Do You Lack Self-Confidence?

28 48
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

For those who are struggling with self-confidence, this is for us. I'll include myself because it's something I need to work into.

Growing up I used to avoid crowds. I don't feel confident with myself. It's because a part of my childhood has contributed a lot to where I stand now. I am the smallest girl in the class. I get bullied because of my height. I get laughed at by my classmates whenever we fall in line for the flag ceremony.

As the silent, shy, not confident girl I was, I embraced that negativity throughout my life and it seemed like I learned to live it with me. However, I embraced it negatively. It didn't turn out as an advantage or something. I took it negatively and accepted it forever.

Until such time when I realized that I've been too negative in my whole life. I always focus on the bad things. There are precious things to appreciate but I always chose to have a blind eye. Well, it still hurts a little when someone comments about it but I learned to not take it seriously and just shrug it off.

For us to build self-confidence, here's what we need to do:

Practice self-compassion.

I have written an article about self-love. I have listed down everything in order for us to start appreciating ourselves. We needed that.

When we commit mistakes or make bad decisions, we usually blame ourselves for doing it. We resent ourselves for being stupid. Guess what, nobody's perfect. Everyone makes mistakes. What makes it no longer healthy is that you get stuck in the past.

Even great athletes have their off-day. Consider yourself as one too. Don't be too hard on yourself. Some days are not meant for us to excel. Maybe they're made for us to realize the things that we should work into. Having said that, it helps us to grow and be better.

Practice self-care.

If you have achieved something you've wanted so bad, commend yourself by rewarding. Buy yourself shoes, sandals, or a shirt. Treat yourself by going to the massage and spa or buying your comfort food. It's a healthy habit of appreciating yourself. That way, you are starting to build that chemistry within yourself and you'll build self-confidence.

If there's one thing you truly aspire for the longest time, you'll be inspired to achieve it. Then again, what's more important to take note of is the journey you go through that achievement.

Surround yourself with people who inspire you.

Are your peers helping you to achieve your goals? Do you think they're the right people to be with and establish good chemistry into something? If you see that these people are toxic and are the main ones who pull you down instead of lifting you up to support you, you need to get away with that relationship.

Be with those people who share the same perspectives as you. Be inspired by going together to develop self-confidence.

Face your fears.

It takes a lot of courage to face your fears. But guess what, you're already building self-confidence when you're afraid but you still choose to do it.

If you choose to imprison yourself by those fears, you won't progress. You'll get stuck, there will be no character development. Even if you failed to do it, you should still appreciate yourself by doing it. The fact that you took the step forward, is such a huge achievement already.

You'll just need to practice it more often and you'll get the hang of it.

Trust yourself through God's presence.

I don't write articles more often about faith or religion because we have friends here who don't have it so in the line of respect to them, I give disclaimers.

However, this time around, I felt the need to be vocal with my thoughts on this article. God's guidance will definitely push us through building self-confidence.


I'm gonna treat this writeup as a note to self too. I need this badly. And to someone who's struggling with confidence, I hope you find this one helpful.

Lead image source

Reference


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

9
$ 12.92
$ 12.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
+ 6
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

Same here, I dont have a confidence before especially on my elementary days. Siguro kasi mukha talaga ako poorita. I was in public school but in a star section. So my classmates medyo maaayos ang uniform plus mga gamit sa school. And me, ni wala nga maayos na bag at sira2 pa.lagi ang tsinelas. So paano ako maging confident magrecite sa gitna ng class knowing I am not presentable?😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bisag pila nako ka years nagteach naa gihapon na sakoa ang mawala ang self confidence, labi na mas labaw pa sakoa akong kastorya or presentan sa idea. Grabe na kulba gihapon, pero maningkamot gyud na ma overcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right. Og boss nimo imong ka storya, kulba jud. Mawad an tag kompyansa. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes, how can I forget about that self-love article. I think it was just around the same time with the Coins.ph emergency fund. Those 2 were my favorite article of yours. 😉

With self confidence, I do not know. I love me whether I am slim or chubby. But I just cannot present myself in front of everyone especially if it is about presentations, speeches and all. It is something that I can never ever overcome yet.

And oh by the way, here's a gift for you Madam Jeaneth..

🎁 You have been blessed by the Club1BCH festive spirit and a $0.25 tip was given to this article. Sharing is caring... please share half of it with someone else! Happy Holidays! 🎁. Congrats 🥳

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uuuy, salamat nito madam ah 😅 Merry Christmas. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Give love. Share love madam Jeaneth. 😁 naway napangiti kita sa regalo ko. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It did madam. I'll share it to someone here. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Confidence? Nahh it's difficult for me to have that, what I mean is that I'm not a confident person, it's better to isolate myself from the others

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Will you keep isolating yourself? 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I grew up without self-confidence talaga madam. I grew up feeling insecure kasi out of us 3 sisters, I am the only one who is not pretty. But I learned to accept the truth, hehe. Acceptance is the key.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Tinuod madam. Acceptance is the key jud. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero it's easier said than done madams, ang hirap as in hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung self confidence ko minsan nakadepende e hahaha. Kapag mataas personality ng taong kausap ako e nanliliit bako haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Hehe. Selective confidence pala yan madam. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lacking self-confidence would pose a huge problem to people in this age of the world where interacting with people is a must. The points stated are valid and must be put into consideration to boost our confidence.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interaction with other people will really help boosting our confidence. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I asked myself, how those confident or those overly confident do it? This article really could help

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some people tend to overdo it din. That's when it becomes arrogance. 🤷‍♀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Trueness..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag sa crowd talaga nakakahiya din nmn talaga. Self confidence is something we must keep building because anytime it will be gone with just some traumatic events.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Confident ka sa anong bagay madam eyb? Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko alam eh 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great and useful article, thank you my friend for these valuable tips

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mostly what I do is that I Recognise what I'm good at. We're all good at something, whether it's cooking, singing, doing puzzles or being a friend and Build positive relationships and also Be kind to yourself and finally Learn to be assertive and with time I saw myself growing my self confidence

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is true. I forgot to include this on my list. This is an effective way to boost self-confidence too. Thanks for sharing your thoughts 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sus madam. Always struggling..lalo na kpg nsa crowd. I guess hndi na mababago to 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pwede pa yan ma practice madam. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago