Solo Exploration In The Giant City

52 107
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

June 4, 2021

The Run Away Girl Found A Job (Part 1)

The Suicidal Me

Days have passed and I was still jobless and lonely. The thoughts about the wasted time and opportunities kept on running in my mind. I was struggling with regrets and depression and even thought to commit suicide. It was my first time being too far from my family and not even sure if I will survive in the giant and most toxic city in my country. Manila the dream city of many, but what lies behind are millions of untold stories. Stories of struggles, suicides, corruption, crimes, poverty, a perilous place that a child wouldn't have happy childhood memories.

Who would have thought that I will live in a place that I dreamed to visit when I was young. But as I stepped into it, I have regretted dreaming about the city as I saw how tough life was inside my once dream place. All I have wanted was to end my strenuous journey and go back to my family, to my safe home. I attempted to suicide but was an epic fail. I thought of the pain once I cut my wrist. I thought of my family, my mother, that will cry so hard once she found my cold body.

I Was Saved By My Dream

In the corner of the darkroom I shed tears, I shed tears and made sure it will be all drained so that next time I won't cry again. With all the remaining hope I had, I tried to fight the monster clawing in my mind. I thought of my goal, my dream, my family, my brighter future. I did not give up and decided to get up and continued to pursue my purpose of staying in the giant city.

The Solo Exploration Begin

February 2017

I was still hoping that the HK Agency will accept my requirements. I searched the agency online and with the help of Google Maps, I explored the giant city and look for the agency. It was located in Makati and it was my first time stepping into this city. It was February 21 to be exact when I submitted my requirements. That day I've met applicants for Hong Kong and later I found out that they were from Samar too, and I felt happy.

March 2017

I was already bored and impatient staying inside my room the whole day. I was a bit worried too that the agency might ignore my application since I submitted my requirements too late. March 21, a month after my submission of the requirements. I did not receive any call yet from the agency. I was already worried. What if they rejected my application?

March 23, I got impatient, so I applied to another agency. March 26, I decided to follow up on my application and emailed the HK agency as well as my interviewer, but to no avail. There was no response so I called the agency instead.

April 2017

I felt happy when I received an email from the agency but I was disappointed to learn that my application was still pending. If I have only submitted my requirements the month of my interview, I should have an employer earlier. That was the biggest mistake I have done.

The co-Samarnon I've met already got an employer and will be going to HK by May. I envy her as she got an employer too quickly. That was because she submitted her requirements right away. It was my fault why I was still jobless by that time.

I searched for other agencies looking for Caregivers and I submitted my applications online.

Running Out Of Fund

My money was running out and I was ashamed to ask for money from my father since they also need money at home. His lending business did not succeed and what's left was my mother's store as their source of income. All I have were my gold jewelry I always bring with me wherever I go because I know it will be helpful in case of emergency.

I have pawned some of my jewelry to survive in the giant city and to continue my exploration and applications to different agencies.

May 2017

I just can't stay in Manila forever, so through the POEA site, I gathered all agencies in Manila accepting Caregiver applicants bound to Hong Kong. Instead of applying online, I visited the agencies one at a time, sometimes, if the agencies were just few walks away from each other, I will visit them all.

Why HK and not other countries?

Because HK is a stepping stone to Canada which was my dream place to work or to live.

While searching about the agencies, I found out that POEA was hiring Caregivers bound to Japan, my other dream place to visit. The place is located in Cubao which was quite far from the place where I stay, Taguig City. But with the help of the internet and Google Maps, again, I searched about how to get to POEA. I gathered all the requirements and submitted my application the next day. The staff told me that the result will be released after a month.

But I don't want to rely on it, because my expectation might fail again. So I continued applying in other agencies bound to HK. I got into places like Makati, Pasay, Padre Faura, Pedro Gil, Quirino, BGC, Ermita, and other cities of Metro Manila and the farthest one was Cubao.

Waiting For The Dawn

After a long and tiring day, I always found myself sitting along the bay behind Mall Of Asia, and the terminal for jeepneys going to Taguig was located just beside the Mall. It's a perfect place to wait for the sunset. I was alone, while people around me have their own company - couples that are sweet with each other, a group of friends playing around, kids running with their playmates, and parents are so keen and vigilant watching over their kids.

It was Ate Emily who taught me how to get to this place, since then, it became one of my favorite places in Manila. The photo was taken by Ate Emily during our first visit to this place. And I even wished to ride on that giant Ferris wheel.

Each time I saw the sun going down, I felt sad with the thought that time flies so fast and I was still jobless. For how long will I wait? I always ask myself.

One day my father called me and told me to go back home. But I don't want to give up because I have traveled a long journey already. I don't want to waste my efforts anymore and I might miss another opportunity.

A Call For Duty

My previous employer in Tacloban City called me one day and asked me to go back to my duty because they were having difficulty finding a reliever. But I didn't and just stayed in Manila.

I received several calls from different agencies and I thought I'll gonna have a job already. I answered different interviews through my phone, but all were looking for a babysitter, not a Caregiver. Of course, I have rejected all.

Until one day I found an agency, they were conducting interviews by that time. With no hesitation, I went inside and submitted my resume. It was an interview where I need to face a camera and everything was recorded. Because of my educational level and job experiences, the interviewer hired me on the spot and he told me to wait for a call the day after.

The next day, my supposed to be employer in Hong Kong called me for an interview. She said I will be going to take care of her mother. BUT, at the same time, I will help them with cooking and doing other chores. At first, I said yes even though I'm not good at cooking because I was desperate to get a job. But later when I was about to submit my credentials, I wasn't feeling well and my mind was telling me not to pursue it. I thought of it a million times if I will pursue it or not. And my instinct felt something bad about my soon-to-be employer.

The job order was already there, why do I need to be choosy?

To be continued...

Lead image source here

27
$ 7.37
$ 6.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @eommaZel
+ 12
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Wiw..prng d q keri pag ako ang singol jeje.. push ng push and never gave up..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganun naman tlga. never give up 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

such a strong independent woman!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a strong woman, I loved to read this and can feel it. Wosh you nothing less than a great lifeπŸ’œ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. I guess yours too. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you fight with all your might cause it will be a fight worth fighting for. Nagets mo ba.. basta Yun na Yun haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napost na last part sis. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aning title babasahin ko Hindi ko ata na pansin Kasi marami Rami na Yung nasa notif ko may 2days or 3 days ago na nga medyu bc Kasi sa tesda course ko lately 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure naman na happy ending to ate kaya babasahin ko. Ang haba ng story tapos to be continued pa hahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha. Sorry πŸ˜… ayun na post na last part

$ 0.00
2 years ago

grabe yung struggle mo dito tapos mag isa ka pa. Buti na lang talaga mas pinili mo magpakastrong kundi wala kaming kilalang Jane dito na supportive at nag iinspire ng ibang writers.

And then nung nag eenjoy na ko magbasa sa journey mo biglang -----------------to be continued. haha. Nambibitin ka sis eh

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Huhu salamat.. Yung last part out na.. Tinapus ko na ang drama 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabeeeee yung mga pinagdaanan mo te. I can't see myself na magagawa ko yung ganyan, strong naman ako pero hindi kasing strong mo! Andaming struggles parang hindi ko makakaya pag ganyan. Nakakainspired po ate, pangarap mo noon, nandyan ka na ngayon. I'm happy for you! :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Salaat.. Brw. Yung last part ay napublish na 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eh? Bakit wala po sa notif ko? I'll visit nalang tomorrow, antok na po e haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Iwan.. Not found knina. Loko na system..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, This is so inspiring to me also. Waiting for the next article. Girls like you are really great! Best of luck Jane 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. so inspiring nmn this girl. Andami mo nang pingdaanan at yan ang isa sa mga dahilan kung bakit ka matatag ngayon Waiting for the next part na ko hehehe. By the way dream ko din dti mkapunta ng Manila. Pero habang umeedad nawalan ako ng gana sa mga balita na nkikita at nririnig ko. πŸ˜…

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wag na madam.. Much better pa province kesa Manila.. πŸ˜…πŸ€£ puputi nga. Stress naman 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm elated!!! Just kept resonating on your story. I can't imagine the trolls and toils you passed through. I am glad you never gave up, even when your father called you back home. Waiting patiently for your next post.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wooow! Your journey is inspirational for someone like me. I mean-- even though I'm still a fresh graduate, my thoughts are wild already. Not having a job and facing reality are really a downgrade onto someone's life and dream. We do get wild thoughts at night about what we should do with our life or even questions like "Am i doing my best already?" But really, our own dreams can save us to our thoughts, our goals in life and our family. And reading your story, I am happy of what you've became, and even proud for you. :) and I hope that you'll stay much stronger that you are today. :D

$ 0.05
2 years ago

If you know me here like others, then I guess, you know my current situation 😁.thanks for reading and it's overwhelming to learn that my article inspires you.. Just have faith in yourself and you will be able to get the job that you wanted. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a newbie here! Hehe tho I know you already on noise cash. And really, your article are too inspirational for me. It gives hope.. and thank you for that. Don't worry! I'll do my best as well! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

JullyAnn's sister? I just saw her short post 😁 welcome here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po! Hehe thank you so much! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Luh. I got goosebumps after reading this. 😹 Grabe. Ang dami mo talagang pinagdaanan din. Nakakaamaze. Ang tibay mo po talaga. XD Pero worth it din lahat ng hirap at sacrifices eh. Hahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Naread mo part 1? πŸ˜… Thanks... Habang sinusulat ko to. D ko iniexpect na ganun hirap nangyari sakn bago makarating dto..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi pa. Hahaha Part 2 agad ako eh. 🀣 Basahin ko palang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jane salute to you! Matapang din ako pero di passing taping mo. Grabe madam! Very nice naman sharing this. 😘

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nainspire sa articlr ni jonjon .kya ayan ..tinuloy tuloy ko na ishare lahat experiences ko bago makarating dto. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabing haba ng nilakbay mo bago makarating ny gosh 😱. Parang ayaw ng tandhana na patuluyin ka sa ibang bansa. Ang dami mo talagang pinag daanan pero sulit naman siguro after months of waitint no.

Next adventure na agad πŸ’ͺ

$ 0.03
2 years ago

More than six months pagala gala sa Manila. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nasaulo mo naman na ata angMm Manila ee. Ayos na iyon haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Desperately waiting for next part full of inspiration

$ 0.03
2 years ago

And be ready for a quiz with a prize 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can not imagine how much struggle we need to do for success in life.. But your situation is fully different than other dear i think because your previous article job story and now makes me think how you manage those days?? Shit,look forward to read more to get inspiration..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The next will be the last 🀣 thanks for reading btw 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This give me inspiration abt my life tooπŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa dami na ng pinagdaanan mo, dinaig mo pa nito si dora. Haha kidding a side, itong mga pinagdaanan mo pwedeng maging inspirasyon lalo na sa mga taong nawawalan na ng pag-asa. Patunay na kapag nagpursige ka makukuha mo ano man ang gusto mo.

P. S. Hintayin ko next adventure mo.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Promise last part na yun 🀣. Sana nga mainspire yung iba.. As in sobrang hirap nun.. Yung tipong halos libutin ko na buong MM mkahanap lng matining agency. Pro nsa malapit ko lng pla 🀣 sa iba kc nakatingin eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lesson learned. Huwag ng tumingin sa malayo. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pro malayo naman narating ko 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo. Haha πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are amazingly tough and independent! And you have an interesting story to tell :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Napapabasa kna tuloy 🀣 mas madami pa yan sa nkaraan lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have a bit of leisure time today :) Then mas maraming babasahin sa susunod :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobrang hirap makapagtapos pero mas mahirap talaga maghanap at magtrabaho. Sa pagaaral pwedeng palaro-laro ka lang pero sa trabaho bawal na. Mas nakakastress kapag unemployed dahil mas nakakpressure yun. Yun din kinakabahala ko sa future.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Sobra.. Unless my backer ka sa govt sectors . pro mukhang okay naman cguro magiging future mo 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana nga okay. Pero sa ngayon parang di pa. Parang di ko nga magagamit pinagaralan ko eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago