How To Get No Copyright Strike On YouTube? (For New Vloggers)

49 76
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

|21st Nov 22|18:06|

I created the JaneTheExplorer channel three weeks ago and it already has eight uploaded videos. As a new vlogger on YouTube, I still have a lot of things to know about vlogging and techniques to learn to create better and more attractive videos. As for now, all videos I have uploaded were just collections of photos and short videos from my previous trips. I don't have yet those full videos taken on a certain trip. Resources are limited and all I use is my phone, which is almost full now. That's the main reason why I want to buy a new laptop as early as possible, and hopefully, a DSLR camera next.

Since I'm only using my phone in creating and uploading videos, I'm doing it through YouTube and YouTube Studio apps as I find them more convenient.

And as a new vlogger, it freaks me out when my uploaded video has a copyright strike due to some reason. Out of eight uploaded videos, 2 got copyright strikes and I was concerned about it. One was the recorded video of the live performance of a local group of musicians at HK SummerFest last September.

The other one was the video I recorded in Central Market, but due to the help of a Filipina YouTuber I met on Facebook, the issue was resolved.

Common reasons why a YouTube video gets a copyright strike include:

  • The usage of background music without the permission of the owner

Even royalty-free background music on YouTube for blogging isn't safe to download unless you created an account on the websites of the owners which are usually pinned in videos' descriptions. That is to prove that you agree to the music usage policy. Until then, you are free to download and use the music for your vlogs, and of course, by still crediting the real owner of the background music to clear your account from a copyright claim.

  • Uploading live performances with copyrighted music and effects

This includes those recorded concert shows and other live events where performers sang copyrighted music. Even if you own the video, if the background music is copyrighted, especially known music from different singers and musicians, the video will get a strike. Moreover, owning the CD doesn't also exempt you from getting a strike. You still need to use non-copyrighted music for your videos.

  • Uploading copyrighted videos and clips without permission of the owner

Well, this is self-explanatory. However, there are videos on YouTube that are free to use. They are called, "Creative Commons." You can search for it on YouTube if you are curious. Those videos are free to use and non-copyrighted.

And other videos that don't follow the Community Guidelines and Restrictions.


Getting back to the main topic here.

How To Get No Copyright Strike On YouTube?

As mentioned above, I met a Filipina YouTuber, and she taught me ways to check if your video has a copyright strike or is safe before uploading. As a new vlogger, one thing that you must do is to maintain a good account and not get any copyright strikes as it will affect you from being eligible for monetization.

Most of the new vloggers are only using their phones, and YouTube and YouTube Studio apps. So copyright issues can not be seen before uploading.

By using the YouTube Studio web at studio.youtube.com, you will be able to identify the copyright issues of your video before uploading. This also helps you manage your account and check the analytics of your videos. You just need to log in to your YouTube account on the YouTube Studio browser, not the app.

As shown in the photo above, one of my videos has a copyright claim. By clicking the "Copyright Claim" on the video, you will see the copyright details, then you can easily resolve it. The second red box in the photo below shows the details and which part of the video needs to be resolved. But I didn't do anything with this since the status shows that "it has no impact on the channel, so it has no copyright strike." Besides, it was a live performance and I can not do anything with the background music.

Another video that has a copyright issue was my video about Central Historic Market. Although it didn't affect my account, the issue was resolvable so I did what was told. The background music I used here was free. However, as stated above, without the permission of the owner and not signing up on its site, it still got a copyright strike.

In case the background music is the issue, you can simply replace it on the YT Studio web using the music from the Audio Library.

However, I found the music in Audio Library not appropriate so I re-edited the original video and replaced the background music. I deleted the video on YouTube and re-uploaded the edited one.


So here's how to check if your video has a copyright strike before uploading.

  • Use studio.youtube.com in uploading your video.

  • On the upper right corner of your account, click "Create" then upload the video you want to upload.

  • Add the thumbnail and supply the Details of your video: title, descriptions, tags, location, etc.

  • Add the Video Elements: subtitles, end screen, and cards.

  • Click next and the copyright issues will be identified in the Checks section.

  • Then just click next for the last step. Your video will then be visible on your channel.

In this way, you will be able to identify the possible copyright issues and resolve the issue before uploading your video.

If background music is your issue, you can visit these sites for free music. Create an account using your YouTube account, then you are free to download and use their music without copyright issues.

Uppbeat

Bensound

It is best to clear your account from any copyright strikes, especially for those who are just starting since it is one of the main requirements for being eligible for monetization.

I also learn just this morning that short videos easily get a lot of views. After 23 minutes, this short video got 1.6K views and 35 likes. I guess I better make a lot of short videos here, lol.

I hope this will help those who are also starting on YT and those who don't know yet about this matter.

Thanks for reading.


You can also reach me on my socials and let's be connected:

noise.app •HIVE •Ecency PeakD  

Twitter •Facebook Youtube

19
$ 1.44
$ 0.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 15
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Nakakaloka din pa lang maging vlogger. Though, I'm aware naman na need talaga ng copyright chenes kasi na-discuss sa IT-related subjects namin. Kaya pala karamihan ng vloggers dito sa'ten is more on voice recording. 🙈

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ehhhhh, amg dami ding hanash ni YT no. Parang ang daming need gawin din. Just to make sure na maga success. Buti at may mabait ka na ka Filipina nag help sa iyo. UwU

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Macheck nga din un sa akin. Dami ko strikes e lol!

Edit: No impact lahat buti na lang :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know a few youtubers and the biggest nono is music, if you are out and about and there is background music, then remove it or the odds are you will get that claim against you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

What about the live concerts? Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't believe a youtuber would even think of doing that!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ituro ko to sa partner ko madam, may YouTube channel kasi yun. Yung sa Facebook page madam pano mae aavoid ang copyrights? May page din kasi siya tapos last week lang na report account nya dahil sa music na ginamit nya, unexpected nga kasi iniiwasan naman nya ang copyrighted pero nacopyrights pa din..😅. Anyways salamat dito madam, good luck sa journey mo.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ano account nya? Pra mafollow ko rin. D ko pa naexplore yung fb page. Pwd nya icheck sa facebook studio web. Dun makikita kung ano strike nya. Bka pwd maresolve dun

$ 0.00
1 year ago

YouTuber na yarn? Hehe. Laban sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parati qng nkakalimutan icheck si yt at magsubs sau.. gagawin q later b4 matulog.. great sharing, at least mkakatulong din sa mga baguhan sa vlogging

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salamuch madam. .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great share sis. Glad madali mo na-resolve yung issues.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The nice thing about YouTube channels is that when you manage to reach a certain number of followers, the others come super fast and the growth is extremely exponential.

Copyright on youtube is a real headache. Anything can affect the video

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's the main goal I want to reach. Once you have a certain number of subs.. The flow of income will be passive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mabuti may strike something na sila bago iupload para hindi na nahirapan pareho kung copywrite (right lol) o hindi.

Ang alam ko lang dati e ecredit mo ang maker ng kanta, ngayon gagawa ka na ng account sa website nila? Madaming pagbabago, babalikan din natin si YouTube some time hehe. Good luck and enjoy Jane.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hndi nalalaman yung direct sa app ang pag upload..kya much better sa studio, dun makikita ano copyright strike mo before iupload

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, alright kaya pala pagclick ko sa link mo e yt studio o site agad. Salamuch sa idea ✌️. Tc Jane.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

U made it and im so proud of you since you are a beginner but you took many views maybe sooner many more viewers

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha..that's just a short video of about 15 sec 😂.. It won't impact my account that much lol..still need a lot of subs and watch hours to meet..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

YouTube have a very strict policy when it comes to using background music and I have encountered that problem on some occasions but I didn't even know about the YouTube studio site. Thanks for the informative article Ate Jane

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Me too.. Only recently when a Filipina introduced it to me..do you have a channel? Give me and I'll follow you 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't actually have a channel 😁 I was helping someone to edit videos for their YouTube channel and they told me about the copyright issues on some of the videos, that's how I knew

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh..how much is your talent fee? Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I actually did it for free, it was for a friend. Believe me when I say you're much better at video editing than I am 😂 I'm not really good at it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha..im just connecting the videos and photos. That's all I know 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Isa Lang sa mga videos ko ang my copyright yung sa kasal namin ni hubby the rest eh parang sa upbeat Ata ko kinuha yung free back ground music..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Dami mo views..ayaw mo icontinue?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Plan Kong bumalik sa vlogging..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Meron ka din pla YouTube alice ✌️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sis meron

$ 0.00
1 year ago

San link mo?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Follow kita 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salamat sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow very informative Jane. I'm sure it will help those who are interested in vlogging. For me, I stick to trying to get better at my sub par writing.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Keep it up 😊..aren't you on YT? So I can give you a follow

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha me on YT. Good one!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Helpful for me, I also have a channel and 2 of my vids had copyright claim but I haven't fix it yet. Will try this method 💛

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oi..comment ka sa one of my vlogs pra mafollow kita hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sigiii po Charlotte Yanto name

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Creative Commons nabasa ko tungkol diyan noon miss Jane. Ang galing ilang minutes palang dami ng views.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Short vid lang yan..haha..hndi mkakadag dag sa time 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Short video lang miss Jane pero daming views. Wow naman. 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Jane thanks a lot for this. I didn't know the copyright claims were shown to us at the content section. I follow your YouTube too! Doing a good job!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Welcome.. I'll check yours later and follow 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don't bother! I don't have one, yet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think I saw your comment before in Sir Marc's video...😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I have an account but I don't upload content.

$ 0.00
1 year ago