Are You Happy?

38 59
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

A few days ago, I came across to an Instagram story. It is about a guy who asks a quick question to random persons.

As he was walking along the street, he saw an old man walking. He seems to have a difficulty in walking but he can still manage himself.

He asks the old man, "Hi! Can I ask you a quick question? Would that be fine?". The old man seems a bit grumpy as to how he looks but he answers back, "Sure. Not a problem".

"Are you happy?". The guy asks.

The old man pauses and said, "Yes, I am".

"Why?" The guy asks a follow-up question.

"Because I'm here today. I'm alive". The old man replies without having second thoughts.

The guy replies, "If there's one thing you want to tell the entire world, what would it be?".

"Calm down and celebrate life". The old man replies.


When I saw this video, I was moved by the old man's answers. To think, his answers were very simple but sincere. Then again, one can not appreciate life or what he has if he is full of hatred and insecurities to himself.

"I'm here today. I'm alive".

This statement hit me so hard. Before, I was too focused on everyone's opinions. I was busy keeping up with their standards making me to lose my passion and do things that I love to do.

Before, I did not realize how valuable my life is. I became too abusive of my health. My intentions were pure though and that is to help my family. For the record, my family did not oblige me to do it. They were very supportive in every way they can. I volunteered.

My intentions were pure

My definition of happiness is to make my family happy. For them to be happy, I have to give back the sacrifices they made for me. For sending me to school, for raising me as a God-fearing person, to become a good person as a whole.

Honestly, it is never an obligation for the children to give back what their parents have done for them. The children owe nothing to their parents. However, with pure intentions, they will do their best to help the family.

I went overboard

I worked hard so I can sustain the financial needs of the family. I was able to do so though, I helped with the construction of our house gate, purchase everything my family wants in every way I can.

When I was doing all these things, I realized that I was no longer happy. The lifestyle became toxic and my health was put at risk. I had to go home and recover.

From then on, I treated myself as a failure. I was too negative to not look at the achievements I have become. I was busy looking at other people's lanes when supposedly I should be focusing on mine.

I was full of jealousy and insecurities and to make the story short, it consumed me.

I was eaten by my pride, I become too selfish, I thought I was alone fighting for my battles.

Then a life-changing situation happened to me that reversed all my perceptions about life.

When God gave me this another chance, I must say that I have changed. In a way that I learned to become more appreciative of the things I have, every single thing and every little thing I do.

Image from Google

My realizations

Life is precious.

Let's celebrate life. With what we have right now, we should be thankful to everything. May it be good or bad, everything happens for a reason. Many people are fighting for their lives so we should not waste the opportunity life is giving us.

Be patient.

Patience. That is gold for me. In fact, I am still struggling with it. When things don't occur as to how I want it to be, I lose focus and give up. However, with what happened to me, I have learned to let go and let God.

Love yourself.

My dear friend, don't be too hard on yourself. Life is not a competition or a race. Everyone of us is dealing with difficult circumstances but don't compare your chapter 1 to someone's chapter 23. There's a story behind it. Remember, God gives the toughest battles to his strongest warriors.

Last but not the least,

Jealousy is a thief of happiness.

True enough, jealousy consumed me. I always thought why am I like this? My classmates were all successful with their careers and here I am embarrassingly looking at them by far feeling so little.

I have learned to focus on myself and not get distracted with how people are doing around me. I may still be but at least I have learned to go back to my senses and refocus.


I hope that I was able to point out the message here. It is a random article but I intend to motivate you with how things should matter amidst the circumstances you are facing.

If you have reached to this point reading, I'll ask you once again.

Are you happy?


Thanks for reading!

Keep safe everyone. ❤

16
$ 10.09
$ 9.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 4
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

I'm happy always it's irreplaceable

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's so relieving to read wholesome articles like this before going to sleep. Thank you 💕. Somehow we should follow to old people because they experienced anything; they're just giving us a piece of advice for us to avoid their mistake

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly but we, the rebellious teenagers act as if we are correct all the time. 🙈😆 but as we mature, we'll realize na they're all correct pala.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes I can't be as happy as I want to be. Most of the time I do and I have learned not to be too impatient. But there are times when like every human being I worry about something and I don't like to worry because it takes away from my happiness. But thank God they are for small periods of time. Thank you for sharing this post.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree. There are times when worry takes over but with constant reminders, we get back to our senses 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think that worrying is an essential part of everyday life. As a reminder that we are alive and that at some point unexpected things can happen. It's up to each one of us to get out of situations and get back to what it means to be calm and "be happy".

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right because it is no longer a valuable life to consider if there aren't challenges for us to make us stronger.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Part of me says I am happy while part of me says I am not. 😅 Well, its true that in order to be happy, you need to find things that would make you happy or change something to make you happy. Live with simple things so that you will gain hapiness and contentment in life. ,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. I believe that's normal. There are times when we are sad but we need that too so we can let go of our pasts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes we will never learn what happiness is when we didn't experience being sad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy? Physically happy but mentally not?give me time to think if I am happy now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why not? It's been 9 hours now since you replied. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Quite hard to think if I am happy now. Haha Maybe I am?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess you are not because you find it hard to look for a reason why you are happy. There has to be a definite and firm answer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am always trying to go back to my senses and refocus.. and to answer the question, No, I am not. No matter how I tried to be realistic but when you really don't have anyone, it consumes you to the core.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's sad to know about your situation 🥺 but have you thought of making your way out to that darkness so you can see light?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am trying to be with the help of my kids...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What matters the most are your kiddos talaga no 🥺❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am, with all the gifts that God has given I surely am. Thanks for the reminder and the affirmation that we must dare to look the things that matter most and that is life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad I was able to help you with this article. Enjoy and celebrate life ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am happy but I smile differently but I am happy. Hahaha. Labo! I remember that Google photo you have. I saved one like that before when I was going through a heartbreak. Most of my Instagram posts were about happiness. It was for me to be reminded that I have to be happy and happiness starts from me and not from anyone else. Oh those days. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Mapapa smile ka nlng sa mga pinag gagawa mo before ano like when you look back sa past mo. 🙈😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, at our last class, one of our teachers he is around 70 said one sentence that everytime hits me

"If God want to grant me one wish, I would ask him to turn him to 20. I earned a lot, this and that but you know I miss the life. When I understand it I don't have energy to enjoy it".

"Don't focus much on earnings, enjoy your life by dears"

I can't forget his words.

Most of people, about 99.99% of people misses the life. And those who lives the life are only the deserves one to get the tickets of heavens. Because they fulfilled the destiny of being human. They are habitual of being happy, how can God give him hell, if he is made to go hell, he will enjoy heaven there.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is so pure and true. Living life to the fullest is indeed what makes a person happy. Thank you for sharing this. 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From what I have read, I can say YES for my family are safe and healthy. :)

Yung happiness kasi natin minsan nakadepende sa kung ano ang nakikita natin sa iba, sana meron ako nian or sana ganun ako. We forgot to see the small things that make us happy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halos lahat talaga tayo involve ang family sa answers. Hehe. Given na yan sa pagiging pinoy ano. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga sis. Sana man lang ay makapagpayback ako sa parents ko bago kola mawala za mundo 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here's my answer: I am happy, because I have found a sense of direction for my life which has been "directionless" for the past 2 years. For the past days, I feel so light and blessed. I thank God for introducing me to a person who showed me the path to trek on for the next phase of my life. Whoever that person is... may God bless her. If you see that person, would you please thank her for me?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Will do, and I'll make sure of that. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me. Somehow I can feel my sense of purpose for which someone can get a share too. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Would you like to know some clues about that person I'm talking about?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you don't mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She's smart, very considerate, and very ravishing. I also find her very mysterious. Another clue is... she lives near a zoo. Any idea who she is?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why mysterious? 🤔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Because there are things that I want to find out about her, but I can't figure them out. But I'll just figure them out soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unsa kaha na. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Puhon na, when I see her. But please tell her she means a lot to me. Can you do that?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She knows that already and she's grateful for you 😁

$ 0.10
2 years ago