The Man I Have Wasted

38 103
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

March 6, 2021

Switching to a different mode of writing,
so take out your dictionary 🀣
This story happened after the painful 
breakup with my first love.

Start...

The wounded heart was still fresh and untreated, and I still found myself stuck in the painful past that should be dead and buried. Forcing to relinquish him from my mind was strenuous and would take a plethora of time just like how to conquer an arduous climb. It would be great if I will see a beautiful picturesque above, but the shadow of the past still lingers in my heart and was engraved deeply in my mind.

At that state of mind, jumping from the mountain's top to commit hara-kiri was the only thing I could think, to avoid falling into the hands of an indelible memory. If only I could efface the painful past, I wouldn't be stuck in the doomed place of yesterday. It was expected to be tough to heave myself from the aching past, but my body was hesitant to move forward on its own accord.

But one day a man stepped in, our sights collide but I cut my eyes as I heard the thump coming from the upper left quadrant of my body underneath my woven clothes. I was getting abnormal as the core of my system was still malfunctioning from the untreatable breakup. "Who's this man?" The question echoed in my mind.

A friend has told me that he was a newbie, and as I looked at him, he seemed to be as old as me. Even the production went silent for a moment, as he passed by with his hoodies on, eyes were down, and hands in his pockets. Walking straight to his cubicle with cool intensity, unawarely receiving furtively stares from the people in the prod. And only the onomatopoeia of the keyboards was heard inside the prolific room.

Days passed by and I found myself being part of a new circle of friends. Peers that helped me continue my life's journey. The once solitude space was filled with cheerful fellas throwing confetti in the air. The after-work routine was changed - bed-office-trips - a cycle that seemed to be like a circadian rhythm. Food trips and sing-along, road trips with laugh trips, diverting my weary feeling to a lively one. The heartbreak brought me to a new world with a new set of friends, indeed it was a blessing in disguise.

Months have passed, another set of friends onboarded on our noisy group. From four individuals it became seven, then nine. The more the merrier, but what seemed peculiar was the newbie in the group - the hoodie guy with his hands in his pockets. His closeness to our second set of friends brought him into our circle. He's smart with a face, that even our gay officemate was hooked by his smile. He was an unlicensed teacher seeking a different world, a different job, just like many others in our firm.

Days became months, from introvert to ambivert, from being alone to having company. Past painful memories were starting to fade, but the figure of the man who brought me in despair couldn't be washed in my mind and still tucked me in vain. Closeness with the hoodie guy was formed and he was showing some affection motive in his actions. Should I entertain him?

My mind agreed but my heart didn't. To make him a band-aid to patch my wounded heart would be the worst option. The days passed by and we were getting more closer. I treated him as a friend but he treated me differently. Afraid I was to fall into a black hole of pain again, so holding onto my words "not to fall in love again" was tightly executed.

To dump him with despair was tough to do because a feeling of admiration for his perseverance was starting to show. Each day with him I always asked myself, "will I be happy in this journey?" My mind told me that life is a river and I should keep going, and I should make it a wonderful journey. But something was like pulling the string of my past and was deterring me to move forward.

How can I move on if I am hesitant to take a step? I asked myself.

Go with the flow and see how far we both could go. The next day I woke up, I was in the field of courtship. The guy just pulled out his hoodie and showed his optimistic face. I just hopped in and take the ride, hoping to make the journey bright.

Wanna know how the courtship goes? That would be the next part.

If you have read the last series of my article To All The Boys I Love Before: Status In Relationship you know who I am referring to.

Sorry for making the words complicated, I feel like I want to write differently πŸ˜… The power of synonyms 🀣

Lead image from https://www.pinterest.com/khantphyowin/couple-cartoon-photo/

11
$ 3.75
$ 3.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Yen
+ 1
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

Comments

Ung magandang author is someone in the medical field who tried to fool her hypothalamus but her heart's heartbeat cant deny it...ayyeeeh kilig na sana pero wait tumatanda na ata aq at nagiging ulyanin na,,basahin q ulit ung story

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Haha...iwan kung kikiligin b ako jan.. Nahurt nga lng.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sobrang hurt nga nung past mo . ..Well maybe this guy this time will be the one who can suture the broken heart of yours...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Past narn yan. Tagal na. Nkahanap narn ng iba

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aray naman Yung title. Malay mo Naman , sa tamang panahon .

$ 0.03
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Kaya ngayon ayaw na magmahal ulit 🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ai naku. Wag ganon! Masarap magmahal.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I have been there and I have seen and lived through all this. This is a really difficult time and the interesting thing is that even though I know what you are talking about I can't even imagine what you felt. Fortunately my case turned out for better.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

This happens long time ago . haha. Am totally free now. No worries and pain

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kay lalim ng mga words but it makes more interesting. AND while I was reading the sentences maiintindihan pa din without checking google/dictionary πŸ˜…pero lalim talaga 😁😁waiting for the continuation 😊

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Kpg nsa mood ako.. Minsan tlga napapalalim.. Hilig dn naman ako jan dati nung nsa pinas pa ako..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay totoo? Ikaw na talaga ang brainy πŸ‘πŸ˜πŸ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I saw your other side here ate! It's nice reading new vibe of your writing hehe Multitalented din talaga! Anyway, nakakabitin po :<<< Waiting for next part!

$ 0.05
3 years ago

At salamat sa pagdaan 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

worth it naman po kasing basahin lahat ng article niyo 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Salamat 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love the new vibes of writing, i dont know this was a series.. Beautiful love story, i hope things will for out for the both of you... Aww, if it makes you happy, why not?

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Sa past to... Naalala ko lng 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay uu nga pala. Sigh. Sayang. Hanap na ng present 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

strenuous, plethora, hara-kiri, indelible, furtively, onomatopoeia 😡, sana po may dictionary 😡, so deep deeper from the dip and omoo. Ako na sumuko sa dami ng unfamiliar word 😡.

Bat kasi sinayang madam ? 🀦

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Strenuous-hard or difficult Plethora- a lot of

Hara-kiri - something like committing suicide

Indelible - unable to erase from your memory

Furtively - something like quietly

Onomatopoeia? Seriously? πŸ˜… those are the names formed from the sound of an object or anything .. Example ticktack (sounds of the ticking clock) boom (sound of an explosion) .. Etc.. 😁

May mga tanong na hirap sagutin. At isa yan dun sa pinagsisihan ko na hndi ko tinanggap

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ma ss nga baka magamit ko din to haha.

Baka kasi hindi talaga kayo. Hindi pa sya ang para sayo, basta't maghintay ka lamang.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha.. Kanta yung unang pumasok sa isip ko jan sa basta't maghintay ka lamang 🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wahahaha, pakanta nga yan ee haha. How about @wrabbiter nalang kashe? πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't see seriousness in him..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Un lang, walang effort ano?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You should make this into a full-length novel, then publish it as an ebook. This is good.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thanks . It's just a short story . next part will be the last one.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Galing mo talaga miss jane, Go fellow writerπŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi lou1e,, nakahide yun comment mo.. This is damelindz.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Spam na account nya, I guess matagal sya inactive

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, sya yun nabanggit ko sayo noon. Magaling pa naman syang writer. You can see on her articles..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah I remember, and yes shea good writer..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Go Ms. Jane until such time you are ready, it will be worth to try.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

This was 10yrs ago 🀣 still not ready kht ngayon lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay pabitin naman si madam janeπŸ˜‚..yun pagkakadecribe mo sa kanya, nakikita ko is yun mga oppa sa korean dramaπŸ˜‚.

Anyways, yun minsan pagkakamali natin, yun takot na magmahal ulit after a painful break up,although understandable naman yun. But then again, it is better to love and get hurt than to never love at all. Parang trial and error lang yan. Until you find you perfect match.. Hehehe, just saying..

$ 0.05
3 years ago

You'll gonna find out in the next part.. Haha. .. Pro isa sya sa pinagsisisihan ko na hndi tinanggap. Bsta next part nlng 🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha,, totga.. Will wait for the next part!

$ 0.00
3 years ago