Is Expressing Feelings and Emotions In Writing Beneficial?

41 78
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

October 5, 2022

Undeniably, writing is a powerful tool for expressing hidden emotions and feelings, especially if we find it hard to express ourselves personally, or simply because no one wants to listen to us. On my part, I have no one to talk to in the real world and am hesitant to express my feelings to people in the house where I currently live. It is still important to choose to whom to express our feelings and emotions because not all have the same perceptions and understandings. Some might just think negatively about it. Some might think we are getting insane or just looking for some attention.

So many are into journaling, and jotting down their thoughts in their diaries. I did this long ago, back when I wasn't into blogging yet. It helps me label my thoughts and emotions and alleviate the sadness and pain I was feeling. While reading back my diary, I didn't expect to read heavy feelings and emotions in my writing. Some of them were my frustrations, along with my dreams and goals.

Does Expressing Feelings and Emotions In Writing Beneficial?

Image from Unsplash by Thought Catalog

When I was still writing in my journal, I often did it in the park when I felt alone and lonely. When I am frustrated with my day at work, I would update my diary before going to bed. There were times that I got carried away by my emotions and I was writing with tears falling on my face. It wasn't negative, but the effect was rather positive. 

After shedding tears and expressing my frustrations and thoughts in writing, I felt relieved thereafter. It even helped me fall asleep right away. By the next day, my feelings were even lighter, and I was ready to start the day again positively. As if nothing happened the previous night.

When I started blogging, it became my diary where I could share my daily life and sometimes express feelings and emotions. However, blogging is way far different than journaling in a diary. In the diary we can express EVERYTHING; our secrets, frustrations, and grudges. We can even screw someone who gives us a bad day. In blogging, yes we are free to express everything, yet, not all readers have the same thoughts, opinions, and perceptions.

Instead of giving encouragement and advice, some would doubt your feelings and emotions, and they would give criticism. Some would think you just want some sympathy. Some would think you just want some attention. But have they ever been in the same shoes? What would they feel if they received doubt and criticism when expressing feelings and emotions? Some would even ignore this post because they are doing it.


Writing down emotions and feelings is undeniably beneficial. It doesn't only help us alleviate our stress and meltdown overwhelming thoughts, but also helps us regain our focus. However, filtering the words we will share online is necessary, because again, we all have different thoughts and opinions, as well as perceptions. Instead of getting what we want, we would sometimes receive criticism from judgmental people.

But some are honest with their comments, and they are those who are worthy to keep. We can tell who is sincere and not, and those giving positive comments, yet sarcastic.

So not all feelings and emotions can be shared online. Learn to distinguish between which emotions to express and which to keep.

Doodling and art are other ways of expressing feelings and emotions, not just blogging. But to avoid criticism, I guess it's better to just write them down in your diary, or talk with someone you can trust.

Expressing feelings and emotions is important, but be aware of the consequences and learn to deal with them, especially online.


**(Check out the new noise.app here and let's be connected. noise.app/Jane1289)**

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Ecency    PeakD Torum •Twitter

27
$ 3.55
$ 2.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
+ 15
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I somehow want to write emotions when I was sad and broken that was 2021, then now 2022 it's feels like I am not into it for maybe I moved on for good, that was because of writing. I seen the magic of it. Now I am more on informative , sometimes it's changes the times we felt the magic hehe.

Writing as part of moving on is best added that there was some rewards.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Sometimes, I rather forget the emotions and write something different instead.. Something happy...not sad

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Also view "writing" the way you see it, Ate. When I was younger, I also have my diary. Whenever I'm happy or sad or mad? I always make sure na maisusulat ko 'yun lahat. Grabe kasi 'yung effects sa'ken lalo na at 'di naman talaga ako showy na tao sa personal.

So yeah. Aside sa it's my stress reliever, it is also one of my many source of happiness. Plus, it helps me to widen my vocabs pa. ✨

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's actually good to sometimes spill out what we feel inside sis, but there are still moments where we choose to just keep it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Its good to write your feelings! Sometimes I hide little stuff and emotions in my posts just to "talk about it". Helps with my mental health 🙃

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's good to write if people are willing to listen.. It's distressing when people are just criticizing behind your back. ..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't share because I want people to listen, I share it just to take it of my chest and move on! Works as a relaxation technique

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I see writing down your emotions as therapeutic. It's hard to find someone to speak to and bottling them all in doesn't help as such too. Pen it down, cry while at it... you will get better for it. I've done it many times too...I feel lighter and better a little...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's better than allowing those emotions to consume us..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, Janey... better to express them and let them sip through.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Expressing my feelings in my articles has helped me a lot. It has helped me to ease my mind by telling people how I feel.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I express sometimes in my writing here. I can't imagine letting it all out. Even though I don't let it all out I do feel better releasing what I'm comfortable with. The part of just plain writing I mean with out emotions is distracting enough for me sometimes.

Reading does the same especially if you read someone's feelings that you can really relate to. I find writing a comment in response can sometimes be releasing as well. Especially if your in a similar situation.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Only those who are in the same situation can understand.. Others would criticize

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Why do i sense that your sad at the moment. Anyway diaries could be our confidant , we can say anything we want , as in anything coz it's us , if we have octagonal sides, it's in our diaries. All sides are shown there without inhibitions coz no one will judge you there but you. Unlike in blogging that engage other people in all walks of life that has different perception and beliefs thats why we tend to limit what we share. You take care always Ms. Jane. Go on and spill it out again in your diaries , sometimes it's the only way for Us to listen to Ourselves.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Im fine.. Thanks for the concern

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always write down my feelings and emotions and when I do share as you said, it is undeniably beneficial. It did make and does make me relaxed and alleviate my stress. If you see my recent two blogs, I have shared about my feelings and suffering. I know some won't like such sharing. Even last night when I shared, I got 3 likes our of five views and after a few minutes the views reached 6 and likes 2 meaning the 6th reader didn't like my emotions and feelings.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's my point.. Not all will like it...because there are always people who criticize this kind of act.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed, rather they can just ignore if they don't like to encourage and support the person

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can imagine what you said here, when your writing while your tears were falling down, it happens with me too. But I think, your situation was different because you live far from your family, so it really helped that you write down here your emotions so that you can also learned some advices and learned from others experiences too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I always share my inner feelings to my the best friend. But with the passage of time, he made mock of my talks, but here on red.cash , there are educated members that give us benefits suggestions.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Definitely beneficial. You are actually talking through your words via your heart.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not only is it beneficial. It's necessary!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes! Kase through that you can convey your emotions through your reader para damang dama ka nila ... And also para din sa sarili mo its a way letting out your suppressed emotions

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When feelings and ideas are contrary to some, they may see you as poisonous. When your ideas do not coincide with theirs, you will not be accepted. They are prejudiced about you and sometimes you are accused of what you have not done / said by tagging your username. It has happened to me a few times, maybe it is more useful to remain anonymous in order to share feelings and ideas in a completely open way!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Anonymous. Yup. It's better that way.. No matter what judgments are, you won't be affected at all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well I thought that was really question from the title at first. Yes, it is darn beneficial! In my younger years, I used to imagine my diary as my best friend. It made me feel better after writing on it. I don't post much on social media but post about how I feel sometimes on Read.cash from time to time, where I know there are understanding people.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I feel like I want to write in my diary again. It's just there hiding somewhere in my room

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Find time to digg it up, it would b happy to see you again 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Its really beneficial, imagine you were able to release all your frustration, sadness, anger tru writing and saying it all in there. Laking ginhawa sa hearteuu and mind.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Dpendr lang dn sa feedback na marereceive

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to write in a diary that I lost. Now I write in these places. I like to express what I have in my mind and what I carry in my heart. I learned to write for myself and for those who want to read my writings. Those who don't like what I write have the option to read elsewhere. I am not going to change my thoughts because other people don't like it. Keep on going, there is everything in the Lord's vineyard 😚.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly.. We write what our thoughts say.. Not what others want us to write.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dapat before natin gawin ang isang bagay we need to think first ng malalim, isipin mabuti kung tama ba o hindi miss Jane. Writing napaka helpful talaga kasi nai-express natin yung feelings natin.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It has been my way of coping stress

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True miss Jane.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sharing too much on the Internet is dangerous because people might end up using it against you or drop some comments that aren't reasonable, some will even drop comments that hurts.

Though Criticism helps one improve but only constructive criticism, people don't think before Criticising others.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

True.. But not all can handle criticism.. It sometimes become the reason of depression..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree, it's beneficial at some point but sometimes sharing those heavy emotions and feelings to social media, can only add the frustration of the person because of criticism . That is actually the reason why I don't usually share my emotions in Facebook or in any other social media because for sure all I get is criticism from people who don't know my situation, instead of understanding they judge and mock you. But yeah we really can't deny that it's really beneficial to release some stress.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Not only on FB, kahit dto sa blogging.. Not all commenters are sincere... Some would even gossip about your situation..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For so long I have been writing and journaling, it helped me beyond I expected. It's life na rin kasi eh. Dealing with stress and stuff

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Better to journal , not express all online

$ 0.00
1 year ago