Oh, How I Hated Him That Day!

22 28
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Disclaimer: this article contains sensitive content about self-infliction. Reader's discretion is advised.

Like I mentioned in one of my previous posts, my friendship with my music partner isn't only about happiness. We shared a couple of misunderstandings and in this article, let’s talk about that day when I hated and disliked him.

As we continue doing our everyday practices, we talked about anything under the sun. Any topic you can think of, that's how open Gifter is. There are times when he would rant about how religion is wrongly packaged my most churches, and that homosexuality couldn’t be a choice. He's really open to express his thoughts.

However, there was a time when he crossed the line.

If you’ve watched some my instrumental videos that I posted here, you would have noticed that my right hand is slightly disfigured. The truth is, I went through an episode of self-harm some time 3 years ago. Read about it here.

That moment when I tried to put an end to my existence is one of the most tragic events of my life, yet Gifter made a joke about it. It started with him saying that if we do become famous musicians someday, we would get a handful of bashers.

I agree with that, but the thing is he mentioned it this way:

If I’d get a hundred thousand bashers, the solution would be simple… I’ll just slice my wrist like you did!

He even laughed while saying that, and even mimicked a slicing action of his wrist, right in front of me. I was stunned seeing him like that. I can't believe he did that to me.

He apologized, but old emotional wounds were reopened.

I knew that it was just some random moments for him. But to me, it meant different. It was heavy. The fun conversation turned out to be an awkward situation where silence prevailed. He realized his mistake right away because my expression and reaction were very transparent when he joked about the slashing of the wrist.

I saw how sorry he was when he apologized but at that moment, my emotions took over and I felt so bad and insecure. Insecure because I doubted myself again. It triggered me to think about my worth as a person, of why I did that, of why I felt so little and lost.

It triggered the devil sleeping inside me to tease me with harming myself again because I'm worthless. I'm shameful of where I am, I pitied myself, and how my present status is compared to others. Gifter, the person who I thought was my new best friend, the person I’m building a dream with turned out to be a very insensitive and cruel human being.

Realizations occur to empower and teach you.

I began to doubt myself if maybe I'm just being so oversensitive. But, aren't we allowed to get hurt too? I mean, I get that I should practice myself from dealing with negativity in the future but setting aside what I truly feel is such a heavy feeling.

I convinced myself that yeah, he was just joking. I tried to shrug it off but I have to listen to what my heart is telling me too. I felt hurt, and I was offended. I sent a long message to him through chat because I had to express it. It's hard to keep these emotions on my own.

I told him about how he should be careful with the words he'll say against people. Most especially the very sensitive ones. As much as possible, avoid making jokes to soft-hearted people because they'll overthink, can't sleep at night, and it'll give them anxiety.

But as I thought deeply about what we’ve been through, I asked myself some questions:

Is Gifter more harsh than kind?

• Does he take more than he gives?

• Is he more of a villain, or a hero?

Immediately, I knew the answer to those questions.

Weighing it all down.

I was really disappointed of what he did. To be honest, it left a scar on my memory and in my heart and I'm the type of person who never forgets something that made a huge impact to my well-being. It's not about holding a grudge though, it's just that I can't easily shrug it off. I'm always open to forgiveness but forgetting what they did, I cannot guarantee that.

The next day, he brought a pizza as his peace offering. Still a bit angry with himself for what he did, he told me.

I truly love you, like my own little sister. I hope I can still do something to fix this mistake I made.” He hugged me gently, and though I can’t see his face, I can sense his eyes are about to shed.

For the next minutes after that, we wrote down the specific details of our upcoming music video. I had to be professional. I should separate my emotions from what needs to be done. I felt awkward at first but everything went well eventually.

Gifter might not be perfect, but he’s a great buddy to hang out with. He’s still the best pal I’ve ever had in these past few years. Oh, how I hated him that day, but as we both show our deep commitment to our musical endeavor each day, I can say we greatly love each other as non-biological siblings.


Thanks for reading!

Keep safe everyone.

9
$ 1.31
$ 1.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Usagi
$ 0.02 from @Itsfarah
+ 5
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Comments

Ow, at least now you both are in good terms.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can understand dear, how his words caused you pain, but I am glad finally he realized his mistake, and was sorry for what he said. That's is more good that you both are still music partners.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yup, we sorted things out and taken care of them. ❤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe, and insensitive nya don sa part ng sinabi niya pero I think, nagkamali lang sya ng way to say that. Iba iba kasi eh, siguro ur not just in the mood ate or ayun nga, there is still trauma behind that tapos ginawa lang joke which is wrong. But at least okay na kayo dalawa ate?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes dee, we're doing fine na. Hehe. Nagulat talaga ako non pero na process ko naman and naintindihan ko na. Pero insensitive parin ginawa nya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May ganung tao tlga ate minsan kasi di nila alam nagiging inconsiderate na sila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sister I know relationship is thing when you hate someone then it is peak of hate. But now you should forgive him If you can.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have already forgiven him though. It's just that it's hard to forget what he did. I mean, I don't need to forget what he did though. As I was saying, we're all good already.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You did grear job sister., Forgiveness is virtue of great people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

he sure had crossed the line pero I see that he's very comfortable with you that he can make jokes around... hopefully, he had learned from what happened...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

He apologized naman madam and from then on, mas naging careful nagyud sya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is really painful and disappointing when someone would love on a tragic and traumatic experience you had, ano ate. I remember when I got traumatized noong one time na may huminto sa harap namin na may baril, and parang mag-aamok. Then noong kinwento ko sa friends ko, okay naman. May time na kumakain kami, tapos may isa na naopen nya yun as topic, but in a form of a joke. Nag-walk out talaga ako noon ate, kasi parang bumalik ako doon sa scenario tapos sila, tumatawa lang. Naisip ko nalang na sana hindi mangyari sa kanila yun, para hindi nila maramdaman yung trauma.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They'll never know until they'll experience it, Cherry. Ang satin lang naman ay sensitivity ba kase may mga painful and traumatic pasts tayo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

everyone is different in nature and also character but the heart always has feelings.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, it does. That's why I followed what my heart is telling me to. I needed to express it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

he unintentionally joke about it and i know it's not a good time for that joke. dahil nga po sa music, nag patawad at inunawa mo nalang po si Gifter.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yup. It happened in an instant and I was caught off guard but when I helped myself to calm down, it dawned on me that it was only a mistake he didn't do intentionally.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I’m glad he made up by offering a gift. I’m sure it was a slip of tongue. Please try forgetting and not just forgiving, because it has affected me in so many ways. I’m also quick at forgiving but on every misunderstanding I have with the person, I’m ready to bring back the old ones. If you learn to forget and not just forgive it will help you heal faster.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I truly believe it helps us heal faster when we forget what they did also. But for my part though, I want to establish boundaries as well to protect myself from possible offenses a person will do again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My mga Tao Lang talaga sis na akala nila di masakit yung joke nila. Di nila kasi iniisip yung feelings ng ibang tao eh. Nangyari din yan sa akin when my husband was just joking daw diba dapat pag joke eh di nakakatawa Yun pero bakit ang sakit ng sinabi niya. Haysst.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga madam eh. Pero tapos na, nasaktan na tayo 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes they can't take back the pain that they cause

$ 0.00
1 year ago