Let's call it a day, a busy day

14 28
Avatar for Janz
Written by
2 years ago

February 24, 2022

First of all, I am again 3 days behind of not being able to get in touch in here as well as wasn't able to publish articles for 3 days already. As I've wanted to be online here everyday and as I've wanted to publish daily but the problem is my internet connection and sometimes my schedule of doing school works hinders me to do so. But what I hate the most is that during daytime the internet connection in my work area isn't stable at all. I can hardly access my chrome which I really wanted to have interaction in here on daytime but sad to say I can't. I can't read articles as well as comments articles. That is why, upon writing this it's 2:30AM. Since, this time I can able to have access here for the signal is somehow better than daytime. Actually, I can able to access here daily during this time. But sometimes, I felt so tired waking up this early and everytime I woke up my head aches so, if that so, I just end up sleeping again especially if I'm tired at school for some paper works I usually can't get up as early as 2AM. That is why, I'm really struggling because I thought rusty will already be consistent to me but sad to say he can't again for I myself can't be consistent here too. It wouldn't be this way if only typhoon Odette never wrecked our province. Since, the typhoon why our electricity and internet connection isn't back until now and it's almost 3 months ago.

So, that's for my sentiments.


Now, for my topic today. I just going to share how my day went yesterday which is Wednesday.

Due to the changes typhoon Odette brought to us, one of that is the unavailability of electricity in our school were I worked and also the unstable internet connectivity. Our mode of learning also changes for the meantime. Last semester, our mode of learning were through online wherein we conduct synchronous classes online by google meet or by zoom and asynchronous classes by sending modules through messenger or email. But now, it's a different approach because were doing what DEPED are also doing which is the modular learning where we are going to send a printed modules for our students since our school still don't have the electricity instead our electricity were still powered by a generator.

Why it's a busy day for me, yesterday?

It's because today is the schedule of the distribution of modules for college level. Then, mostly us teachers don't have have the printed modules yet. Anyway beforehand, the advisers of each year level and also on the high school and senior high level made a survey on the students about their module preference and mostly chose the printed module. That is why, all of us teachers are going to print out modules since most of our students voted for printed. Maybe it's because, they still don't have stable connection too and it's hard for them to choose online or some students prefer printed modules because they just liked it. So, we teachers have no choice but to print our modules. Now, the problem is our school don't have enough resources for it like the printer knowing that we are many that is in need of printer. That is why, what we did teachers were just waiting for the other teacher to finish but some teachers also brought their own printer so no problem with them.

In my case, I went to school early because I knew our printer in our office will sure be busy and I target to print first while the printer isn't busy yet. Since, we only have one printer in our office. So, when I arrived at school, 10 minutes after the generator were already on. Therefore, I was able to use the printer first and was able to finished printing my module on my first subject in my first year college class. Since, there's only 16 students for my first year college and only 9 of them chose the printed modules that's why I was able to finished printing for that certain class. So, out of my 3 classes on college I had one down already. So, I now only need to print 2 types of modules. The other type of module which is intended for my other first year college but PE majors were just being printed by my co-teacher since she has the one who had copy of the module because she's the one handling the subject before. Therefore, when I asked her about the module she just said that we will just have to print the modules adding all our students who chose printed modules. The other subject I had for my IT first year college were not yet done encoded. Therefore, after I was done with the printing I continue encoding the subject for my IT students since I also need to print 13 copies of it.

At 2PM yesterday, I'm done already encoding the subject for IT which is the Discrete Math and was ready for printing. But our printer in the office were already busy since the other teacher also is using it printing his module as well. What I did is that, I went to the admin building and searched for an available printer to with my co-VI as well. We've found a printer but we still need to wait for 5 minutes because it was still used by other teacher and she's almost done. So, we just waited. After a while, we were able to have a printer to used for printing but I let my co-VI print first her module since she also need to print 14 copies. I let her print first since she don't have a printed module for her all subject in college but I myself already had one.

Since, the generator were only until 5PM and were not yet fone printing on that time. So, the faculties asked favored to the heads to extend the generator until 7PM. That is why, I was able to finished printing my Discrete Math subject. At 7PM, I was done but other teachers wasn't done yet. But have no choice, and just continue it today. But those modules wasn't done printing yesterday will not be included for distribution today and was just agreed that it will be distribute in the batch of distribution which is next week March 2.

7PM. I left the school but still not yet finished printing all the module because I still have Junior High School and Senior High School that needs to be print for there distribution will be on February 28. Therefore, I'll continue today what I haven't done yesterday.


That's it. That's how my day went yesterday. A busy day.

But what can I do, that's actually part of my job. Also, because the mode of learning changes. Actually, when our electricity came back. We will not be printing modules instead will just send to the students there modules through online. Because, other teachers also doesn't like the idea of printing modules knowing that the school is a university and also don't have enough resources for it. Why not the students will find a way to download their modules? Anyways, all proper areas of each municipalities already have internet connectivity. Because as what other teacher said especially those regular teachers that why do teachers in our university always adjust on the students. Because other universities even they knew there students can't access well on internet still they pursued on online mode of learning by just sending the modules through online platform.

That's also the question that I reflected on. Because it does happen in many aspect as well. Just like in high school students. We teachers are required not to fail students from high school and even giving them an 80 grade is already a question mark for them. It's always minding on the what the students comfort is. Like what the h*ck? How can a teacher adjust to the students in this sense? Like, how can we marked passed the students that has no outputs being submitted? and how can we not grade an 80 if the students doesn't deserved to have a 90+ grades? It's actually a head ache for us teachers especially on the grading time. Because if we let students passed without submitting anything how can a student learn? and if were not going to grade we teachers are also being questioned. Why oh why? or being said that just put a passing grade on that student. I don't know already, professionalism and everything already conflicts and for sure learning isn't effective at all in the part of the student.

(Hayy naku, hindi ba pwede na student naman ang mag adjust at gumawa ng paraan para maka download ng modules at makapasa, kasi palagi nalang kami teacher nag a adjust sa lahat ng bagay. Yung grades pa ina adjust namin palagi. Pwede bang kayo naman mag adjust para sa amin. Chaarrr... e kasi this is for student's sake naman and not ours. For effectivity matter.)

That's all for now. Have a great day!!!

Sponsors of Janz
empty
empty
empty

"For my sponsors and those who upvoted my articles. I would like to say my deepest gratitude and happiness for you all since you always keep me inspired and motivated. Thank you so much. More blessings to all of us here. Love you all :) - @Janz

4
$ 3.66
$ 3.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Janz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Janz
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Ok ra na madam. Fighting lang kay mao man lagi nay work as a teacher. Gora lang inahan paras anak.💪 Bitaw, kadugay ba diay kabalik sa kuryente diha madam. Giprioritize unta na no kay school man. Maayu na lang gamay ang Malitbog kay nakasiga naman ang ubang barangay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hapit naman nuon madam, murag mga March makasiga na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naguol ko gahuna huna ate. Lisud na bitaw kaayu ang pamalakad sa school karun. Looy ang mga students and teachers as well are struggling. Busy jud kaayu ka te pero laban ra. 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao lage dear oyyy, pero sige ra ang ka busy is part of growing as professional, charrrr hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa pagkakarun I think the university should be more compassionate sa sa mga students since most of the college students dont have access yet to the internet plus there is a tendency wherein their gadgets are affected by typhoon Odette.

Sa part sa grades sauna rajod na unfair kay kung sa highschool di pwede mohatag 80 kung 90 ra pangutan on pa gani ang teacher nganu mao rana ang grado pero ang college sajun sajunon rag tres. Mahadlok ang university sa mga rich parents na bisan dili deserving mahurot sila tanan tawag sa stage kay with honors haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao gajud maamsh, maka sungot man ng ing ana hahaha,

Ang modular run for the meantime ra kay for sure ug musiga na dili na modular ang university kay way resources way budget

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe ate arang ka hasol. Tungod man gud sa nahitabo pagkahuman ni Odette. Walay kuryente. Walay signal. Lisuda kaayo te. Unta I settle nasad nila para mabalik nas normal. Mao gayud nay main problem run diha sad ate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lisud na makabalik sa normal sel, awww dili najud d i na makabalik sa normal bisan unsaon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Puhon te pero dugay pa kaayo. 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Muabot ra puhon2

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kabusy ba gjud diay ate. Wala pa diay kuryente dihas TO? Paita gajud ng ingana. Maju gani diris Sogod, nakabalik lang dayun. Back to online classes nami, since mostly naa naman signal ug kuryente. Pero sa amo adtos bukids Maasin, next year pa tali hahaha.. Di jud ko mubotars mayor ug di makuryntehan sa amo hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha, bawo Malitbog fyang porya nalang sad sa Mayor ngare

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OH wow, teacher ka pala Maam. Maam na tawag ko sayo. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehehheh wag naman hehe mag sis at bros lang tayo dito sa virtual world hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago