My Sunday Walk In Kowloon City

29 60
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

September 20, 2022

Sunday was a beautiful day. If only I could travel, I would definitely visit a beach and soak in the water. It was perfect weather—sunny, but the temperature was tolerable enough to bask under the sun at the beach without worrying about getting tanned.

Late in the afternoon, I went out to wander around Kowloon City. It's a place where I've been staying for almost five years now. It's busy as usual, as different families used to gather every Sunday to visit a park, eat in restaurants, do leisure activities, and more.

After crossing the pedestrian, my attention was caught by the long queue of people outside a bakery. My boss said that this is one of the oldest bakeries in Kowloon City that has been serving customers delicious traditional Chinese bread and cakes for a long time.

I was curious about what was going on, so I translated the poster on the wall of the bakery. It says, "Thank you for the 48 years of support. Close on October 1st.

I've been one of the customers here, and their bread and cakes are truly yummy compared to other bakeries here. The price of their bread is quite higher but worth it. I usually buy peanut butter and coconut-filled bread here. Their traditional cakes are yummy too.


I continued walking and opted to visit the supermarket. I was thinking about where to eat, but I couldn't choose, so I opted to buy ready-cooked food instead and just stay at the park nearby. This saved money as well.

Sushis were fresh so I grabbed one, and chose the beancurd sushi with black sesame.

There were other packed foods, but quite costly as they seemed to be Japanese recipes, like takoyaki, sweet eggs, and seafood. I bought two kinds of food for lunch and dinner.


I went down the escalator and saw an activity booth on the bottom floor, so I opted to visit it. The activity is for kids and is about drawing.

Several drawings of different kids were posted on the board, and they reminded me of those times when my mother was teaching me how to draw and color.

Among all the drawings, this was my favorite. The kid is truly an artist and already knows how to apply colors and others.


I ended up at the park behind this mall again. I didn't explore the other parts of the park, and I just learned that there are more seats and wider platform at the back part of this park.

Some oldies were relaxing on the seats. Look at those popos (grandmas) enjoying playing with their phones. Meanwhile, some Filipinos were on the grassy field lying on their mats under the canopies of trees.

I looked for a place to stay to eat my late lunch, and I chose the spot facing the artificial lake and a pavilion.

I seemed to have a lot of food and I wasn't even finished eating them all. I ate the rice cakes I made last Saturday for lunch that day, as well as the Chinese food given by my boss, the koji water chestnut jelly, and sesame balls, or what we call "kabak" in our dialect. The chicken with pork and rice was saved for dinner.


My first plan was to roam around the park and take photos of different beautiful spots using the crystal ball and macro lens I ordered online. I started taking photos by the lake, and I liked the result.

Unfortunately, the sky started to rumble, an indication that rain was coming. So instead of roaming around, I transferred to the pavilion where I could stay once the rain poured. There I found more Filipinos and Indonesians resting. Some were dancing along with the music, while some were lying on their mats.

The sky turned dark, followed by thunder and lightning. More park visitors were looking for sheds and going inside the covered pathways and pavilions. So I stayed in my place until the rain receded.

So it wasn't actually a good day as it rained heavily in the afternoon, lol. Yet, I was entertained while watching Filipinos dancing and listening to their music.

That's how my Sunday went. Happy new week everyone.


**(Check out the new noise.app here and let's be connected. noise.app/Jane1289)**

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Ecency   PeakD Torum •Twitter

17
$ 2.89
$ 2.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @fantagira
+ 12
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Kinda sad to see such a good bakery closing after 48 years, but anyway, I like your crystal ball, Ate. Put your hands above it, feel the presence of the magnetic energies that can teleport your minds into the future of anyone. Perfect tool to be ang a manghuhula, pwede pang sideline. 😉 Di, joke lang Ate. Hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Japanese recipes, like takoyaki

I have heard about this food in a lot of japanese animes I have watched, is it like a snack or something else?

I love the photo you took using the crystal ball and macro lens, it's very beautiful! The money you used in buying those items is definitely worth it, I will love to see more photos like this later on 😁

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's like a snack.. It's yummy hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Another spectacular view, Janey... A perfect day for a walk. 48 years of service...wow and they are closing October 1st. That's a very long queue and it takes a lot of consistency for them to keep producing for that long and keep satisfying their customers.

Wonderful legs, Janeyyyyy 😍😍😍

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Haha..thanks uncle.. I guess the bakery won't wait until oct 1, yesterday, it was out of bread already 🤣..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂🤣🤣😂😂 that was fast...out already. Wow.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sulit ung sunday mo madam, totally rested and food trip with nature

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Madam ang ganda ng lake at pavilion!!! Saka yung mga foods naisip ko sa title may mga fimsum kasi yung kowloon house saten ay nagutom tuloy ako!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hndi ako mahilig sa dimsum hehe.. Perp next time try ko 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Talaga namang napaka relaxing ng place ako kahit ilang pagkain bigay ng boss ko kakainin ko talaga hehehhe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's look like a big supermarket with a variety of stuffs. Park is so peaceful place to end up after visiting the supermarket. ♥️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You had a nice walk and a proper lunch too! How can a little person like you eat so much? 😂 And wow - so many people are still wearing masks where you are!

PS. You've got exactly 2022 followers today :)

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I laughed at it 🤣. It was 2023, someone unfollowed me 🤣. I posted about it on noise, the person probably read it and just make it exactly 2022 🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha, take a screenshot quick, it might not happen again this year 😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naalala ko po yung movie na Hello Love, Goodbye yung kila Kathryn Bernardo. OFW din po sila sa Hongkong doon at sa movie po na yun ako nagka idea kung paano ang mga buhay ng Pinoy doon. And ngayon po habang nagbabasa ako ng article nyo ay nadagdagan na naman po ang kalaaman ko about sa mga workers in Hongkong.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I guess I will feature more about ofw life here. Great concept for my blogs

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Surely it will love by many po. We love reading and hearing stories of Pilipinos abroad po eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

common ba ung naghihiga lang jan sa gilid? hehe andami mong foods na dala nga!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo..dun libre eh 🤣.. Mag dala lang ng sapin, pwede na

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ayos ah..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naiimagine ko mag pix ng ulan gamit ung crystal ball hehe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hndi carry. Pangit ng camera ko 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Was that sign means they'll be going to close their business? Or they'll just be going to have a break, so they are closed on October 1? Anyway in my whole stay in HK I haven't tried eating those pack foods inside the supermarket, mas tipid kasi pag sa McDonald Lang ako, hahahaha burgers with fries 24 ba yun o 29? Not sure anymore since it's been two years. But sometimes I also dine in in some Chinese restaurant's in Central. Kaso nakalimutan ko na name's ng mga restaurant na madalaa kong kainan tuwing off ko. Tumatak lang sa isip ko yung pepper rice inside the mall in Causeway bay. Causeway bay ba yung may Victoria secret??🤣🤣😂😂 Nakalimutan ko na talaga, pero hindi pa naman ako maliligaw ones bumalik ako jan, yung mga pangalan lang talaga nakalimutan ko.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Magcoclose na sla.. Nkakatipid ako jan pang tanghali at hapunan 🤣.. Bili na lang rice sa Cede de Coral lol..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sarap magpahinga sa ganyang place miss jane ,nakaka relax. Super need ko ang ganyan ngayon pero di magawa😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Super

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Definitely a "me time" at its finest, Ate. Kakapagod na lakaran pero enjoy naman. ✨

Sarap magpa-budol 'dun sa mga Japanese & K-foods lalo kapag malaki ang budget. Lalo na sa sushi, daming pagpipilian.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Mura tingnan..pero kapag iconvert, ay wag na lang 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha sa true, Ate. Buti dito sa Pinas is may mga nagtitinda sa tabi-tabi, mura pa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago