Into The Darkness I Go, To Find Peace

50 142
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

June 19, 2021

DARKNESS...

The absence of light, wickedness, evilness, sadness, comfort, and peace.

The rising sun shone softly on the streets, and it cast a golden hue across the morning sky, bringing a flurry of early activity. Light of dawn seeped into my room and as I opened the window, the morning melodic birdsong drifted in, sending chills to my ears. The golden fingers crossed my bleary eyes and I rubbed them and saw a pearly glow in the sky. The day was so bright, a sign of new hope and aspirations.

Inside my room, I found comfort and peace. I am who I am, I lived the life I wanted to be. But I wanted to explore the world so I stepped out of my comfort zone and faced the crowd. As I walked on the rowdy streets, I bumped into different peeps. As if I saw the world in front of me. My head was filled with thoughts of reality - life, love, hate, peace, war, and death. They were all clouded with untruth fantasies, giving confusions to anyone who dared to make sense of it.

The energy in the crowd was contagious, the warmth bubbled beneath my skin and vibrated down to my bones. The day was too bright but seemed too dark. Different faces, different places, different phases, different cases. The noise was exhilarating, and the deafening sounds zinging through all the people. Crimes, humiliations, frauds, corruptions, violations, vices, conspiracies, scandals, wickedness, evilness, whatever you call them, were all over the place. I hated the noise as well as jumping at every brushing touch. What if there is a hidden enemy? I was confounded by the scenes and the stories behind every wall and bar started to unfold. There was no peace anymore, and the light started to diminish.

I wanted to scream, I wanted to run, and I ran back to my room, hurriedly shut it, and blocked every hole that will allow the noise to drift in. I blocked all the holes and spaces, the room was filled with darkness and flooded with silence. I covered my ears and shut my eyes. There was peace, finally, I was relieved. But the silence was more deafening, different thoughts entering my mind, negative, positive, but mostly negative. I stood up but the darkness was pulling me down. It's tying me, it wanted to cover my whole body.

I wanted to scream, I wanted to run, and I so I cut the rope and ran outside. I ran and ran until I saw familiar faces. My pace slowed down, my body calmed down. Yes, they were familiar, because they were my family. My heart beats faster, my mind was flooded with excitement. I wanted to hug them, I wanted to be with them, I wanted their comfort, I wanted their warmth. But as I stepped into our home, heavy burdens were placed on my shoulder. I carried a heavy burden of responsibilities. I thought I can find peace at home, I thought it was a tranquil place, but it was full of chaos and my mind became not at ease.

My friends, I thought of my friends, I ran to look for them, but they were nowhere to be found. I wanted to scream, I wanted to run, and I ran and ran and ran. I ran to a place where no one can find me, where no one knows anything about me, no noise, no chaos, no heavy burdens, just peace. In that place, specks of dust danced with me, I spread my arms and let my body bathed the warm light of the afternoon sun. I loved to watch the blue sky dotted with fluffy white clouds, they made me relax, my mind calmed down. I thought I will be at peace in that place, but the evening sun rays traveled through the trees and created mysterious shadows, and cast long shadows on the ground, dark and crawling towards me.

It was chasing me, I wanted to scream, I wanted to run. So I ran and ran and ran into the darkness where I found peace, inside my zone I found peace. No more lights, no more noise, no more burdens, just peace. Long hours have passed, I was still in the dark. Hours became days, days became months, months became years, for how long will I be stuck here? Thoughts were racing in my mind, negative was chasing positive. It stopped and the positive was covered. Negative thoughts were clawing my mind, leashing every synapse, blocking every lobe, it's screaming so loud, "you are weak, you are incompetent, you are ugly, you are dumb."

I wanted to scream, I wanted to run. So I ran and ran and tripped over a coiled rope and I fell. "Grab the rope" my mind shouted. "Grab the rope" it echoed repeatedly. There was no light, there was no hope, there was no one to lean on. "Just die, you are useless, just die." I was lost in the dark, "maybe the rope can save me," I thought. I grabbed it and hanged myself on the top. No one will save me, no lights, only dark, I know, I will be at peace.

In the count of three, I jumped, I jumped into the darkness, there was silence, finally, I found peace.

The End.

This is my entry to @JonicaBradley prompt for this week about "Darkness." This time, I want to tag @Caroline17 @eommaZel @LykeLyca @z_graeden sorry guys for the tag ๐Ÿคฃ

If you can't think of any topic to write about, join this prompt series.

  • Write an original story about the prompt: Darkness.

  • At least 600 words.

  • Don't forget to tag @JonicaBradley

That's all. Broaden your imagination, pull out your deepest words and emotions.

Happy writing and thanks for your time ๐Ÿ˜Š

I seldom pull out this other writer side of mine as I want to write in layman's terms as much as possible, and I thought that the prompt darkness is suitable for creative writing. If you are a novelist, a poem writer, a good reader, a certified blogger, you will understand the deeper meaning of this story. It's all about the term that starts with the letter "D."

Share your thoughts below about this. I want to hear your story ๐Ÿ˜Š

Lead image source

37
$ 12.47
$ 11.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
+ 16
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

If someone is deeply depressed then a dark with isolation from people will help him but then it will get worse and he would like to leave from the world of people to the world of spirits, but such a path is full of pain. Great theme to develop imagination.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, sis very nice piece. Salute for this. Darkness in return with peace. Great.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I'm amazed po. Your style of writing po is very awesome and commendable. You bring me to the story po! I really love that! Anyway, I'm newbie po, hello po Ms. Jane, at sa iba pa po. ๐Ÿ–ค

$ 0.00
2 years ago

More of these ate๐Ÿ˜ i'm guessing you love writing even in h.s. days? Have you tried competing in school?

Anyways, most young adults are experiencing this phenomenon and must have a reliable support system on their side. Mental health works side by side with physical health and should never be neglected.

To everyone who can read these as well: Whatever the situation you are into, always "Fear God" you can only find true meaning of "peace" in Him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No doubt it was a great story and i always find peace in dark Best Of luck for your entry

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Darkness is part of our lives. We need it to grow in life and it makes us stronger as we encounter and surpass this darkness in our lives. Thankyou for this you did a very interesting content.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very well written story. But it sounds so sad though :( I guess marami talagang nakakaranas nito ngayon during this pandemic. Btw, I'm a new in this community and hoping to meet new friends <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe yung creativity mo dito, yung words na ginamit is not so deep yet yung scene sa story mo iba ang lalim. di ko masisid.. hehe. But kidding aside, this is a good entry to the prompt about darkness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ang ganda sis.. ang ganda ng pagkakagamit mo sa mga words and yung pagkadescribe mo ng bawat scenario

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow haha I found myself in the deep dark words. Rawr. Its raw and darkness seems so alive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Creativity on its peak โค๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great content, great story, great everything. I enjoyed it...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good read! ๐Ÿ˜Š I like the way you write. Keep it up! Such creativity ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda po ng Gawa mo Ms. Jane ๐Ÿ˜ Darkness is Real talaga lahat tayo ay naranasan ang kadiliman na dapat natin ito malabanan, ang kadilim ang sumisira sa ating mga sarili.. Kakapublish ko lang ng article ko hehe sayang po Pwede ko pa naman sana siya I enter sa 'Darkness'

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Sorry sa tag ๐Ÿคฃ Pra may idea kna next article ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha okay lang po Ms. Jane nagpapasalamat nga po ako kasi napasama ako ๐Ÿ˜Š lalo na wala pa ako al sa mga ganyan sa Prompt . Pa konti konti may nalalaman at natutunan ako ๐Ÿฅฐ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why does this sound so horrifying to me? It felt more like someone trying to escape all the pains and chaos of this world by committing suicide.

To my own understanding and interpretation, grabbing the rope and jumping into darkness is committing suicide to find peace after death. I could be wrong but this is how I interpreted it lol.

You did so well with this piece. I was frightened at first, I read with my eyes popping out its sockets lol. Especially each time the character runs away from all the noises and thoughts that was bothering her.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you.. You got it.. When we are still innocent about this world, we always look at each morning as a new hope, new life. But step out of our comfort zone, we saw the real situation of reality.. Chaos can lead to depression. Burdens of responsibilities can lead to depression. .those who are weak and can't handle the situation will be stuck in the dark...especially if there is no onr to hold on to.. And once they are tired, the only option they have is to commit suicide...to end their lives as they thought they can find peace after..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Abay wagas ๐Ÿ˜ฑ, sobrang dark nga madam ๐Ÿ˜ฉ. This happen in real life talaga ee. Mga problemang kung tutuosin maiibsan naman pag napag usapan. Kaso dahil wala kang makapitan aksi feeling mo walang magmamahal sayo ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Yung hindi kinakaya yung pasanin sa buhay, ganyan ang kinahihinatnan... Thanks for understanding the meaning behind this story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya mga, kaya talaga maganda rin yong tinatanonh nating ung mga kakilala natin if okay lang sila ee. If may napansin ng kakaiba diba. Para di mauwi sa ganito ๐Ÿ˜ฉ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagawa ko to after basahin article ni hanzell bout darkness,. Same kmi nun on and off and depression at anxiety. Bago ako pumasok ng readcash, my depression akk nun. . malaking tulong din ang rc na madivert thoughts ko nun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And on the other side of darkness i was awaken by a bright light. So bright was it that I shed my eyes with my palm. I smiled with triumph. Finally it is here...a host welcomed me with ovation and merriment.

๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ I decided to add a little Epilogue to it ma'am

$ 0.05
2 years ago

My first plan was actually to add light to it. But then I decided to make it different and ended with the darkness ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The busiest dream I thought... You put it all up wonderfully. Galing!

Plano ko magsulat nitong prompt kaso unahin ko muna Father's day tribute ko, heheh! Sunday na bukas eh... Hopefully, tuesday ๐Ÿ˜‰

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Wala kna man asawa ๐Ÿคฃ Joke lng. Pra sa tatay xmpre

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay syempre yaan mo na ung iba ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sakit sa puso after ko basahin. May mga tao na hindi kinakaya yung pinagdadaanan at ginugusto nalang magpakamatay.

$ 0.10
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Tumpak.. You got the real message of this story ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Deppresion is no joke kasi. Kaya ang swerte nung malalakas Yung tolerance sa pain kagaya natin na nagkakaroon ng outlet para mailabas Yung nararamdaman natin kesa ipunin sa dibdib

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

True.. Mas malala pa sa cancer kung hndi maagapan. Traydor na sakit.. D mo alam kelan maheheal.. Kya iba, naiain nlng kitilin ang sariling buhay pra hndi na mag isip pa..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo Yun ๐Ÿ˜ญ

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

I love this! We cannot avoid the darkness in life, but it is always possible to bring some light into that darkness and peace into our souls by choosing acceptance, gratitude, and love. Good evening, sis. Wonderfully written as always!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I just really wanted to make the story like that.. There's actually a message behind this story

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very sensation especially your words I want to scream I want to run. I shall be lucky if I be able to hear your friendship story. It has pile of painful secrets. I felt sadness and pain my dear. I already participated in this prompt. And write about darkness..

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'll reas it later

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Great story. As always, thanks for participating. I enjoy your creativity so.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You said make it so dark ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ so I thought of this idea ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's dark, but in a good way, I think.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! What an article. ๐Ÿงก If only people does not lose hope, they won't find darkness.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

True.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After every darkness there is bright light waiting for you and i can relate!!!!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Gustong gusto ko po mga article nyo. Salamat po sa inspiration. Indeed, we can find peace and calmness. If we only know the beauty of it ๐Ÿค—

$ 0.05
2 years ago

nanlamig ako...grabe maam๐Ÿ˜ฃ

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ano sa tingin mo message ng story? ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

di po ako magaling mag interpret nang article maam pero sa own interpretation ko sa story is...parang dapat maging dependent ka sa sarili mo, kung sa family may responsibilities ka, and nung nag approach ka sa mga friends mo walang nag took notice sayo, yet you find peace on that darkness you call your comfort zone, you've been running all along and that makes you strong

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's actually bout depression dur to the burdens of responsibilities and the chaotic world. But we all have our own interpretation .. Nice try ๐Ÿ˜Š btw, don't call me mam.. I'm not a teacher.. ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice story po ma'am Jane. I don't know why my comment got deleted. Or I just accidentally click it? .. I just want to reply to your follow up question. But, the meaning behind that story is depression and suicide. Kahit ako noon. Sa sobrang depress sa buhay.Sumasagi sa isipan ko ang suicide. Pero, Naisipan ko din. Na kung mamamatay ako. Di ko rin matatakasan ang problemang aking dinadala sa empyerno. Kaya, heto ako ngayon. Nagpapakatatag at mas kinakaya ang lahat ng unos sa buhay. Salamat ate Jane. Mas nag broad ulit ang pagkakaintindi ko sa article mo nung tinanong moko niyan.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

What do you think the meaning behind this story?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice one ma

$ 0.00
2 years ago