What Happened Last Holiday?

37 88
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

May 3, 2022

The month of May always starts with a holiday because of Labor Day which falls on its first day. Fortunately, the first day of May this year fell on Sunday, so the public holiday was moved to Monday. It gave me two days of rest during the first week of May. 

Prior to this holiday, my friend and I had already planned what to do for this two days holiday, and that was to hike a mountain and visit a beautiful city somewhere in the New Territories away from the main city of Hong Kong. We were excited about our plans, but the weather ruined everything. 

We opted to give ourselves a break and longer sleeping hours last Sunday since it rained the whole day. The cold and rainy weather even made the holiday more boring. And what was more boring was when the weather forecast stated that Monday will also be a rainy day. That totally ruined our whole plan.

Since our plan was canceled, I opted to stay in my bed last Sunday morning and went out late in the afternoon. I posted on noise.cash about my appointment for that day, which was to have an interview with a medical doctor who wants to hire an assistant or Caregiver for her senior mother.

It was an abrupt decision, to be honest, and I was even hesitant to attend the interview. But I just pushed myself as it might help me decide what to do with my current job status. Besides, the job description perfectly matches my qualifications and I was confident I could get the job if I will take it.

After sending the required photos and information on Whatsapp, I set the interview time at 2 in the afternoon, and that was held while I was eating in the restaurant. Since the weather wasn't fine, my only choice was to answer the interview inside a building and the restaurant was a perfect place so I could sit down while talking with the interviewee.

I ordered some hot noodles and slowly eat my lunch so I could stay inside the restaurant until the video interview time.

At 2 in the afternoon, I readied myself for the interview.

Going back to the job description, it says the doctor is looking for a companion or assistant for her active senior mother. The job includes managing emails and WhatsApp and must be fluent in English. I got hooked by the benefits that's why I grabbed this opportunity.

Who doesn't like an easy job with paid vacation anyway? Besides, the old woman is still active and that wouldn't be a stressful one to take care of. Moreover, she also has a maid who will cook for her and my job will be more on assisting her with her daily activities.

I was expecting to talk with the doctor who posted the job, but I heard an old woman's voice in the other line, so I presumed she was the old woman I needed to take care of. She requested me to turn on my camera, but hers was off. So literally, I didn't see her face the whole interview but she was seeing mine.

How was the interview?

Ahm. I was trying to hold my laughter during the interview to show respect to her, lol. And just hearing her voice, I could tell that she's a strict and sophisticated person. I could imagine her face while talking with her in the other line. But as the adage says, "don't judge the book by its cover," so I waited for the interview to end before I jumped to the conclusion.

During the whole interview, all she asked were about my educational background and past work experiences in the Philippines and abroad. I thought I talked so fast as she couldn't catch up well with my answers. Probably because she's old and her hearing sense isn't that fine anymore.

You probably wonder why I said above that I was holding my laughter the whole interview.

She kept complaining about the lagging connection, my way of talking fast, and even the noisy people around me. I tried to slow down and clearly emphasized each word I uttered so she could comprehend them well. But the connection sucks and sometimes she got lost in the line and so was I to hers.

One time she got annoyed by the connection and called my phone "st*pid." I got shocked upon hearing the word and I was like, "wait, did she say st*pid just now?" I didn't mind her words and I even asked for an apology for the lagging connection but she insisted it wasn't my fault but the noisy place and my phone. "Good then. At least she's aware of it." I thought.

Later on, she was already talking some hilarious words and all I thought was, "this oldy is funny," but I tried not to laugh in front of her. She continued complaining every time she can't catch up with me and would blame the people around and called them stupid and noisy. "Poor old Chinese folks. They got blamed and called st*pid." I thought.

She sounds strict, yet funny because of her words. During our interview, she mentioned that she has a nurse and a maid, therefore, I'll be her personal assistant who would handle computer work and probably paperwork as well. I don't even think she needs a Caregiver anymore since she has a nurse. "Rich old woman with three employees at home. Where are her children then?" I asked myself. Probably live separately as they don't want to get stressed with their mom.

At the end part of our interview, I was asked why I am still here in HK since my second contract ended last September 2021. I told her the reasons which include pandemic restrictions and lockdowns. Additionally, I still need to wait for my replacement to come before I go. And I was shocked by her response.

"You are fully qualified for the job, I am willing to hire you and give you the necessary money to process the documents. But your boss is still holding you. Tell her to go to hell!"

And that was the moment that I burst out into laughter but she didn't mind. Either she was joking or serious, she was funny, lol. And I kept laughing after the interview while remembering our conversation. This oldy made my day, lol.

Then the Filipina nurse took the phone and said sorry to me. She said the oldy is really a crazy old woman. I was right after all and that is probably the reason why the doctor is not living with her. And I found out that I was chatting on Whatsapp with her the whole time, not with her daughter. And we exchanged a little conversation that night.

I was asking for the old woman's photo to see how strict her face is but probably due to privacy reasons, she didn't send it and just told me a Filipina actress who looks like her. I wasn't sure though if this nurse was just joking because that Filipina actress she was referring to looks scary, lol. Moreover, I found out that the previous worker had resigned and I will be replacing her position. And it made me think that the old woman is probably toxic because the assistant won't resign without a reason. Even the nurse and maid are quite new as well. Therefore, no workers are staying longer with her.

I didn't ask further questions anymore after that night. I could imagine her as an old woman who likes spitting profanity words and yelling at her employees. At least, my current boss never do that. She's annoying at times, but not monstrous. And I made up my mind and already know what to do

What do you think is my decision?

But let me ask you, would you rather have a good boss but a busy job, or a monstrous boss but an easy job? Stress physically or mentally?

Share your answer below. Thanks for stopping by.

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

32
$ 11.80
$ 10.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Crackers
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 20
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Nkakatuwa naman si convo ninyo. Sana magtuloy tuloy k p diyan sis. Ingat lgi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pati ako natatawa na sa matanda HAHA Feel ko mabait naman siya pero still 'dont judge a book by its cover' diba

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She sounds scary and yung papalit-palit yung staff nya, may something ata, lol! Can't say though, just like you said, don't judge a book by its cover. I guess you've made up your mind na hehe. All the best!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

baka maging vibes pa kayo madam hih malay mo tapos maganda naman pala ino offer

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Iwan..haha. Nagresign nga yung isa eh 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wait hahahaha tawang tawa ko sa sinabi na yung aswang hahaha lt wola hahahahaha grabe pero matanda na kasi tyaka ano talaga haha madami na siguro experience tapos ansungit haha di ako tatagal sa ganyan haha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

May inalagaan ako sa pinas dati na lalaki..yung asawa parang ganysn..hndi ko na binalikan 🤣.1 week lng ako dun..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The old woman sounds like she's really strict but I love the fact that she's funny as well. The job looks really solid and has an enticing benefit, not to mention the fact that it's also very easy! I guess the only problem you will have with working for her is her strict nature

$ 0.01
1 year ago

And other workers there 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I could imagine the funny moment with you. Even the reply she gave you that your boss should go to hell was so funny that I was just smiling here. You got the job but how would you cope with someone you presume to be strict, yet funny? Lol

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I don't know too .. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohh, ito pala yung question mo kahapon sa noise ano. But I will still choose the monstrous boss but an easy job. I think ganyan na talaga ang mga oldies. Parang may pagka eccentric ba, ganorn. Pero if you know them better parang may mas malalim na rason why they are being like that. Charizzzz. Naaalala ko lang yong pocketbook na nabasa ko. Ganito din sya, masyado syang mahirap pakisamahan kaya walang nagtatagal. Sa huli nakahanap sya ng taong aassist sa kanya na may mahabang pasensya talaga despite her ugali. In the end they become close din with each other. Malay mo ganyan din mangyari sayo, chorrrr haha. Tas sa pocketbook pala na nabasa ko may apo sya na masungit gwapo HAHAHA. Yun nakatuluyan nong assistant ni oldie dun HAHAHA. Skl naman.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Sana may gwapong apo si matanda 🤣🤣.. Kaso mga chikiting pa ata haha. Pero madam, sa pocketbook lng yan 🤧🤧

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ma attitude naman nyan hahaha not worth ata ipalit sa boss mo ngayon.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kya nga. Pro hayahay ang work haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmm. I am here weighing your options and trying to see what your choice was from all what you have said. I would say you decided to take the job as it is at home and you find the woman funny even though she is strict. plus the holiday too . After all, there is the issue of her not holding you back anytime you want to quit.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Are you sure? 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm thinking you're not taking the job.. But on the other hand, I know you can deal with her, no matter how bossy she might be, so, I'm not sure

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha.. not sure

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hala ma iistress ka kay Lilia Kuntapay sis wag na lang. Mukang may Iba pang character yan bukod sa pagiging aswang, este, sa pagiging maanghang ang bunganga. Pag sensitive ka, Di ka talaga tatagal dyan. Pero syempre nasa sayo pa din ang decision.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ayun.. Emotional akong tao..haha..didibdibin sasabihin ng iba. Kya madali mastress lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Malaking ekis yan sis, wag na dyan. Take care of your mental health

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wound rather choose the hard job than being with montrous employer . Ahaha pano tayo mapapanatag at ma inspire sa trbho kng ganyan dn nmn ung employer. Hahaha natawa ako sa let ur employer go to hell. Hahaa

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kaloka tlagang matanda

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me I think I rather have a good boss but a busy job rather than a monstrous boss and easy job because I am not really also good at keeping my emotions in😅. I hope that granny is just funny and not really strict because it's quite hard to be an assistant to the people whose always angry. Good luck on that I hope you it will be a good and prefect job for you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

By the way, at firstt our public holiday is not scheduled to a working day just because that public holiday falls on Sunday. But honestly all children desires it more than anything else in the world including me.

Regarding that, I would say I want a good boss with a busy job. And, even if I will get a monstrous boss I must say she/he would be more terrified of my monstrosity haah.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Haha.. Exactly

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think you've decided to take the Job. She might be bossy and all, but she's no match with your determinaation. Just guessing🤣... Goodluck ate, i pray whatsoever decision you take favours you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha. Let's see 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Feeling ko mag-stay ka dyan sa work mo madam natawa din ako sa convo nyo 🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha tingnan natin 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This one is hilarious ah! I think you grab the job offer I feel lang gawa ng conversation with the nurse. Pero whatever the decision is this experience is something that needs to be shared talaga!

Thank you for the laugh.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

As for me, I would rather to have a busy job with a good boss than to have an easy job and yet I have a toxic boss. Physically stress is better than mentally stress. Mentally stress is one of the most worsts feeling of a worker, you can't do your job properly . You can't focus to any of your tasks due to stress. It is hard to work if you're mentally stress, it would literally drain your energy from within. Mentally stress is quite similar with depression and we all know that a person under depression can't do anything but quiet. Anyway by the way that old woman behave, I think something is wrong with her behaviour.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

True.. Kung pagod lng..pwd ipahinga.. Kpg mental stress, hirap mawala

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ano ba yan bakit kelangan maging complicated pa kasi ng choices pero natawa ako sa go to hell nya haha!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ako nga grabe tawa after ng interview..kalokang matanda🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago