Unboxing My First Taobao Online Orders

37 83
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

September 15, 2022

I've been seeing posts about Shoppee online orders from various users here, and I've been wanting to try ordering online myself. However, I do not want to become addicted to it, so I chose not to install the app. I recently decided to declutter and reorganize my room. When I heard the young Chinese lady mention her intention to order online on Taobao, I asked her if she could buy for me as well, and we could split the shipping cost. She, fortunately, agreed.

Taobao is one of the biggest online shops here in Hong Kong, originated in China, and shipping orders to other Chinese places like Taiwan, Macau, and more. That is similar to Alibaba but customers can purchase single items on Taobao, unlike Alibaba which is mainly used for purchasing wholesale. The shipping fee is much lower too.

One of the products I have in mind that I want to order includes wallpaper for my room. Unfortunately, the one I chose can not be shipped to Hong Kong for some reason. So instead of ordering products for my room, I opted to go for accessories for my photography hobby.

It was a week ago when we placed orders online. And yesterday, when the Chinese lady arrived home, she was hugging a huge bulk of boxes wrapped with tapes. Those were our orders online. Mine was only two and hers was many, lol.

She unboxed the small one and gave me the bigger box. I was confused about why it was heavy and big, as I was expecting only a smaller size for my order.

This was my second order. Guess what's inside it? The box is quite fancy and even great to use for gift-giving, haha. I guess I now know what to gift to my partner at Christmas.

The package was well-wrapped with a tootsie pop wrapper as it was marked fragile. There you go, the crystal ball I ordered for photography. I was expecting a smaller size since I chose the 10 cm option. The prices vary depending on the size, and the 10 cm size fits my budget for it, so I chose it.

The smaller box was for macro photography, and I so love the lens. Unfortunately, the clip is shorter than I expected and it doesn't fit with my phone's camera. It includes a box and a lens cleaning sheet.

Yet, it fits my old phone's camera so it won't be a waste.

I paid HK$76 for these two orders, which are equivalent to less than US$10 or PHP 551. But since my crystal ball was quite heavy (it is heavy and enough to break a skull, lol), I paid 88% of the shipping fee. It wasn't as expensive as I thought, and was only HK$34 for all orders, including the Chinese lady's. In total, I paid HK$105 for these two orders, or less than US$15.


Just this morning, I tried using these two, and I like the results.  On Sunday, I would try more angles and spots at the park nearby using the crystal ball.

I suddenly tried using the macro camera on my current phone to compare it to the old phone using the macro lens. The first photo is from my old phone using a macro lens, and the second one is from my current phone.

Which do you think is better and looks more natural? 😅 The photos are raw and have no color enhancement. I guess the Samsung camera on my old phone is still better, lol.


That concludes my online purchases. Do you remember my plan to purchase a DSLR camera? I've been mulling over whether to pursue it or buy a laptop instead. I realized it is more useful to me now that I am blogging. Furthermore, my photos will be safer if they are saved on my laptop. I'm just waiting for something, and hopefully, I'll be able to buy a new laptop before the end of the year so that I can save for the DSLR camera next year. These are gifts for myself, and I would be overjoyed if I could buy them all. Then comes the drone next. I hope so 😊.

Autumn is coming and my buddy confirmed that she'll be available by next month. And yes! We will back to traveling ☺.

Thanks for dropping by and happy Thursday 😊.


**(Check out the new nois.app here and let's be connected. noise.app/Jane1289)**

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Ecency PeakD Torum •Twitter

23
$ 7.56
$ 6.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
+ 17
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Woaaahhh ganda ate ng crsytall ball parang gusto ko tuloy bumili ahh ❤️❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

mas na appreciate ko yung Crystal ball

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dun na lang ako sa cyrstal ball hehe. Un clip on lens kasi dapat matest muna talaga. Un nabili ko din di masyadong compatible sa phone ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's good you received your order safely, I really like the crystal ball you ordered for photography.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The first one looks more natural. Anong model na samsung ang gamit mo sis? Cutie ng mga nabili moooooooo huhue

$ 0.00
1 year ago

upvote for the samsung image hahaha. biased ako ... enjoy your new toys Jane!!!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Your photography with the crystal ball looks so great and beautiful 😍, but if it's heavy then how can you manage to bring it outside? Does it really heavy? Anyway the first photo is better than the second one. I like the colour as it's more green. And I think you should buy a laptop first before buying a camera as you really need it to store your photos 👍.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Kaya nga.. Oo ang bigat 🤣 kya bumiyak ng ulo haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yey, more cool photos! I bought macro lens too investment ko na rin hehe. Good thing nabawi ko na pinambayad ko hehe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ano ginawa mo? Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nagpost dito at sa H ive haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I still like the camera outcome from your old phone as it looks sharper. I love what you bought for yourself and it's so cool.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, I think so too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woww you really had great experience of receiving your parcel. These macro lense in 10-15 USD are reasonable perhaps I will also buy it because love the picture your capture with macro lense

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hala ang angas may ganyan pala wao hmm wahaha ayoko na kasi mag install ng shopee or any online shop app haha nakakabudol malala haha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kya nakisuyo lang ako 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

the samsung image for me sis...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay ang galing ,meron palanh ganyan ilagay sa camera no😍 Anyway same feels ako about sa shoppee ,hindi ako nag install baka kung ano ano lang ma order ko ,nagpapa order nalang ako sa pamangkin ni asawa kapag may kailangang orderen.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha..same reason....bka magaya sa iba.monthly omorder

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The old phone looks shaper than the new phone. I'm planning to get a new phone for myself by December to, it will be a personal "well done" gift to myself.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Good luck to it 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love the lens and its result (you have shown) is awesome. I hope I will see some other photography of yours using lens.. Unfortunately, Taobao not working in my country Pakistan.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Madam mas maganda yong sa old phone mo. Nakaka engganyo mag buy ng lens din huehue ang ganda pa rin ng kuha naka focus talga sya ee. Maka hanap nga sa shopepe ng ganito

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yung ball bilhin no hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha mahal naman madam aguy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I want to buy such lens attachments for macro photography and wide-angle photographs, but I am not sure about the results. The macro picture results here are positive, the raindrops look good, but for the real result, I think it is necessary to try it on insects. :D

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah.. Gonna look some on weekend 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Guess what's inside it?

I was thinking it's a DSLR camera 😆 I didn't know before now that macro lens can be bought and attached to a phone, my phone has 4 camera lenses and one of them is a macro lens, so I thought it just comes with most modern phones.

I agree that a laptop is more important for now (I thought you have one before?), You can be using your phone for photography pending when you buy a DSLR camera

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I have..but useless.. I forgot the password..can't retrieve it.. When I found a solution, can't see the charger.. I guess I included it in my box that was sent to the Philippines 🤣.. My phone has 4 lenses too and a macro lens. Sometimes it's not working so I opt to buy a macro lens.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess I included it in my box that was sent to the Philippines

🤣 Another problem comes up once one is solved

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thus, my laptop is totally useless...lol..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's not possible to buy a new charger?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't know. It costly here.. Rather buy a new laptop...that one is too old anyway

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow ang ganda naman miss Jane. Maganda yan pag taking photos na. Unique for sure ang mga kuha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Not sure.. One time ko plng ginamit.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Excited kami makita ang result miss Jane.

$ 0.00
1 year ago