness to donate their organs in order to save those people who are in need. May there will also be a lot of people just like you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is nice when we can do something after our existence, after ourselves. And it is even better that it can save the life of someone who is in a bad health situation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's really good. My dear. Our death is inevitable but if we can do something good in it, our name will be with us forever

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, that's true. We can do something good after our existence and that is of great importance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Death is inevitable, donating one's organ helps save the life of another that is in critical situation. Here in my country too, organ donation is very rare. I feel all this is as a result of ignorance

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And I think it is the result of ignorance, but also fear. Death is inevitable, as you said, but people are afraid to think about such things while they are alive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rationally speaking there's nothing wrong in looking at the possibility of death cause it's bad to think a circumstance that had chance to happen, still I salute you on your decision, I'm not saying that the death may come early however its good decision to voluntarily donate an organ once you died, atleast you helped to save other people's life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. I certainly won't need those organs anymore and someone will. You're right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really nice of you to intend to do such a favor for people, Jeka! I sincerely congratulate you :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks Erdo. I think it is good decision. Such decisions fulfill a person spiritually.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wow. I am really impressed. This is really a bold step that you have taken. Although I have heard a lot about how people would love to donate their organ after death, but I have never heard it from someobe I knew. God bless you . ☺

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It will be my pleasure to prolong someone's life. The topic is delicate but in essence it is a good thing we can do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parents sure would be shocked as it is a strange and shocking topic to bring up , even I reading the article was stumped. Well it is good to make plans ahead before our demise or smtin bad .. Nice thing to do for the sick and the community

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, the first impression is a little scary, but it is useful and good. Many lives can be saved that way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A serious decision in our whole life but in this case, it can save the life for many humans. Donating organs is like donating your whole self.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is a serious decision and I think that everyone should decide something like that because when we die we definitely don't need the body anymore and for some people it would mean an extension of life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jeli dear, take a bow! ❤️❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks Luci for supporting me!😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago