Cigarettes and Secrets: My Smoking Experiences

38 52
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

I was tagged by @Pachuchay in her article Cigarette Smoking is Dangerous To Your Health. and I thought of sharing my story about cigarettes too because I had an experience with that before.

Are you a smoker? Why or why not?

Why not? Kidding. I smoked before when I was probably in my 2nd grade? So that makes me a smoker at the age of 7 years old. How did that happen? Well, as sneaky and curious as I was, I became one. But not consistently. It was more of a curiosity about what it feels like.

Growing up, I used to witness my father smoking. I would see him smoking while talking with my friends' fathers as well outside our house. I grew up in a very tight and friendly neighborhood. I saw how the community helps one another whenever something urgent happens.

So I got so curious about how smoking should be done. I got so fascinated with the tricks he was doing by inhaling the cigarette and releasing the smoke through his nose. I liked how the cigarette lit up as he inhale it. It was kinda weird to get fascinated by it but yeah, I smoked without them knowing.

I didn't buy a cigarette of my own. Although I can buy and keep one for myself because my father used to command me to buy cigarettes at the store. As soon as he's done taking his dinner, he goes out of the house and smokes. Mama told me that smoking is bad but why papa isn't stopping? She couldn't answer.

So I tried it myself to see what it feels like. When papa is done smoking, he throws the cigarette away and enters the house again. As naughty as I was, I look for the cigarette and tried it on my own. There, I explored tricks like blowing the smoke through my nose. I really thought I was doing well and it made me believe I was so cool back then. It lasted for a while until I got caught.

Papa was furious when he saw me making the most out of the cigarettes he threw. I never thought that I got addicted to it. It was the nicotine that made me. From a 7-year-old child, it would never cross my mind that a stimulant drug was slowly making its effect on my body.

So, do you still think I'm a boring person?

Have you tried one? When?How?Why?

I have tried smoking again when I was in my teenage years. When I got caught on my first try, I was really nervous. Papa was so mad, he spanked me with his belt and it was profoundly painful. I would scream to death. I promised him that I wouldn't do it anymore.

However, the puberty stage came and that's where delinquency has controlled me. Me and my cousins used to play inside an underground of my grandparents' house. The underground was made to secure themselves in case an unexpected war happens. This house is over 60 years old already.

We used to play "luto-lutoan" there and "bahay-bahayan". The ambiance was cold but it kinda frightens me because I'm claustrophobic. I get panic attacks in close spaces. My cousin rolls papers and gave each of us one. She lit one up and started smoking.

We followed her and so I tried smoking once again. It was just purely for fun. The intention was never to get addicted and rebel against our parents. It was all curiosity and naughtiness.

Does your family know that you smoke?

Papa caught me once. I tried smoking again for fun with my cousins (paper rolls only). Generally speaking, they don't know. I have never tried smoking again ever. That's when I finally understood that smoking is dangerous to our health.

Papa has stopped smoking too, probably a year already since he stopped. That's a huge achievement, to be honest. The withdrawal syndrome wasn't easy for him.

But for the record, the smoking experiences I had in childhood and puberty were all purely curiosity. Since then, I never smoked anymore.

If you were to take two users for a "you break" (smoking session) for some heart-to-heart talk or lung-to-lung conversations, who would those lucky people be? Tag 'em!

I'm not sure if @ellimacandrea smokes but I would love to have a session with you Miss Andi, and of course, @bbyblacksheep , do you still smoke madam or you stopped na? I think you already stopped. Hehe. Special mention to @Yen @Eybyoung @Jane and @Ruffa if you girls are up for it.

I wouldn't mention the younger ones na, it would make me a bad influencer.


Lead image source


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

16
$ 7.84
$ 7.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 9
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Comments

Hello sis, im happy to meet you here.. I've seen your name in @Pachuchay article.

Grabee you smoked as in totoong cigarette at age 7 ang bata pa non.. peru atleast it is just out of curiosity. Its so difficult din that our parents teaches us by words but not by example. It's difficult when they say its not good but they are having it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe. Pure curiosity lang madam. It was an honest curiosity lng talaga and never had an intention of getting addicted to it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganyan talaga ang mga kids.. Kahit kami noon we tried peru yung papel lang hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naaalala ko there was a time na tinry ko humitht ng sigarilyo ng pap ko ata un or ng lolo ko tas nahuli din ako at pinagalitan wahahahah . un na ung first and last time. Grabe di ako makapaniwala nagawa mo un dati ate ha. Tinignan ko sino ulit author eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nyahaha. Kala mo talaga napaka modest kung tao dee no? 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganyan tingin ko sayo promise lalo na pag nakikita ko pala simba ka hahaja. Choir member ka ba ate or member ng mga youth ministry??

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May pagka bad-ass ako nong bata dee. Nung high school, choir member and psalmist din. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

nako ate akong ako ka pala wahahahha choir member din ako saka youth member ng ilang days hahaha kasi sa choir ako nagfofocus talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I knew something influenced you and it must have been out of curiosity, I am glad it didn't become an addiction and dad was able to stop as well. I haven't tried it before because I find it difficult to breathe even when people smoke around me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh yeah. I'm glad it didn't become one. It would have been a terrible experience if so.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

like you, i tried smoking the roll up paper but I coughed and never liked the experience so I was never jealous of those who smoke...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha, me too madam. It was an awful experience.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe apir

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wa pa ko ka try ana sukad Jeaneth. Dili ko katuo nga nagtry diay ka ana sauna hahahah maka-curious pud gamay ba.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. Wala jud sa nawng no? Pero experience rato.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have my experience too. Can I adopt this to my article madam? 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No probs madam. Tag mo ko para ma notify ako. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang sigarilyo ko lang non ate is stick-o. Haha. Kakagat ako then parang may natitirang putol putol na stick-o sa loob the saka mo sya hihirapan. Pero hindi ako nagsisigarilyo, pinaka hate ko yan lalo na ang amoy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hoooy, totoo yan. Ako rin before. Iba ibang flavor pa 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ito na nga lang article ko now hahaha. Syempre di ako magshare dito Kasi article ko nga 🤣

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Hahaha. Abangan ko yan madam. Medyo may pagka bad girl ka naman 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My is a chainsmoker sad madam. Grabi, mura gud ug makahurot na siya'g mga 4 or 5 packs a day. Until now wala pa gihapon siya ning-undang. Bisan unsaon jud namo ug tambag, dili jud maminaw. Muingon pa hinuon nga "biyaan pay asawa nungka ang pagpanigarilyo". Karun, nagkasakit-sakit na siya. Sige na gaubo pero di jud gihapon muondang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my, daghana niyag ma konsumo nga sigarilyo oy 💔 gawas pa sa gasto kaayo, ang risks sa health ba. 😔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha grabi, parang gusto kong kumanta ng batang pasaway HAHAHA. Ako din bata pa ako nag try, gawa lang ng curiosity, si Mommy kasi rr mahilig sa ganyan hahaha. Do naman na naulit yun. Saka one time ko lang ata nasubukan diko na gaanong tanda nga huehue

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahah napakanta tuloy ako sa batang pasaway na yan xD

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehehe. Jusko, kung curiosity level lng madam no, di tayo papatalo. 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha. Relate.elem din ako triny ko yun kc nakikita ko si papa nag ssmoke. Tapus nagroll pa ako papel nun ginawa sigarilyo. 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Marami pala tayo naka relate madam. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oii madam, I never thought na you would do something like that, hehe.. At the age of 7 ha pero kasi kapag bata talaga tayo eh mas nangingibabaw yun curiosity. At naiimagine ko yun galit ng Papa mo nun nahuli ka, hehe..

Ano lasa nun nirolyo na papel?😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakooo madam, suko gyud kaayo sya oy. Yung paper rolls, amoy sunog na papel lng gud. Naay time nga nasobrahan og suyop, nisiga bitaw na, hapit mapaso 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha nikatawa mn ko sa nisiga oi mayo lang kay hapit lang napaso ang sungad😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi pa ako nakatikim nian friend khit keln hahaha. I hate cigarette friend lalo na iyong usok

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe. Experience lng po yon madam. Pero never na ako ng smoke since then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The only things I have smoked is pipe and hookah. Unlike the west, in Nigeria smokers are often seen as bad people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really? Not really familiar of those two though 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh yeah. They are more common in Arab countries.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seryoso ma'am? Hahaha bugaya sad man diay hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naaah, di ka katuo ba. 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago