The Struggles of Being Left-Handed (II)

38 128
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

So I published the first part of this article and I was surprised with how many fellow lefties I have in here. We surely had a lot of things in common. Common struggles t be exact.

Having said that, here are some of the lists I have not mentioned in my first article. So let's continue.

Automated Teller Machines

I didn't realize that Automated Teller Machines will also contribute to struggling for us lefties. I haven't seen a machine designed for us lefties. The insert card hold is always placed on the right side.

I have felt the struggle when I entered college. My mom gave me her debit card so she can just easily send money for tuition and allowances through her bank without worrying about transaction fees like remittance centers have.

The first time I stepped on with ATMs, I didn't mind because I was with my mom at that time. I didn't realize that I'll encounter little challenges when withdrawing money.

When I was on my own already, that's when I felt the need to take the courage and operate the machine. My anxiety goes up and under and I keep memorizing the pin code.

I inserted the card through my left hand and just followed the procedures. Thankfully, I got the money and the card did not get stuck. Honestly, my main concern is what if the machine eats up the card and never gives it back. Filing a report takes a long time and my mom will scold me for sure.

Nevertheless, my left hand got used to inserting the card since then.

Can openers

I believe this kitchen utensil is what we lefties are most struggling with. Can openers are mainly designed for right-handed people and when we try to use them, it's the worst. You are not going to get the desired result, it's either you ask for help from a right-handed person or get pissed off all day.

When I was working in Davao, I never ran out of canned goods most especially if there are no stores selling budget meals. It's unfortunate for a lefty to use the can opener. On the other hand, there are canned goods designed with an "easy open" pull-up feature. Although I can't fully open the can with it, I just open it slightly and then use a knife or spoon to follow the trail.

Now that my right hand could no longer grip, what I normally do is I step on the can to establish strong support so it's easier for me to slightly open the can and fully open it with a spoon.

Dining tables

Dining out is something a lefty is mostly concerned with. One reason why I also isolate myself when dining is because of the elbows bumping when you sit next to a right-handed person. Now it makes me think if we are meant to be. Haha.

Whenever I go outside and dine in, I always choose a table enough for myself. However, I take that as an advantage too so I can avoid people from socializing. I just eat there silently enjoying my food.

Yeah they are writing but that works the same with eating out

When I dine out with a group, which rarely happens. Thank God. I always make sure that I sit on the left side corner so our elbows wouldn't meet when someone is reaching something.

Cameras

I haven't seen a camera customized for left-handed people. The shutter is usually placed on the right side of the camera. Personally, it's a struggle now that my right hand is no longer that functional compared to before. If you are a follower of my articles, you would know what I meant.

But as technology advances, lefties wouldn't have a hard time capturing memorable moments through their phone. Still, those cameras with high-tech features deliver the best quality for video presentations.

Coffee Mug Designs

Growing up, I used to drink milk every day before going to school. The struggle of holding a mug didn't have a major effect in my routine but there's one thing I noticed recently. I just discovered it recently.

I stopped drinking milk when I entered college because my parents used to make one for me until high school. Yeah, such a baby or just a lazy lady. Anyway, I stopped drinking milk because that's when my stomach refuses to take it because I started to become acidic.

When I was diagnosed with a peptic ulcer, I stopped drinking milk instead I only drink hot water every morning.

I think this is not really a struggle but just an odd moment to realize. The designs for mugs are usually printed facing for right-handed people. Although there are mugs fully covered with designs. Anyway, I'll just shrug this off and make this a big deal.

Playing sports

I used to play lawn tennis before during summer camps. The first time I entered the camp, I was overwhelmed with how many kids were joining. I thought of not making it to the end because the camp was intense.

Our coaches were patient and friendly though. They regroup the lefties from the right-handed kids so they can adjust where to throw the tennis balls when the drills start.

I have to make adjustments to the directions too since most of the players were right-handed. Then again, I got the Most Improved and Most Promising awards.

I remember when my coach took time to had a drill with me exercising my forehand and backhand strokes. He must be impressed so he gave me those awards.

Playing instruments

I used to play the flute when I was in grade school. Playing it didn't have much of an issue with my left-handedness. As well as playing the guitar. The good thing is that even though I'm left-handed, I can still play the guitar with the usual playing style and order.

Then I learned to play the piano recently but the left-handed dominance didn't take another set of struggles.


So those were the struggles of being left-handed. We make adjustments almost every day to fit into the world designed for right-handed people.

Right-handed fellas, I have huge respect on you for dominating the world.

To my fellow lefties, wanna add something on the list?


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone ❤

16
$ 20.38
$ 19.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 8
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

Hindi ko alam yung sa right hand. Nagstart ako magbasa sayo nung about sa may pera ka sa Coins.ph for emergency purposes. hehehe. Kaso after few days tinransfer mo sa ibang wallet.

Yung sa guitar bigla ako napaisip kung paano maggitara pinsan ko. Pero para naman right siya kahit na left siya. Papansinin ko nga minsan. Hahaha. Or balikan ko mga pictures namin. Siya pa nagtuturo sa akin maggitara kaso hanggang doon lang ako sa "99 red balloons". 🤣 yan lang mismo ang kaya ko as in yung 99 red balloons lang na keys. Keys ba tawag doon?

Anyway, oo nga noh. Yung sa can opener mahirap nga for lefties. Pero ngayon alam ko pinaparequire na na easy to open ang mga cans kasi nga paano in case of calamity na walang ibang paraan to open the cans. Eh di ba canned goods ang isa sa usual na relief goods. Kaso meron pa din iba na hindi easy to open. Ako hindi ako maruning magbukas gamit ang spoon or kahit knife or pocket knife. Hindi ako oang girl scout 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Mas lalo na akong hirap gumamit ng can opener dahil sa right-hand ko.

99 red balloons, di ko familiar sa song pero chords ang tawag non. Hehe

Dun ka pala ng start mg basa sakin nong may emergency fund ako sa coinsph 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yiiiiiz. Alam ko yun talaga ang start na nagbasa ako sayo. Tapos tinag pa kita kasi nga gusto ko gawin yung ginawa mong ganun. 🥰

Ah chords. Hahaha. Halatang wala talaga akong alam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero may idea ka sa keys. At least. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm now you make we wonder about my daughter's . She is left handed. Maybe I will ask her soon when I get home. 😅Thanks you made me realize one thing. ❣️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Listahan yan sa mga struggles namin madam. My inner frustrations yan pag di nagagawa mga bagay na gusto gawin. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kelangan ko pala itanong sa dalaga ko... Baka me struggles siya na diko alam.. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am right handed, pila kaya ka percent ang mga left handed compared sa right no.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

10% of the population rdaw. Which is 750 million. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ngaun ko pa na realize na ang camera pala friendly lang sa mga right handed noh.. Dghan pa jud diay butang sa palibot na accessible lang for us, right handed.. Grabe descrimination mn ni oi 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Pero majority wins baya so keri rana.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na remember ko yung bestfriend ko dun sa dining table ahhaha. Lagi nag babangga yung mga elbows namin eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sinong madalas nag aadjust? Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Usually ako po hahaa. di kasi ma isturbo yn pag kumakain HAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Baka mangain ng ibang tao pag inistorbo. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to play bamboo flute din.. Hehe.. Gmingaw na jd kog play instruments..wala nako kapadayon pagminyo.. Wa nay time.. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Walhon ba sad ka madam? Musically inclined jud ka ba. I feel like you are a good singer too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Perting ka walhunon.. Hehe. Same with my bro nga July baby sad na relate nako sa article ni ms. Andy.. 😂 Kami lang ang pwede mgtapad kung mokaon.. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tan awa ra, mao diayng mgkasundo jud tas mga butang butang. Hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's handed ka pala, siguro maganda ang handwriting mo,kasi kadalasan sa kakilala ko na lefthanded maganda ang sulat kamay nila,lalo na yong teacher ko sa elementary. Medyo may kahirapan din pala pag lefthanded,pero ako dati pinapraktis ko magsulat sa left pero di talaga kaya.Kaming dalawa ng aswa ko ay right,pero ang mga anak namin ay lefthanded.Kaya yong anak ko minsan di ma utusan sa paglinis sa bakuran kasi right yong bolo ,nahihirapan sya,kaya may excuse sya,hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May kagandahan naman. Hahaha. Isa rin yan sa struggle namin yung bolo na designed for right-handed lng. Pano kaya naging lefties kiddos niyo no? Sabi kase nila influence daw yan sa nagbantay samin most of the time. Yung nanny ko, lefty eh. Pero that doesn't work all the time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ko rin Alam kung bakit naging lefthanded sila,natatawa nga kami mahirap turuan sa pagsusulat.Tapos yong girl namin mahilig sa guitar kaso right din yong guitar namin kaya hindi pa rin nya ma handle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. struggle talaga ang pgsulat pag ibang kamay na gamitin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These 2 recent articles of yours are among your best works Lil Sis. It's very informative and you killed it with the layout and formatting. It also made me realize a lot of things about lefties. When I'm there already, I'm gonna hone your guitar skills to the point where you'll be better than most righties! Is there even such a term? Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not sure if there's a word such as righties. Haha. Layout and formatting? Wa ko rman na na mind. 😅 but thank you for your comment. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Magbisaya lagi dayon ba. Pag English ba, hawd bitaw ka. Para makasabot sila sa atong ka sweet to each other ba. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga noh halos lahat nang bagay puro sa right haha. Parang hirap nun lalo na yung can opener 🤣 pag nagkamali masamad pa ka 🤦 struggle is real.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tinuod jud. Pinaka lisod ang can opener jud. Ug kung magbasok pud or mangguna, ang bolo kay pang right-handed gyapon. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here sis. Left handed din ako. Hehe. Pag kakain na with someone na right handed ang hirap.hehe

Tapos sa sport naman struggle is real talava kasi nung high school ako isinali ko as a player of softball then konti lang gloves for left handed kaya ayon kahirap talaga kasi di ko komportable magsalo at maghagis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay oo nga sis. Yung left-handed gloves pala for softball no. Hala, halos parehas tayo ng traits sis. Cancer and lefty rin. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I couldn't imagine how hard it is for all the left handed out there. My sister is a left handed too and the struggle she used to rant was the chair in the school. Seldom do a classroom would have left handed chairs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, based on my experience, only 1 left handed chair is there out of 50 chairs. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes and there are 5 to 6 left handed out of 50 students

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes madam maong struggle is real jud.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

O db khit nagsstruggle pro naovercome p din? D p rin xa naging hindrance for you na sumali sa mga sports at magplay ng mga instruments

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kinaya naman ng ability. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha.. Ang daming hirap gawin. Kya special ang lefties. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Salamat madam :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago