Fetching Gallons of Water

47 78
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

You will only appreciate the value of it once they are gone.


The city water district has posted a water supply advisory about a scheduled repair for the water reservoir on Facebook yesterday. However, as a consumer who doesn't regularly check Facebook because of my addiction to read.cash, and noise.cash, we missed the opportunity to stock pails of water.

Yesterday after dinner, as I was about to wash my plate, the faucet ran out of water. So I grabbed a gallon of water and wash my dish. The good thing is, we stock gallons of water in the kitchen even if there is a water supply. At least we have something in reserve for emergency purposes.

But just this morning, the water supply is still nowhere to be found and we are running out of reserved water supply.

So we decided to fetch some water and we have to get through a slippery, muddy, and steep road in the woods before we reach a small body of water. A stream.

We walked for about 5-8 minutes and upon arriving, we came across a family who seems to fetch some water going in the same direction as us. We followed them and as we were walking, the sun is up, the heat is kissing my skin so it makes the activity more tiring.

Finally, we were able to reach the stream and fill up the containers.

Now, this is the hardest part of all. We are carrying 5 gallons in total (4-6 liters each). Imagine carrying tons of liters of water while risking your life getting through the muds and slippery roads.

I was just very thankful when a guy is heading back to the stream, he helped us carry the gallons, and finally, we're over it.


Childhood Memories

I remember when we were kids, my cousins and I used to take a bath in a stream and play happily under the heat of the sun. We ask permission from our grandparents, bring our snacks with us, and lay a mat under a big tree providing us a shed.

There was one time when my cousins and I decided to go back to the stream but our grandparents refused so we planned secretly to sneak out and get away with them.

It was 2 pm in the afternoon. These kids are just stubborn πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ So we went there the same usual setup. We stole pieces of bread from the dining table and hurriedly run towards the place. It was a 10-minute walk but we managed to arrive there for about 5 minutes only.

As we reach there, we began to take a bath but we noticed that the pressure of the water was slightly strong compared to the usual ones.

As I hold my breath enjoying the water, I noticed that I lost my slipper and I tried my best to catch it but the water's pressure is too fast. I couldn't reach it anymore and so I went home with just one slipper. For them to not noticed about the slippers, I threw the other one away πŸ˜†


I came from a private school from grades 1 to 3. Then my mother decided to transfer me to the public school because she just got assigned to the school where I'm attending to.

One thing most unforgettable during my grade school years was when we had to fetch water for the plants outside our classroom. We are assigned to a specific area each day and we follow the rotational system. The challenging part here is that the gallons are only limited so whoever gets the gallon first will get to water the plants first and of course, gets to go home first too.

My style was to hide a gallon on a specific area and get it after our last period. Or, I'll get a gallon on my mom's classroom and water the plants. Worse, I ask a favor to my classmate who has a crush on me so he'll get two containers. πŸ˜† Breezy moves or taking advantage?


These were just some of those unforgettable moments of me during childhood. What's yours?


Thanks for reading!

Keep safe everyone. ❀

18
$ 13.91
$ 13.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @kat2x
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
+ 8
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

Comments

We are also experiencing water interruption often as usual and I think theres something wrong on our water reserves. Anyways, I also have an experience when we are hit by typhoon and electrical and water supply became unavailable for 1 week. We didn't expected that it will last for that long.

At that time, I remember that our place is in chaos when we receive rumors of someone distributing water supply πŸ˜†. Tbh, it is traumatizing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Na chismis kayo na nakatanggap kayo ng tubig illegally? Tama ba pagkaintindi ko? πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay sorry hahaha baka nalito ka sa grammar ko πŸ˜…. Kaya nagkakagulo dati samin kasi matagal na kaming walang supply ng tubig kaya pag may chismis na kumakalat na mayroon daw magbibigay ng tubig, nagpapa-unahan, kaya ayon nagkakagulo hahahha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

we also used to carry gallons back to the house when we were kids XD it wasn't the best memories because it took a lot of play time from us but we needed to

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. Yes, kids love to reserve playtime even at work. Work kase order eh. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ait sa amin naman wala pang nawasa kaya nagpagawa kame ng sarili naming gripo kaso ang nakakalungkot nasira na naman ito dahil sobrang hina ng koryente sa amin laging nawawalan ng tubig ang tangke namin, at ipinaayos ito ni papa kaso sa kasamaang palad namatay na ang gumagawa di pa ito naaayos ang dame ng hastos kaya pinabayaan na lamang at nakiki igib na lamang kame sa kapitbahay kaya minsan ayaw kong umuwi kila papa nakakapagod kasi mag igib lol, buti dito kila mother in law ko naka gripo na din haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. Hirap talaga pag walang tubig. Mas gustohin ko pang walang kuryente.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Di namin na experience ang ganito kasi may bomba na kamo pero parang ang saya. Pero na try ko to nong nag hiking kami sa bundok para mag interview ng mga Mangyans, mapagod man ee maliliit na galloon pa un ha. Hindi kasi ako pala exercuse non ee, tas that time my nakabara pa ss ilong ko non kaya hingal kabayo na sa bunganga nahinga hahahadoi.

At sana all talaga nila kwash πŸ˜ŸπŸ˜’

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. Ang saya lng maglaro sa tubig ano madam. πŸ™ˆ wala ka bang hokage moves kay kwash madam?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kaya nga madam, maigi na din kess maglaro ng apoy πŸ˜’. Wala madam, ayaw ko na suko na ako πŸ˜’

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As for me, fetching gallons of water is not new to me. Especially, Bicol is always strike by typhoon. And there were really times that therea no water for a week. So we need to fetch water too. I can also remember my childhood days. Waaaahh

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ka formal sa comment oy πŸ˜… hehe. Bitaw oy, lisod kayo bsta way tubig man.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha.. ang ang kay english mn.. wa na raba koy praktis2 ug english.. hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. Saimo work diay?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We converse in english but through chat nlng.. wala nay calls calls . Hahaha. Mao galisud na akong brain cells mgstorya ug english.. hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. Unsa nlng ko. Taod2 njud ko way english2x bay.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Those moments that will not come back but that remain in our memories. It is pleasant to remember even though you spent a lot of work looking for the water.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was nice reminiscing those memories though. πŸ™ˆβ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ambigat nung 5 gal toz 4-6L each..better have a drum to store water for emergency. Need lng nya matakpan ng mabuti pra d makapasok ang lamok. I can remember during my childhood one time hbang naliligo kmi sa ilog, masarap magpadala sa tubig, ung parang inaanod k. Ganun ginawa q. Toz ewan qng cno nagsumbong sa nanay q na naanod daw aq, at pinarating din nila sa akin na hinahanap daw aq ng nanay q, galit daw. Kaya ayun mas lalo pa aqng nagtago sa bahay ng kalaro. D q n matandaan sumunod na nangyari jaja

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pahamak din talaga tong mgs chismis eh. Hahaha. Etong si nanay, naniwala agad. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My trauma ksi my kapatid aqng nalunod kya super protektib pagdating sa ilog,, kya sneak p din kmi, sarap kya magtampisaw sa ilog😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kaya pala. Sorry, naging judgmental na nman ako πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ Supeeeer sarap mglaro sa tubig πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha! Dumadamoves ka pala friend πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ .. pag inani nga summer we go to the river, didto manglaba.. Hehe.. just a few days back ang mga wells are slowly getting empty. Then my mom would start hiding the water pump handle πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.

I have childhood memories about fetching water, too. Hehe.. Tapulan man mi magfetch sauna so my aunt would pay 25cents for every gallon of water we get. Unahan na dayon mi og kuha sa galon ghorl.. Hahah!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Basta kwarta na gani, abtik kaayo. Mao jud nay ultimate motivation πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're using breezy moves to take advantage, that's what I call it. Hehe. Hey, I wonder why you people put some little "X" inside black squares in your articles. How do you do that? And what are they for? I think I'm the only one here who doesn't know how to do that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think those little x you see are emojis? Everytime I have slow connection the emojis will appear as x in my screen.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ang emojis diay iyang pasabot. Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But why would they put some emojis in their articles? That's inappropriate for web journalism, right?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ako din mahilig maglagay kasi gusto ko 😟

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's how we express our thoughts man bi, to show emphasis. Is that inappropriate? Charr. Mangaway daun. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I concede defeat. I can't beat all of you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not sure, tho. Didn't notice you wrote "black squares".. πŸ˜…. I do put emojis on my articles to show my expression while writing my articles.. it maybe inappropriate but we have different styles in writing..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

X inside black squares? Aha dapit ana?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey, naa pa kay copy sa case study ninyo sauna, or thesis? Or system proposal nga information system? or any system program? hatagi ko bi, karon na unta kung naa. Diri na lang ko ni message kay wala man nimo gibasa sa Facebook.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay ay bisaya diay ka? Hahahah!πŸ˜‚ Gikapoy kog english sa akong reply.. Sabta na lang ha.. Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, bisaya kaayo uy, taga Davao man. Ikaw, taga asa ka?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Zamboanga del Norte

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah, I have a friend in Margosatubig, although I think that's in del Sur. I also have a cousin in Zamboanga, though I forgot where it was.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Zamboanga del Norte

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Buti ngabat may stream .panu nlng mga nsa city na mawalan ng tubig πŸ˜….. Samin naman sa puso umiigip or sa mga balon kung walanf tubig .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. Nasa city din kami pero buti nlng din, accessible parin ang mga streams. Lalakarin nga lang ng malayo πŸ˜… kakatakot tumingin sa balon baka mhulog ako.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There’s a lot of frequent water interruptions lately. We also fetch water from time to time 😣πŸ₯Ί

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Where do you fetch your water then?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not far but we have to climb a stairs 😭😭😭 which makes it exhausting 😣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I remember my childhood when there is no water bill. Just a "Poso"

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's one common source of water too. πŸ™ˆβ€

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Haha yes it is tapos hampasan ng timba paunahan sa pila haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago