No Tech For A Week

37 84
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

September 6, 2022

Can We Live Without Technology For A Week?

This was once a prompt on another platform that I failed to participate in. Now to ask you this question, can you live without technology for a week?

From morning to afternoon, until night, we are always holding our phones or slacking in front of the screen. We are like 24/7 connected to technology. And since we are into blogging and doing more stuff online, we tend to get less rest and quality time with ourselves and our families. Do you even read a Bible or surf on Facebook? Do you prefer to walk in nature or stay inside a mall? Do you prefer to manually do things at home or use machines?

It is undeniable that technology brought so much comfort and convenience to our lives. Yet, we often take important things for granted and even forget to focus more on vital aspects of our lives. We need more rest and recuperating, more quality time with loved ones, and restoring our lives. We need a peaceful mind.

No Tech For A Week, what to do then?

However, no tech for a weak means a boring life. No music, no movies, no blogging, and no online interaction. I can imagine myself looking out of the window most of the time just to entertain my eyes with a scenic view outside. What will I do then? Let's imagine we have no work too for a week. How will you spend it to make it worthwhile?

Declutter Unnecessary Stuff

I mentioned in one of my articles that I have a cluttered room due to a lack of time and busyness. I would start the week by decluttering unnecessary stuff and making all things clean and organized. That would be great to see a spacious place and organize things before doing anything else. It would give me a peaceful mind and a comfortable space as well.

Read Bible

This is something I want to make if I'll take a break from technology. I am guilty knowing that I am a Catholic, yet, I know less about the Bible content. I can't remember the last time I read it or if I even completed reading it. It also takes devotional time to absorb everything from the Bible. That will be possible if we take a break from technology because there'll be no distractions.

Meditate and Exercise

As mentioned above, there'll be no online distractions so it'll be perfect to do meditation as well. I've been yearning for this but always fail to accomplish it because I tend to spend my spare time on online side hustles. Meditation is a great exercise as well. But I would also like to do a jog early in the morning or in the afternoon at the nearby park.

Read Books

Reading books would be the best way to entertain me since I can't listen to music or watch movies. We have a lot of books here at home by famous authors and I guess I will be motivated to write more fiction stories in mind after reading them.

Practice Painting

I love art, even if it doesn't love me, lol. I like drawing, sewing, and making DIYs and crafts but one thing I want to learn is painting, the real one not digital. One week would be enough to learn painting. I've been eyeing art materials in a bookshop nearby. If I'll have this one-week break, I would definitely buy them and practice painting. It's too embarrassing that my little sister is even good at me, both digital and real painting using all kinds of paint materials, lol.

Write Articles And Update My Diary

No phone for a week, will this be possible? Of course, yes. We can write stories and articles not just through phones. I guess that would be a great time to turn back to the traditional way of writing. It's been a long time since I wrote a long story, that was in my diary in 2019. I could probably write more articles in the absence of my phone and finally update my diary as I have a lot of things to write about.

Cook My Favorite Foods

This will be perfect to practice cooking as well. I have a lot of food in mind to cook if this happens, that includes my favorites. Having full-time work, we often rush things and can't even cook well because we don't want to be late for work or miss something. I guess, one week will be great to taste those foods we are craving to eat.

Travel More!!

This will be great to put in the end. Travel more for a week!! That would be awesome and exciting. You guys probably know me as a Hodophile who loves traveling. In one week with no technology, the best way to watch and capture beautiful episodes and sceneries is in nature. I know it's great to capture them with my camera, but I guess I could bring my art materials and paint the scenic view instead. Imagining about a week of travel, many on my bucket list would be crossed out. That would be amazing!

How to handle them all?

One week isn't enough to achieve them all, don't you think so? Of course, it's always a matter of time management. Everything can be managed and organized according to the right plan.

In the morning after doing personal care routine would be great to read a Bible, meditate, and jog outside. It will be followed by cooking my favorite food and then rest for a while. After resting, I would start cleaning my place and declutter unnecessary stuff. It's more comfortable and relaxing to the eyes if my place is clean and organized.

The remaining time would be great to read books or practice painting or do some crafts or DIY. One day isn't enough to master painting so I could do it during my spare time throughout the week. At night before sleeping would be perfect for writing articles or updating my diary. It would also be great to write down in my diary my one-week story in the absence of technology.

After writing, at least an article a night and updating my diary, I would sleep earlier than my usual time of sleeping. It will be perfect to Sleep More as I always lack sleep due to online side hustles. No phone means more time to sleep early.

Then the remaining days would be spent traveling. We only have 7 days in a week so I would probably go for a trip every alternately and that would be 3 or 4 times a week. That's enough to recuperate and relax.


Those will be the things I want to do if I opt to take a break for a week from technology. I know it's easier said than done. But if we really want to make it, we can do it. Many have even survived for many years without it and their lives are much healthier and happier. There's a saying, "if there's a will, there's a way."

Thanks for stopping by.


Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

29
$ 6.45
$ 6.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 15
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I would definitely sleep and just eat and read books if that happens, yet sldo I can't imagine myself for a week without technology haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Back in the days we don't even have much of techs lying around, people generally spend more time outdoors and converse with each other to eliminate boredom. My phone and laptops are the main tech tools I use every day and I know I can do without them for a week, it will actually be a good thing coz I will now be forced to spend time outside and do things I won't normally do when my phone and laptop are with me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Reading your article I thought about everything I've been doing all these days away from technology. I am currently moving and I don't have internet in the new house and I don't have internet in my phone either, which makes me be far away from technology, from the TV, from the computer, from everything, what I have been doing lately is playing the guitar, playing the piano, drawing, drawing with my niece. Those are the things I do while these times are so difficult for me. I dedicate myself a lot to art, to reading, to sharing with my couple and to sharing with my family. I have also been cleaning a lot and organizing the things of the two houses, one where I am moving and the one that is being sold. So I'm also "walking" somehow and I'm seeing the sky, that makes me feel really better, so for me to go a week without technology I think it's really easy because of everything I've been through hahaha.

$ 0.06
1 year ago

That's amazing..and Im sure the effect of being away from technology is amazing too. .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lots of my side hustles are tech dependent so it's quite impossible. But if some good soul will pay me for having no tech for a week, why not? I'll travel to some local tourist destinations with my family and sleep lots without worries. XD

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a good break from technology if ever. Ako gusto ko lang bumalik sa pagbsbasa mg pockebook. And like before maglakad lakad every afternoon dun sa may tabing ilong samin, maga tingin tingin sa puno ng bayabas ganern.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is nice not to use or take a glimpse on our devices because we can be able to discover new things and new talents..our ancestors can live without technology so we also do that..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I will spend my week with my family, bonding without gadgets in our hands. Ganda ng mga plans mo ate lalo na yung read a bible.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yun lang. Kelan kya to mangyayari haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When there is work intensity, I camp in the mountains or in the plain (wherever there is work at that moment) and I don't come home day and night. I can even stay more than 1 week, I don't have any problems, but ... I don't think I can stay even half an hour when I'm at home without work! In fact, I am even angry that technology is restricted to children, let everyone use it as they wish. The future is coming and I can't predict exactly what it will bring, no one should be left behind in this respect!

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Of course, but break doesn't mean to totally cut it off . just a week is great..we can't deny that technology has a lot of disadvantages.. And i guess taking a break from it will help our mind restore and our body does something great..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will definitely exercise more since I won't be able to use any technology for a week or so. I will not more, scribble notes or articles down with my pen, I would sleep more and eat more too...fruits basically...and yes...hard copy books would be read too.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Same same 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes...I like following in your footsteps 😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Actually we adopt ourselves to live with technology but it's true that without of technology one day or one week within nature is just like a blessing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

a week is indeed hard sis.. i can do for a day perhaps..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Literally for me, it's gonna be a hard means to survive. Lol 😆 It can't just happen because I would be so fed up of everything not until I get in touch with technology again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can still live for a week without tech if I am a lot of money. Kasi I can't relax thinking sakay hindi ako nakapag blog

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha . madam sa abroad naman asawa mo. 1 week rest lang 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha, sayang pa din, may pinag iipunan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

1 week without a tech is impossible to me 😂 for me tech is not just for our daily life it is also for communication syempre paano na tayo makikimaritess niyan, jwk 😂

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ay naku mArites..minsan bawas bawasan din yan 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is sort of dificult and hard task. For without mobile and laptop it is like I lost my own self. However, if I could stuck somewhere (maybe for a week or less) where I don't have these two gadgets, I will try my favorite food (eating only, not cooking 😂), sleeping, reading some books and maybe write a diary.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha. It's time to practice cooking then

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cooking is easy, the hardest part is eating... And I'm good at it (eating)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

time management ko te diko maintindihan. kala ko makakapagrest ako after ng render ko tas ending di pala HHAHAHAHA. pero oki lang, dun sa no phone, nagawa ko nastya and super nakakapeaceful ng sipan saka refreshed lalo na kapag nasabukiring lugar ka

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Tama. Fresh hangin dun. Kakarelax pa mga tanawin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hihi, I'll be cooking and eating all week then 🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Add weight goal 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To write long stories needed special time and special mind. @Jane you are perfect in this regard. Moreover, I agreed sometimes we had to take rest or personal stuff that made us away from our blogging Journey. I have many Tech weeks in my life.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes miss Jane time management talaga kailangan para ma achieve in 1 week. Ako miss Jane maglinis din ako tas exercise tas travel.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Before time management. Learn to let go of technology first 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe totoo naman talaga miss Jane. Bitawan muna mga gadgets before time management.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think being away with tech will let me spend more time reading and doing artsy stuff hihi

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Me too.. Mas mganda form of entertainment

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also want to spend my day without technology. But I can't control myself. Haha.. I always remember past how did people spend time..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well the technology had overcome our lives badly. But still we can do lots of good activities like traveling, exercises, meditation and writing in traditional way spending time with our real world and family.

$ 0.01
1 year ago