The "Anti-Taray" Bill

22 86
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

It has been my habit to check Twitter everytime I wake up in the morning. It is to check the latest updates or news in the country. A tweet from Inquirer caught my attention, it's about Sen. Raffy Tulfo proposing the "Anti-Taray" bill.

Reference here:

https://newsinfo.inquirer.net/1752725/tulfo-wants-probe-on-rude-govt-workers-eyes-anti-taray-bill

Taray or mataray, in full context, is a Filipino word means shrewish or evil-tempered; termagant; bratty or sulky. This term is commonly used for women behaving in such a way.

One major reason why I don't like going to government offices is because of the strict, "mataray" government workers. I mean, we go there to ask for assistance with our concerns but they talk to us as if we know everything about the procedures of their system.

I am not generalizing them all. I should give credit to those who are friendly and very accommodating to their clients. They are doing a great job of maintaining a good atmosphere in their office. However, most of the employees, especially the senior ones are grumpy and sulky.

That probably speaks most of their experiences in the office. They have spent years in the office and they go through the same routine for a very long time. But still, that doesn't give them the right to be grumpy. It's their job to assist us and they're paid to do it.

They give us vague information causing us to be confused and when we ask clarifications, they sigh and get frustrated. Feeling fearful, we choose to not ask them again. What they normally do is to pass you from one person to another. It's tiring and at the same time,confusing and annoying. They don't even consider how far their clients come from. Some even slept outside their offices a day before their schedules because they are from far provinces.

A lot of sacrifices were made, time, energy, effort and money. And this is what they get? What a terrible experience. That does not just happen once. I'm pretty sure some of you guys have encountered these types of situations as well.

I'm sharing you some of the worst experiences in getting government documents because of the mataray employees.

Social Security System (SSS)

Getting a SSS number is one of the requirements when you get hired for a job. It is the employer's duty to submit contributions as part of their obligations.

As a first timer, I don't have an idea how the process was like. This was back in 2015. I was with my classmate who got hired along with me as call center representatives. When we got there, we asked the security guard, and he told us to fill out the form and submit it to a particular window. It took us more than an hour to get there and when we did, we were so nervous. We have no idea what's going on. We only did it for compliance.

Upon checking our documents, the officer reprimanded us to fill out the form again because there were mistakes. The thing is, we have to go back to the line and spend another hour to get there once again.

This is a result of providing vague instructions. Such a bad experience.

Bureau of Internal Revenue (BIR)

My gosh, this was when I was trying to transfer my RDO or Revenue District Office. This was supposed to be the HR's job in the school where I taught but she asked me to do it. Such a pain in my ass.

Of all the government offices I have to transact with, BIR is what I disliked the most. That's based on my experience only. Their employees were not friendly, they talk as if you know the process and scold you when you skip a step. You'll go out feeling bad and dissatisfied.

Department of Education - Division Office (DepEd)

I make transactions for my mom since the division office is located here in city where I'm at. I was an intern in the office for a semester back then but I did not leave any personal connection with my superiors at length. I mean, we were close by the time I was with them but after my internship, whenever I make transactions for mom, I turn my back when I see them. I feel shy and I don't like small talks.

Same as other government offices, they pass you from one person to another. It's as if they enjoy toying with you in their office. I mean, no one feels accountable of the concern you have with them. It's tiring to face people and raise a concern but turns out that they're not the right person you should talk to.

Land Bank of the Philippines

This was when I was trying to encash the Educational loan check from SSS. Mom took advantage of it. Honestly, that was one of the most stressful moments in my college life. Whenever it is time to pay the tuition fee, I have to approach someone in the cashier's office and inform about my SSS check. And that's a huge challenge for me again, as an introvert. The employees there were not approachable as well. Oh well!

Land Bank is one of the busiest bank everyday. Thousands of people transact there and it is such a time consuming task to accomplish. What stresses me more is that, the tellers work so fast and they're always in a hurry and I feel anxious to raise a concern because they might get mad. Imagine the anxiety?


I'm glad some of the government offices are already accessible here in our province since Robinsons Mall was established. It did make a huge help for us not having to travel long hours of bus ride to the other city to make transactions.

To be fair, some government offices have improved when it comes to their workflow. They've become smoother and faster. Just make an appointment online and it'll take you 30 minutes or less to accomplish.

I'm sure when this bill becomes a law, it will make a difference as to how they treat their clients. Also, why do colleges or universities don't have subjects in preparation for landing a job? It would be a great orientation for fresh graduates to keep them on track and be knowledgeable once they do their businesses in these government offices.


So what government offices have you been into have the most "mataray" or strict government officials?


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

11
$ 0.19
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
$ 0.01 from @Lhes
+ 3
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Comments

Hay nakooo. Di na talaga mawawala 'yang mga matataray na government employees, Ate. Supposedly, they should be the most approachable coz they're into public service din. But, dang! I'm not generalizing but nagkalat talaga sila. For me, ang incompetent kapag may ganitong behaviorism. Hopefully, they could be filtered out naman. 🙇🏼‍♀️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maraming ma-attitude Mae as if sila na ang highest of all. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tinuod gayud na madam. Naka encounter gayud kog tawo sauna. Napaka taray gayud. Di man lang kamao mu approach ug mahinahon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Murag abala kaayo ta sa ilang paminaw madam no nga trabaho man unta na nila 🤦

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lahat mataray kala mo may ari nang government establishment hahaha! Sana yang bill na yan pwedi na e complain yung mga feeling may- ari nang establishment hahaha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ihapak nato sa ilang mga nawng madam. Hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hay nako! Ang dami kong experiences na ganyan ate, pero buti nalang at mas mataray ako. Hahaha. Kidding! May experience ako once sa LandBank when I opened my savings account ate, gusto paalisin na ako coz I'm still a student back then. But I insisted kahit mataray yong kaharap ko, and reasoned out na meron naman ako lahat ng requirements na kailangan. Ayun! Hahaha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Bilib ako sa courage mo cherry. Hehe. Kung ako yon, umalis nlng ako para wala ng arguments. Di ko kase bet yang mga confrontations eh 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dyan din bilib mga friends and classmates ko sa akin ate. Kasi nakikipag-komprontahan talaga ako, as long as nasa tama naman ako at may rason. Masasanay kasi sila na ganun ate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wala talaga akong courage to speak out Cherry. I'm not strong and confident enough to express my stands. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naku buti naman at meron ng bill na ganyan para mawala na yung maattitude sa government offices.

Naalala ko tuloy yung nilakad ko yung death certificate ng papa ko. Jusko naialang balik ako sa munisipyo tapos kulag yung info na binibigay sa akin so bumalik na naman ako and then nagalit pa kasi ang kulit ko daw. Naku yinarayan ko talaga. Sabi ko kung may problema kayo sa bahay wag nyo dalhin dito sa work, hahaha.. Nagtinginan ibang employee sa akin, paki ko ba, hahaha.. Gutom na ako nun kaya nag init na din ulo ko.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I say, slay madam! Haha. Maayo rapud nga imo gitarayan madam oy. Nice kaayo atong approach sa ila unya di ta tarongon og accommodate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mau jud madam, we treat them with respect unya sila wala gyuy labot kung nakapoy na ta or what. Deserve nila ang tarayan lalo na kung may reason tayo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

strict, "mataray" government workers

Same thoughts, and I don't know why! So sometimes I prefer transacting with male as they are easy to deal with. sometimes!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

May mga grumpy din na mga lalaki madam pero bihira lng. Mostly, mga babae talaga when we should empower each other sana.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lahat sila. Ang tataray. Tatanungin ka pa, anong natapos mo at anong work mo? saka doon ibabase kung igagalang ka or hindi.

Bitter talaga ako

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Discriminations madam no? Mga matapobre. Mura pug mga si kinsa. 🤦

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naku totoo yan, feeling mga entitled eh, feeling tagapagmana ng gobyerno, hahaha! Kaya ako tinatarayan ko din talaga lalo na kung may reason ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same tayo ma'am. Ako pa naman ang taong, kung ano ipinapakitang ugali ng nakakasalamuha ko, ganoon din ako sa kanya. Duh 🙄

Feeling entitled talaga sila. 😒

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama. lang yan.. Mahirap yung masyadong mabait lalo na kung nasa tama ka.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lahat ng govt offices hahaha charot. Nakakainis kasi yung parang ayaw nila magtrabaho eh doon sila nagttrabaho ih.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Dibaaa? Parang kasalanan pa natin na may concern tayo sa office nila. Sorry po sa abala mga ma'am and sir 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago