When I encountered a student being scolded in front of Me

17 32
Avatar for Janz
Written by
2 years ago

Being an online teacher is not that easy from the fact that we are working at night up until 12 midnight. I mentioned this in one of my previous articles that as of now I'm working or teaching online to Chinese students both kids and adults while I'm waiting for my application process to be hired in DepEd (Department of Education).

Since, I can't sleep well if I can't publish today an article that is why I will shared to you my experience tonight while I had my class.

Students are unique. They have differences and different attitudes while in class. For me as teacher, it is really a challenged for me on how will I cater all those individualities of the students in my class. A challenged for me, on what strategies I may used just to make learning effective and to be able to catch the student's attention as well especially those zero to three level of students.

I already been encountering many types of students starting when I was still doing my OJT (on the job training) or the practice teaching of the education students before they can graduate college up until I worked in a private school and then now while I'm working or teaching online.

Well, teaching online has a big difference while doing actual teaching. In actual teaching, of course my students were just Filipinos and I knew our culture and how do we behave and that was easy for me to handle their attitudes in some way. But teaching online, you are teaching foreign students especially in my case I'm teaching Chinese students and language barrier is number one hindrance for me to deliver fluently my lessons. Yes, you can speak English and they can understand also basic English but when were talking about kids, those beginners these is really hard to do because if they can't understand your English then you need to translate that into their language for them to know what your talking about.

So, there's really a big difference. But, since teachers must be versatile at all times so we make strategies on how we can able to inculcate knowledge to our students.

Now for my experience today while I'm having my class, I had this student who always booked my class for almost a month now. He was 7 years old. Well, I can say that this student were a fast learner since he can answered correctly the questions that are given in every lessons. But this student, starting from the time he booked my class he already gave me headache every time we had a class up until now. Well, he participates though but my only problem to him is that he will be out of focused and he stops from participating in class up until the class will end. Of course as a teacher, every time we had a class I always figured out his likes for me to used it in my class in order for him to engaged my class up until the end. I did many things, I used props, visual aids (a colorful one), I'm always giving him rewards either a virtual rewards and physical rewards just for me to catch his attention and to feel the praised that I gave him even though his not listening and participating. I did sang a song in my class. There is one time that he were doing good up until the end of the class, of course I was amazed because he's already participating well but to find out he was just doing that way because his mother were there beside him. In other words, he's afraid of his mother. Then the next day, he's mother wasn't there beside him so as usual he's not participating again.

I don't really of what's the problem. I even asked myself if, "Am I an effective teacher?" Why can't I catch his attention? Am I not teaching him well? And I've read some feedbacks of other teachers to him, I found out that we had the same problem with this student. That is why, I said to myself that it's not a teacher factor but a student factor because I already did everything in my case and then how come?

Then today, at 6PM were my class with this student started. He entered the room late for already 2 minutes. Then, he had a sad face while entering the classroom. Of course I greeted him "ni hao" or "hello" and asked him if he's okay because I've seen in his face that he's not. I also asked him if what's wrong why is it he's sad. He's not responding to me, I smiled at him and let him smile too but he's really not talking anything. He just looked at me with his sad face. Then, his mother came and I was shocked because he was being hit by his mother and that he cried loudly then suddenly the student left the room.

This was taken right after the student left the room.

Then I waited until the student came back after 5 minutes. I don't what his mother did to him after he left the room. I was kind of shocked because I wasn't expected that his mother would do that and in front of me, the teacher of his kid. Because, we Filipinos as long as we can control ourselves we won't hit our kid especially in front of a teacher since it is not good to see.

So, the kid came back the room with a teary eye and his mother still continues to scolds him while his trying to participates in my class. I really don't know what to do, all I did is to continue with my class and tried to calm the student. I even helped him answered the activities so that he won't be scolded with his mother if he can't answer the questions. I was kind of sad for that fact because I felt the child were being pressured that time. He really tried not to cry while in class because his mother will hit him again. I really felt hurt with my 6PM class with this student because I wasn't expecting the action of the mother in disciplining his kid.

When he almost cried again but he just tried not to..

With this experience I had today, I've been wondering maybe this student were really being pressured to do well in class and if he can't meet his mother's expectation of him he will be scolded. That is why he's not doing well in my class because he gets pressured. Also, realizing some things that every student had also their behind stories of why they're not participating well in the class and not doing well in the class. Then, as a teacher I realized that, touching students hearts is very important not just to feed them the knowledge they needed to know but also to checked on them if they're emotionally fine. For that, we can be able to assess them on their needs emotionally and of course to let them engaged in the class as well.

Closing Thoughts

Source: Google

As a teacher, this is what I learned from my experienced today. If we encounter a student that causes us headaches, why not try to touch the heart of the students and asked them pains, weaknesses and strengths and then teaches them with full of passion and patience. Then, probably we can be part of the students life and journey and the student also will never forget us. Since, beautiful experienced of the students with their teachers remains in their heart and for sure you will never be forgotten.

How about you? Do you have bad experienced with your parents while your teacher is in front of you?

(feel free to comment down your thoughts)

Hopefully, I imparted some insights to all of you. Happy reading!!!

@Janz


Sponsors of Janz
empty
empty
empty

Again and again, I'm always thankful for my sponsors for supporting me here in read.cash @Eybyoung @Cineholic @Eunoia @Jane @nheng1118 and to my new added sponsorship @Macronald My heartfelt and infinite thanks to all of you.

I'm still open for more sponsorship.

To the upvoters of my previous article entitled Everyday a Blessing Day @OfficialGamboaLikeUs and @dziefem Thank you Thank you Thank you.

Source: Google

12
$ 1.55
$ 1.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 4
Sponsors of Janz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Janz
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Chinese students mo? Gantan tlgaga chinese parents.. Yung d manlang nla iniisip na may ibang tao nakakakita basta gusto nla magalit magagalit tlga..kaht sa public pa yan.. Mag aaway o kung ano pman. Yan napansin ko dto.. Wala slang paki sa reaction ng iba.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga culture daw nila yan ehhh, kaya lang naawa ako sa batang ito talagan. as in sinapak niya sa harap ko talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kawawa yung bata.. Tapus mahihiya pa yun syo.. Apektado tlga utak mga bata dto kya dami nav susuicide dahl sa mga nanay nla

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga natapos class namin d ko alam paano ko ma comfort yung kasj yung nanay niya nasa tabi niya at once hindi sya sasagot sa akin pinapagalitan siya kaya ginawa tinulungan ko na lang kumbaga tanong ko sagot ko nalang. Pressured kasi mga bata sa China wala nga silang relax kasi pag araw nasa school sila din pag gabi they need to attend naman online classes. I even have 1 student sis, she’s teen already she told me that if she will not do good in school she will be scolded by her parents and she doesn’t have time to somehow play in her phone because her parents won’t allow her daw. Nakakasad talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It must have been hard for you to see that but you can't say a thing coz it's her mom. I mean, okay, kids sometimes get hit by their parents as a way of disciplining them but never in front of others. Or I don't know coz we have a different culture with them.

But hey Teacher Janz, you did a great job in there. I didn't know you're a teacher, I always have big admirations for teachers. So, salute to all of you! I really feel bad for the kid but it's his mom and I don't know the whole story so i'll just stay quiet. Lol

Nice realizations you have btw. You guys really rock! Truly, teacher doesn't just teach, you guys have the longest patience. You understands, you always try to understand, and I can see that you truly care for your students. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, its really there culture to act that way it’s okay for them to scold their children in front of others and it’s very different here in us. But I don’t think that’s right even if we say it’s their culture because it always had impact to the child.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah. but we don't know what really happened. I wanna give the mom the benefit of the doubt on her actions. even though I don't think it's right. hays

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga naman , kasi ang batang to makulit talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A very interesting article.. thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ate Janz. I saluted you for being that kind of teacher. Every kids, children needed that kind of a loving teacher like you. Whom know how to understand the situation of the student. You look what the reason behind why that student can't get participate easily in the class . . Dapat ma'am Janz pala tawag ko sayo..❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a teacher too. I experienced many incidents like this but sorry I am not gonna waste an article here..... Hehehe lol. Hopefully will write an article soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looking forward for that too 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hirap din po talaga maging guro dahil may iba iba rin talagang ugali ang mga bata, especially yung mga ganyan ang edad, ang kukulit. Kaya I salute you po kasi nahahandle mo siya, you are effective teacher, sadyang makulit ang bata haha. Baka kung ano po yan, ayyy ewan ko nalang, hindi ko kayang maging teacher. 😆

$ 0.05
2 years ago

hehehhe, walang easy na work na naman pero for me teachers job is much harder kasi ginagawa namin lahat on how we can able to handle the differences of evey student tsaka iba iba yun plus a lot of paperworks pa, pero at the end of the day worth it naman siya na work

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sigurado po, sa lahat po ng work, feeling ko yung pagiging teacher talaga hindi ko kakayanin hahah. Kaya hanga po ako sa mga teacher na tulad niyo. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehehe, kaya yan basta pag may passion ka to teach kakayanin

$ 0.00
2 years ago