How To Think Like A Monk To Live Peacefully?

34 72
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

July 8, 2022

Are you a Bibliophile? Or what we called Bookworm.

I did love reading books when I was younger, especially the Disney fantasy stories. Because all I could do before was fantasize and imagine myself being one of the princesses in the books I've read, living in a palace with a beautiful life. As I grew up, I'd love reading suspense and thrilling stories. When I got here abroad, I saw English books on my boss' bookshelf and my free time was spent reading them. That was when I didn't start blogging yet.

The second to the last topic of 30 Days of Gratitude talks about the book that I loved reading.

(30DofG) How To Think Like A Monk To Live Peacefully?

I recently came across an article on Hive by a Filipino author about the takeaways from the audiobook he listened to entitled Think Like A Monk by Jay Shetty. And this became the book I loved reading (listening to) through its audiobook.

Click the link to read the article

I am certain that you guys have heard about this book too, and are probably applying the lessons you learned from this book. I got curious about this book so I opted to search for its free e-books but to no avail. I saw one on Amazon but it would cost me $12 or more. The audiobook was free though but I have to supply my credit card account which I didn't do. Then I looked it up on Youtube and I found some free audiobooks of this book.

I am not into reading books nowadays since it takes time and I mostly read articles rather than books. So to learn about this book, I started listening to its audiobook, and I did it before sleeping. That took me a few nights to finish.

This book tells Jay's story of how his life was changed after meeting a monk. Later he became one too and traveled to different places as a monk serving others. While doing so, he was developing his self-growth while learning ways how to think like a monk, reduce stress, get rid of negativity to live peacefully and learn true purpose in life.

How to think like a monk?

We all know that monks are well-focused, and that's the first lesson taught in the book, to be focused.

Undeniably, we easily get distracted by things around us and it's often tough for us to stay focused because our minds are also preoccupied with a lot of thoughts, both positive and negative. I can't deny the fact that many times, I become unfocused in doing things and I tend to forget other stuff because my mind is thinking about others rather than doing certain things that need to be done. My phone, for instance, is a great distraction, as well as things happening online that preoccupies my mind.

Moreover, I tend to become unfocused towards achieving my goals when unforeseen circumstances happen or I'm being bombarded by a lot of negativity, both offline and online, and with thoughts that are stuck in my mind. This negativity often demotivates me from moving forward. I tend to overthink, become stagnant, and just waste time.

To become well-focused is our greatest hindrance to achieving our goals, and that's undeniable whether you admit it or not. However, if we train our minds on how to become focused, we can easily get rid of procrastination and negative thoughts. If we are focused we can easily achieve our goals or finish certain tasks despite the distractions around us.

Oftentimes, emotional distractions are the main reason why one becomes unfocused. This is also something I find hard to eradicate or control, especially if it pertains to important people in my life. So anxiety often ruined things that are planned to be executed or decisions that are supposed to be done. So practicing mindfulness is necessary.

Being mindful is one thing I want to practice and achieve because this is vital to achieving goals and peaceful life. If we are mindful, we could learn how to manage our anxiety or stress well so it won't grow into depression. We feel fear, that is inevitable. We fear failure, sickness, and death. We think too much about tomorrow wherein we could just think about today.

Negativity and trials won't stop showing because they are part of our life. But as Jay said, we have to acknowledge them so that we could learn their purpose for showing up. We all know that everything happens for a reason which we don't know most of the time. But one thing is certain, they came into our lives to teach us lessons, to know our purpose, to strengthen our mind and body, to test our faith and compassion, and let us grow as a person and discover the real us.

We can't avoid them nor ignore them. Because the more we ignore them, the more they magnify. The harder it is to get away from them. So the only way is to face and acknowledge the negativity and fear so we could move forward.

Be mindful and think like a monk. We could discover the real us and would think peacefully. And if we have peace of mind, we will live happily as well.

Jay also shared in his book that he's meditating each day and that helped him think positively and be mindful.

This reminded me of times two years ago when my mind was still well-determined to meditate each morning before I start my day. Unfortunately, it failed as my body didn't cooperate. My mind wants to meditate, but my body wants to sleep or rest more. If these two, mind and body, don't work with each other, then nothing will happen.

This has something to do with self-discipline as well and staying focused on one goal. If I only stayed focused on that goal and disciplined myself to achieve it, I am probably mindful by now and have a more peaceful life. But I guess it isn't too late to put this on my goal list again.

And just like what Jay said, we don't need to shave our heads and dress in robes or be a monk to achieve a peaceful life. We just need to do the right thing. Be compassionate to everyone, discover our real self, stay focused despite the distractions, and be mindful of everything, then we could think like a monk and we could achieve a peaceful life.

I recommend you to read or listen to the audiobook of Think Like A Monk. I am certain that your mindset would change after.

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

23
$ 5.16
$ 4.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 16
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

ma try din nga tong audio book...madami na sa mga friends ko nag swich na into audio kasi convenient daw

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You will find good things in the book with lessons and there are more stories that you will also find lessons.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

"We think too much about tomorrow wherein we could just think about today". I guess that"s human nature, overthinking. Killing tomorrow before it actually occurs resulting to negativity and losing hope. Being mindful will surely help us to focus on "our present " our today, coz if we could handle our today with grace then more likely we could have a better tomorrow. I like Jay Shetty's wisdom.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I do like the videos of him that I come across on my feed sometimes. Such great lessons to learn from.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Follower k pla nya. Ito plng n book first nbasa ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will try to check and listen on that sis. This past few weeks my life has been bothered of some negative emotions in my head😬

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I heard the book before but it doesn't caught my attention — then I read this blog...it somehow motivated me to read the book. Maybe I will add this on my list.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Check mo kht yung audiobook..mgnda

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being mindful is what I practice pero pag overwhelmed na sa life, wala na hahaha I encountered this book before pero I haven't read nor listened to it yet, maybe this is a sign? pero I've read a similar one, The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari. They have the same thoughts I guess and moving din tlaga yung lessons from that book.

Will include this on my to read list, hopefully magkatime for this haha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The same author I guess?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yun din po yung problema ko kapag yung mind and body ko ay hindi nagco-cooperate sa isa't isa, ang dami ko po talagang bagay na hindi nagagawa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

End up slacking lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The book has been on my TBR for a year now hahaha. Mas naeenjoy ko na magbasa dito wala na oras para magbasa ng libro.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Audiobook nlng hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The focus will be our best friend in all this way, I am sure that if you spend all day thinking about what you must do to achieve your goals, you will have good rwsul

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seems like a good self-improvement book. 👏😌

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo madam

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Focus towards our life goals is utmost needed in our life for being successful. Being mindful we can save ourselves from distractions.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ako tlga us easily distracted kya hirap akong magfocus sa isang bagay, yhen daming naglalaro sa isipan ko...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganun tlga kpg mother din .dami iniisip

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kya nga po, kaya easily to distract na

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That negativity and trials 😔 big reason why I can't focus and start moving on..gusto ko din Gawin 2ng 30days challenge pero feeling ko di ko kaya makabuo isang article a day talaga..too many reasons too na pumipigil sa utak ko gumana 🤧

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Release it madam through writing.. It will help

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sis.. hopefully I can na ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We've all had moments of doubt and uncertainty, where we think that maybe there's too much pressure in the world right now. Maybe we should just get out and do something...anything...else? But those are the very moments when we need to realize what's really important. And ultimately, right down to the most basic fundamentals...to do the right thing.

I will try to listen to audiobooks.. hehehe

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Omo, true, so many things happen for a reason in our lives to teach us a valid lesson, some are just warming up for what is ahead we don't control ourselves in difficult times.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am a serious book lover. I use to read almost 6-8 books in every month. And this has become my regular routine. Someone says i have a reading addiction. Although i didn’t read this book. But i am a follower of Joy shetty. I try to watch videos he posts in social media. He is really an inspiring personality.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don't know much about him..but I like his book

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm a book lover, but I don't have books. Am I a book lover? Haha. Charr lang po. I have currently 27 novels, 2 technical writing books and the rest are pure random.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hndi ka masyado mahilig sa novel haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay hindi naman po. Slight lang. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Never heard of that but it's very interesting and looks like I'm going to learn from that! I love my peace.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pakinggan mo madam. Maganda message

$ 0.00
1 year ago