The Health Benefits Jumping Rope Offers to Our Bodies

25 40
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

I have been doing jump rope not long enough, though. Probably a month or two and during my early days, it was just out of a habit or my substitute for doing static stretching I do in the morning. I felt like I wanna do something that involves my body in one routine in general and I believe I found the answer for that.

It started out as an idea or a hobby and I was not consistent at it because I forget sometimes and I didn't take it seriously yet. One day I told myself to try doing it every day and jump 50 counts then all good. But then I enjoyed the process of it and I decided to increase my frequency and now I am targeting 3 sets of 100 jumps a day. Not bad for a beginner, I guess?

Okay, so I'm not really the best person to talk about this because I'm not a professional trainer leading exercise routines. Also, I do jump ropes every day mainly to enhance and improve my overall well-being such as endurance and strength.

So while watching Youtube videos to help me execute my jumps and do some tricks soon, I came across to a video that explains the health benefits of jumping rope can offer to our bodies.

You burn tons of calories.

Jumping rope is an underrated form of cardio exercise. When you do cardio exercises, it requires your heart to work faster. The more intense your cardio exercise is, the more calories you burn. You burn calories by the means of sweating.

I do not sweat a lot so it really takes a handful of activities first before I sweat. Even if I already completed my 3 sets, not a single sweat comes out. Then again, I am just so thankful that I have a fast metabolism. That way, I don't gain weight easily.

Your body coordination and legs improve.

As a beginner, it amazes me to see how athletes make it look so easy when they jump rope. But when I do it on my own, it frustrated me countless times as the rope catches on my feet every time. It took a while for me to find the right posture and get into the groove of smooth jumping rope.

As the daily routine goes on, I noticed that my body coordination was improving and my legs became stronger. Of course, I suffered soreness during the early days, I give it a day to rest and get back on it after. Leg strength was definitely improved.

You become less susceptible to fractures.

Jump rope routines don't only limit your improvement in your body coordination and leg strength. It also strengthens your bones as you become less susceptible to fractures. By jumping, it adds pressure to your bones and adapts to its impact.

As I am watching this video right now, it encouraged me to be consistent and disciplined as it assures you long-term improvement to your body especially in preventing osteoporosis when you get older.

Your endurance increases and heart health improves.

As I have said earlier, I exercise to enhance my endurance and my heart health. Jumping rope is considered a high-intensity workout because it requires full-body movement making us run out of breath.

Having said that, it gives you the benefit of boosting your muscular endurance as well which is crucial when doing repetitive exercise routines every day. This is what I'm also looking forward to in this exercise, increasing my endurance capacity and my heart health.

Your lung capacity enhances.

Over time, this exercise leads you to a remarkable increase in your lung capacity. As this requires your lungs to take in more oxygen which eventually makes the exercise easier all along.

That alone assures you already that your immune system will improve when you have a healthy and exercised respiratory system. As an individual who gets dizzy easily because of poor body wellness, this is surely beneficial in improving good circulation of the blood as well.

Your mental health is better.

Studies have shown that exercise provides significant changes in our mental health. When you exercise, your attention gets locked into it as you keep your focus giving you lesser chances of thinking something elsewhere.

This improves focus and reduces the feeling of sadness or worse depression. Also, when you excrete sweat, it gives you out that sense of fulfillment that you exercised that day and you want to do it frequently or so, every day.


What about you? What is your exercise routine? Share it with me in the comment section below.


Lead image source


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

11
$ 3.52
$ 3.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @LeticiaFelize
$ 0.03 from @DennMarc
+ 3
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Comments

One way to maintain a healthy body and increase endurance is exercise and jumping rope are mostly done by athletes and that's also what I often do as a way to train my breath and abdominal muscles.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How is it going now? Still doing it every day? Are you an athlete?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tinry ko mag jumping rope for days din kaso jusme di ko tlga kaya ate, nahihilo ako and parang bigay na bigay ako sa dyoga ko. Yes, srsly anlaki kasi huhu. Ansakit kahit naka sportbra with support pa ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Masyado ka pa lang nabiyayaan ng hinaharap dee. Ako, no need kahit walang bra. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayy jusko the sanaoil na lang ako. Ako nmn sana kahit paliitin na lang. Ang bigay sa loob eh literal wahahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Speaking of exercise, Hindi ko na yan nagagawa maliban nalang siguro sa walking eheheh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At least may walking. Exercise na rin yan. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Planning to buy one next time hahaha. Sobrang stagnant na din ako sa bahay, walang exercise hahaga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe. Umpisahan na yan. Take action na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wala aqng exercises kahit gusto q, lagi na lng aqng pagod...Reading the benefits of it I wanna look 4 jumping rope din...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kahit rope lang muna madam. Just to keep you jumping lng for the meantime. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung sa part ng loosing fats and calories talaga ate is super legit. Nakakapayat po sya kahit talon talon ka lang. Haha. Mga ilang repetitions lang, hingal na me. Hoping sa maganda at sexy mong figure ate. Awiee. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe, di ko pa ma execute ng maayos ang set eh. Natitigil na ako sa 30 jumps kase nawawala ang momentum 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naaamaze ako doon sa mga nagjumping rope na ang bibilis tapos di na halos kita un rope eh, grabe un coordination.

As much as I want to do this, di na jud pwede sa akua kaya i jumping rope mo na lang ako madam, hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehehe. I understand madam. Grabe bitaw ang body coordination sa uban na. Gusto ko ma achieve na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

kayang kaya mo yan madam basta disiplina lang ang kailnagan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As much as this will help in keeping fit, I'm too lazy to even try! I haven't exercised in a long time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Starts with little steps and you'll eventually execute longer routines. 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am always doing exercise Madam, in my dreams. LOL

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. Totohanin na yan madam. Baby steps lng. You'll get into a momentum and you feel like you don't wanna miss a day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahha maybe next few days

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yayyy, so those are the benefits of doing jumping ropes. I wanted to try it badly, howbeit, whenevr I do exercise like that, my menstruation tend to prolong huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really? Exercise regulates menstruation though especially minimizing the risks of menstrual cramps. I didn't expect to hear this. 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Unfortunately, yes for me huhu. I mean, it's actually beneficial to those who have regular menstruation. But for me who has PCOS, whenever I do heavy exercise, it triggers my mens, I don't know why huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, I see. PCOS is hard to deal with. I am sorry about that :(

$ 0.00
1 year ago