Stop Giving More Time To The Less Important Stuff

33 88
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

August 15, 2022

"A person with a cluttered mind has a cluttered space." Do you believe in that? I wonder how you organize your things. How often do you clean your room? What about your shoes? Do you care about your phone? Do you maintain cleanliness in your house? Questions that I also need to ask myself. Am I organized or cluttered?

I can't deny the fact that I tend to clutter my stuff due to a lack of time as my work consumes most of it. Oftentimes, it's stressful to see my stuff cluttered and I can't put them up as my body is exhausted at the end of the day and all it wants is to lay down. When the weekend comes, all I want is to sleep to recuperate. This leaves a small amount of time for recreational activities or some room clean-up. Sometimes I would ask myself, am I lazy? Maybe I'm just tired. And these two have different definitions.

The recent post I made on another platform made me realize how I handle things reflects who I truly am. I have cluttered stuff, and oftentimes, a cluttered mind, especially when unforeseen circumstances hit me hard and there is no other else to help me get through it.

Related Article: How We Handle Our Things, Reflect On Who We Are

Sometimes I just even want to send my stuff to my country, so I don't need to clean a lot as I find them hard to declutter. I would rather have a minimalist life to give more space in my place, and probably, have a peaceful mind.

However, while looking at my cluttered room, I realized that I acquired more unnecessary things that I tend to ignore the valuable ones. It reminded me that I spent much time on the less important stuff.

Photo mine, edited on Canva


Stop Giving More Time To Less The Important Stuff

We all at some point tend to spend more time on unnecessary things rather than focusing on what's more important. For instance, when buying a thing we yearn for, we would grant our wishes and we would consider it as a reward because we think we deserve it. The next time we yearn again, we would buy a new one again, until the old ones are stacked up and left unused.

While looking at my bags, I questioned myself why I bought others when in fact, I'm only using the same bag when going out, and sometimes using the old one I liked the most when I want to. Others are left stacked in the corner. Some of my clothes don't fit inside my luggage anymore, so some are stacked outside, and I even thought of buying another piece of luggage. That would be additional stuff in my small room. However, when going out, I tend to wear the same favorite shirt. So others are left unused and a waste of money. Meanwhile, when treating myself when I'm sick, I tend to complain about high expenses so I would ignore the pain instead.

I am certain that it happens to you as well. You rather buy things you want than spend a lot of money on your medication as you think you'll get better with natural remedies at home, and the expenses would just make you sicker.

Just because we are capable of buying stuff we want, we could spend on unnecessary ones at any time. But we are often hesitant to spend on more important ones just because it's costly.


Now, look at your room, what have you got? Are they all important? Probably, the majority are not. Look at your wardrobe, how many clothes are kept for ages? How many clothes are out and used daily? Do you think you need to buy two or more shoes? Is one pair not enough? What's inside your bag? Make-ups and not-so-important stuff?

Now, look at your medical kit. Are there first aid kits? What about your insurance? Have you paid for it? Are you saving for your future? Or garments collections When was the last time you visit your family and friends? When was the last time you catch up with your relatives? Have you ever pursue your passion? When was the last time you take a breather with just yourself or your loved ones? When was the last time you visit your church? Do you even pray? Have you been grateful for all possessions and blessings you got?

Have you thought about these questions? Did I?

Image from Unsplash by freestocks

It seems that we like collecting stuff that is not important to our lives and doesn't even last long. We value our material possessions more than the valuable ones that give us genuine happiness and a peaceful mind. Yet, those possessions could give us cluttered minds once they become overwhelming. And the worse, compromised our well-being. Whether we admit it or not, this is truly happening.

It's not just material possessions but even the several activities we want to pursue at the same time. We want to do this and that, we want to accomplish this and that, to the point that we can't think clearly of what to take anymore. Our minds become more confused and things more complicated. It ends up not accomplishing a single thing or doing the less important than the most vital one.

Just the other night I was folding my clothes while reading articles here, curating on another platform, checking discord messages, and writing this article. Then I got pissed off at myself for being too productive and doing many things at the same time while my body is already tired. I put down my phone to finish folding my clothes before I proceeded to curation. Once I feel like I have curated enough, I closed the discord and visited this platform to read some articles, then continue writing this content. That's when I thought that I've been too much to myself and that I like exhausting it, which in fact, I can make things one at a time.

Why do we like collecting stuff that isn't important to our lives?

Why do we like doing a lot of things that only compromise our well-being?

Why don't we just do things that can make us happy and collect beautiful memories instead?

Image from Unsplash by sarandy westfall

Why can't we just live a simple and minimal life?

Why don't we stop giving more time to the less important stuff?

Why do we like ignoring these questions?

Now, look at yourself. Why?

Questions that are easy to answer, yet, difficult to execute the solution.

I'll leave you these thoughts to ponder.

Happy Monday.



Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

20
$ 4.56
$ 3.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 10
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Ito yung bagay na dapat i-remind always sa tao miss jane. Minsan talaga maraming distraction at nakakadisturbo talaga yun kaya dapat lagi talaga i-remind sa isip na unahin yung mga mahalagang bagay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I saw that part about acquiring more clothes and bags than you need, it just came to my "it's a woman's thing".

Sometimes in a bid to multi-task and achieve many things at the same time, we tend to give preference to the less important ones over the more important ones. I believe it's about clarity of mind and purpose, when we achieve that, then it will be easier for us to schedule our activities and become more productive

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's about self discipline too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This really depend on the happiness of the person madam...not that it applies to everyone of us.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Great thoughts sis :) It's best to live minimally and as you said, create memories instead. Sarap magbawas ng things lalo na pag d rin ginagamit :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True. Gusto ko na nga ipadala sa pinas wala gamit dto. Nkakasikip lng ng kwrto

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe, pwede :) At least madami pwede pagpadalhan dyan. Siguro tumaas na rin ang rate ng balikbayan boxes noh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Totoo yan Jane. Isa na din yung mga negative na maririnig natin sa iba, sinasayang natin oras natin kakaisip sa mga less important things sa mundo.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Habang binabasa ko to feeling ko sinesermunan ako. Sa dami ng iniisip ko ngayon at sa sitwasyon ng buhay namin dikodin alam paano aayusin. Sana untinunti. Kahit mabawasan man lang Yung mga gamit sa kwarto na Dina ginagamit. Sana maka aatend man lang my church twing linggo ng Hindi na iisipin kung sino mag aasikaso sa bahay at maglalaba ng damit ni papa. Sana nakakapagbasa din ako ng bible paminsan minsan at Hindi muna isipin na kailangan Kong magbasa dito at sumulat. Sana I have more time with myself. Hayssss

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Sinabi mo pa madam.. Relate na relate ako dto. From experiences eh 😢

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with you dear, most of our worries are about the things, which even doesn't matter in our life, and but important ones are getting ignored by us. We really need to change our this behavior.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's the human thing, Janey. We tend to ignore the important ones. Someone said we have to major on the minor and stop playing the minor card on the major things.

If you can do that with the bags, that's how I got to know you have more dark shades for me to come and help you with 🤣🤣😂.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

🙈🙈.. I only have a little uncle..haha...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂🤣😂 I can never believe this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's true haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seeing is believing... You will see me soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same thing's happened to me as well and i can't stop myself. I also buy same stuff mean of same kind just because i like that and i can buy those. I also do many things at once. In online world i do many things but seriously now my mind is getting tired and yesterday i power of my phone.

Sometimes i think for whom i do this al??? What if i die today in an accident!!!!!! Than what's the advantage that i did with a tired brain or broken heart.

But than i accumulate too much energy from positive vibes or thoughts and again i start to do all the things.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Maybe because we like spoiling ourselves too much on unnecessary stuff lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes Maybe that's the reason

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think it all has to do with the lack of discipline, for some reason when we fulfill all our tasks and goals, we feel happy and with good self-esteem, that's why you're right, it's better do what is due and not procrastinate in order to be happier and more at peace.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Sometimes I focus on things that are literally a waste of time. I should change a bit.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

For girls I think it's in our blood to get what we don't really need than what we actually need Just like too much of clothes, bags and shoes I have for once bought a high heel shoe which I can't even carry it Later I gave it out and ever since then I never waste my money on buying high heel Even some wigs I can't remember the last time I put it on but I bought them with my money Meanwhile I don't have anything called first aid kit at home 🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Haha. Guilty here . i buy clothes more than medicine I needed 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are correct sis. We shouldn't spend much time on less important stuff. I am that cluttered person really, 🤦‍♂️ I wish wish to make myself more active for doing important things. Useful reading btw❤️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

My mind is decluttered too. I have so many things to do in a day. I tried doing it all but I realize I cannot, and I got exhausted. On the next day, I don't have energy anymore, the some plans will cancelled because of that. That is why I reaccess my plans and reorganise. I will do what I just need for today. What matters to me now is the amount of energy I gave and the rest is up to me.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

My mind is always decluttered as I am combining a lot of activities at the same time then work at physical world..lol..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As tidy as I am, my wardrobe is always a mess. My mom would laugh at me whenever I am cleaning the kitchen because unusually leave my wardrobe unattended.

Waiting time and resources on unnecessary things don't end well, it is worse with time because it can't be recovered when lost.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Haha. My wardrobe is fine during the first day of cleaning. The next days, it is a mess again🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always give less time to the less important stuffs. I give more time to eating and eating stuffs... 😂

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol. That's a positive one 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Order is for common people. A genius can see clearly in chaos

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Unfortunately, sometimes I can't see clearly in chaos haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago