The pain doesn't go away. You just get used to it

41 47
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

Growing up or even up to now, I used to get these reactions everywhere. "What? You are on your 5th grade already? You look like a 1st grader". "Really? You're in college? You look like 14". "Are you serious you are 25? You look like a gradeschooler".

I started school when I was 3. Imagine how clueless I was to enter how insensitive the world would be. I'm always the first one on the line during flag ceremonies. I get laughed at when I can't reach the blackboard for an activity. It was just full of bullying.

I would say, this is mainly the reason of my introversion. I slowly isolated myself from the people around me because of my appearance. I asked myself, what is wrong with me? I kept overthinking then I lost confidence.

I finished college, and I got a job offer in a private school as a college instructor. I didn't even realize at that moment how should I deal the criticisms. How the heck did I go for this?

Moment of truth, I was so nervous and so conscious of how I look back then. They meet me for the first time, and as expected, they're all in awe realizing I'm gonna be their teacher.

Time passed by, I started to like the profession because of how my students respected me. Well, there are still some of them who don't treat me as their teacher. Rather, I did not focus on those negative statements.

I was too concern of how people think about me before. Reality is, people will always say things to us regardless of race, color, height, body figure and mental capacities.

So, I have learned to accept myself and just be who I am. I mean, I've been eating these judgments since I was 3. So I guess it's time to move on?

My students helped me to realize that I don't need to ask for someone's validation because I know my worth and I have value.

It's just amazing how you learn from each other and not just a one-sided typical teacher student relationship.

We remained good friends up to now even though I resigned for some reason.

I can still remember those people who gave such insensitive statements towards me. So I guess, the pain didn't go away. I just get used to it.

11
$ 0.11
$ 0.03 from @MisterWrite
$ 0.02 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.02 from @bheng620
+ 4
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

Comments

Thank you @bheng620 for your upvote ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome po :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the upvotes @kli4d @Hanzell @MisterWrite and @Eybyoung. I appreciate it so much ♥️☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Because it was a really good write up and i can heavily relate to the sentiments you have

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank youu ♥️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your article Ma'am Deserved it. ♥

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much ♥️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now, that my daughter will turn 3 years old I thought of enrolling her into daycare. I immediately ask my mom inlaw if there are enrollment for daycare now after reading your article that you started schooling at 3 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. During my/our time (1995), kids can start schooling as early as 3. But now, there is already an age requirement to follow because of the k-12 program. However, it still varies on the kid's coping capabilities though to catch up.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah right, grade 1 is 7 years old to be admitted 7 below will vary to their capabilities..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. Learning style at home is also a factor of advancing their skills. I guess my mama and papa must have been so eager to send me to school at 3 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Right pain dose not go

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm subscribe your profile , please subscribe me.....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seriously?

$ 0.00
3 years ago
$ 0.00
3 years ago

I did. Thank you ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I feel great pleasure to study your article. Keep updating this type of article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much. I will. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice experienced of yours.. you can utize pain to become strong and perseveres.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Absolutely true. It's a matter of taking things into the other side and take advantage of it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ultimately that happens, we don't get bothered by it anymore.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. We get used to it so we feel numb about it. Thank you for your comment ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks to you too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same same. I started schooling at 3 then ended every part of my studies except college really young so i get the criticism a lot. Plus being called a nerd all my life. You just learn to live with it, don't you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Definitely true. We're fed up of getting these nicknames and labels all throughout so we just have to live with it. But they didn't even realize how much mental stress they've caused to us. 😔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They never will since it's a form of amusement for them or even a lazy way to not think of what else to call people

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. They did not care about how we feel after all. Like you said, they enjoy what they're doing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A good article😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow, my jaw dropped in awe instead.. what a brainy, I admire you entering regular class at 3..ughh,during that age am still skipping and hopping at preschool 😁..well, youre right.. we only need to accept and respect ourselves first before anyone else does,, and you gained it.. kudos

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really had no idea why my parents sent me to school at that early age. I thought I was just playing with other kids in a room, I didn't know I was at a school that time 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

those times,age is not an issue as long as the kid can cope up unlike today that they really have to follow the k-12 standard of school age.. maybe your parents saw your potential

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with you. There is an age requirement to follow because of this k-12 program. and yeah, probably? Haha. Anyway, thanks for your valuable comment ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article. I don't want to grow up...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What do you mean you don't wanna grow up?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you ma'am for posting here. I already gave the reward. 💓 You're the first one who post. Thank You! So much appreciated. 💗

All starts from nothing into something. 💛

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. I gave it a try of submitting this one to your community because I thought of sharing my experience and elaborate what I learned from it.

Thank you for accepting it ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That kind of article is well welcome here ma'am. More new articles coming from you ma'am.💛

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much. Will do ☺️♥️

$ 0.00
3 years ago