The Sad Part of Spending Christmas and New Year

39 37
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

When I was younger, I have always been looking forward to spending Christmas. As Filipinos, when September begins, it's going to be months of celebration for Christmas.

On a personal note, I always look forward to spend Christmas eve here in our grandparents' house. This is a special place for us to gather and get together. Not only that, I am always looking forward to count the gifts that I receive during Christmas eve.

But as time passes, I become older and not getting any younger, I realized that things are slowly starting to change and it fears me that the usual routine or celebration we used to have will be much more different than we used to.

We lost our grandpa.

It was early 2020 when grandpa left us. It was a painful goodbye. Although we accepted already that it was his time to say goodbye.

He was able to spend Christmas and new year with us. In fact, when we went to the beach after Christmas, we noticed he's been taking his time enjoying the beach.

It was longer than his usual time to swim there. We didn't take it as a sign or manifestation though but when he died, we realized that grandpa knew his time is near and so he's enjoying the time he has left in the world.

Christmas will never be the same without him and I know, grandma will say goodbye soon too. I can't stand thinking of that happening.

Caroling sessions

My childhood has been fun. I got to experience singing in the neighborhood too. In fact, we had funny experiences while caroling.

One time we were singing across the neighborhood and we were not aware that their gate was open and a dog chased us to the other street!

It was so fun to reminisce but during that moment, it was like hunger games where you just have to run for your lives. It was traumatic.

We were so scared but when we reached the end of the street, the dog stopped and gave upon us. We then started laughing at each other and recalling everything.

We thought it was very funny but to our parents, it was not. We were scolded.

Parents getting older

Growing up, during my teenage days, all I think about was myself and I think that's normal. Teenagers are busily building themselves discovering a lot and starting to experience as much as they can but I was not aware that my parents, my uncles, and my aunties, are getting older too.

Just recently when we found out that papa has diabetes. It brought an insight to the family. I realized so many things.

Spend time with family as much as you can. They're not getting any younger, they'll soon reach old age and you'll not experience what you used to have a bond with them anymore.

Extreme watch of food intake. I realized that we should be aware of the food that we eat. Our bodies are our temple and if we neglect it, we won't be progressive and healthy.

You won't believe me as to how I have become so conscious with my food intake after finding out papa's condition. I'm just so glad that he's an obedient patient.

Having own families

2019 when the family is starting to welcome possible new family members in the core. My cousins and I are having boyfriends already and that made me realize that we're no longer the same kids who get chased by a dog because of caroling.

We're no longer the same kids who used to climb guava trees and enjoy eating the fruit while staying at the top. We're no longer the same kids who played tennis during summer camps.

We have become ladies who found their special someone who possibly gets married in the future.


It saddens me to realize that the old times will never be the same and I would definitely miss that.

I guess what I should focus on is to maximize the time we have here on Earth and let those memories stay in our hearts. At the end of the day, nobody wants to get stuck in their lives, right? We gotta keep pushing forward.


Lead image source


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone! ❀

12
$ 9.97
$ 9.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 6
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

This makes me bit sad dahil sa realizations din ate :(. Hindi na tayo pabata which is nakakasad kasi unti unti nang nagbabago lahat. Hays. Tama ka po, all we can do for now is to cherish every moment with our loved ones.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time changes everything no? Kaka sad gyud. πŸ’”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We can't really stop things to happen especially when losing someone when festive season is coming. I wish I have the time machine to turn back the time. It's important to show love while our family are still there. Anyway, Merry Christmas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If only we have superpowers no. Hehe. Merry christmas too ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People and/things come and go until we realize we're not getting any younger. So yes, spend time as it should be spent and have something to reminisce and bring a smile when we're older..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maximize our time nlng talaga madam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I felt that I am no longer bata ate, missing those days. We must enjoy our life together with our love ones

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our age adds up every second so we're not getting any younger na talaga. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

While we're young we should cherish the moment we have together with our love ones. Nakakamiss yung mangangaroling tas hahabulin ng aso hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Nakakatawa talaga yon pero sobrang takot kami on that moment πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Iba talaga priorities natin nung bata pa tayo...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True madam. Sarili lng iniisip natin without knowing our parents getting older na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The good old days, ang daming nakakamiss na gawain noon. Tapos patanda na tayo Madamsss di na talaga pabata, patanda na aguyy. Soon magkaka family kana, ready kanaba madams? Haha or masyado pang maaga to think of that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Sometimes I thought about getting married na din madam but not too soon. 3 years from now pa siguro πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Owww sabagay bata kapa naman ayt, ako nga wala pa talaga sa isip kk ahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eto yung sinasabi nila na as you grow older, parang palungkot na ng palungkot ang buhay. Kasi we are more open sa reality, unlike noong kiddos pa tayo ate. Caroling lang, masaya na tayo. Tapos yung bagong damit na ibibili sayo dahil mamamasko ka. Hay, the good old days. πŸ₯Ίβ€οΈ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Trueness, Cherry πŸ₯Ί simple lng talaga kasayahan natin before. But now, we're slowly realizing how life turns out to reality. 😬

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha,umaakyat din ako sa bayabas palage when I was a kid,naalala ko tuloy,keep pushing forward lang tayo,that's life .We need to face the new chapter unfolded.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ano pa inakyat niyong kahoy madam? Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maliban sa bayabas,pwede malunggay na lang πŸ˜…pasensiya na nong binasa ko to parang don lang ako nakafocus sa bayabas eh,hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"they'll soon reach old age and you'll not experience what you used to have a bond with them anymore."

hays, yun nga..since ilang taon na si dad parang patoxic ng patoxic lahat. Mama ko naman parang yinetake advantage kase masyadong napagbibigyan sa luho. Anglungkot rin sa part na lahat tunatanda πŸ₯Ί yung sa karoling naman amin noon unggoy HAHAHAAH SINABUNUTAN YUNG KASAMA NAMEN

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hoy, grabe yung unggoy na sumabunot ha πŸ˜† pero true nga, kakalungkot when we realize na we're getting older each day. Ano pala noise username mo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nasataas kasi nh puno ate e saktong may kinakain kasama ko, tas di napansin na nandun sa taas e andun din sya. Imabot nya pagkain yas nahulog biglang hinila nunh unggoy buhok nys 😭.

GamboaLikeUs po sa noise ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hinabol dn pla kyo ng aso 🀣 same here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Memorable childhood memory yan madam. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bigla ako nalungkot nun nabasa ko to madam, tama ka, andami ko narealize, kainis, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di natin mapigilan ang time madam eh. It never gets tired of ticking. And I have to say this, a part of me is still stuck in 2019 where everything was so different unlike now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same madam... Same..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, my dear, you are right, everything has changed over the years

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time never bothers to stop. It keeps moving. 😬

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truth Sis, things really changed as the years go by. Seems like yesterday , i was just an excited kid waiting for Christmas. Now, ah nevermind my age. I agree with you too that we need to watch our food intake. As we are what we ate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm afraid of what's going to happen in the future madam. Parents getting older, routines and activities won't be the same anymore πŸ’”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't want to think about it as I felt worried. My father is already 70yrs old and my Mother is turning 65. So just thinking something about the future already breaks my heart.πŸ˜­πŸ’”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero malakas naman sila madam? Walang mga sakit sakit?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa awa ng diyos malakas pa. Just normal body pains ng mga tanders. Nasa province kasi sila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya ako sumama talaga mangaroling I still want to do stuff I used to do when I was younger. It's fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For sure nalingaw imo anakshie gabie. Naka 120 pamo. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha oh pero nagpa kugos sa lola uy samok kaau πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gikapoy og baklay? Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago