(30DofG) Not Just A Positive News

35 98
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

June 13, 2022

It is such an amazing day when we hear positive news first thing in the morning. It makes our happy hormones dance in joy and our lips form upside curves from ear to ear. And do you know the positive effect of it? When we share the good news with others, it will make them feel positive as well. I hope it's just easy to spread happy pills to everyone each day. The world probably will be in a happy state, not chaotic.

The continuation of this 30 Days of Gratitude series talks about positive news I've gotten recently, my favorite area in our home, and a memory that makes me smile.

(30DofG) Not Just A Positive News

Three months ago on a drizzling and gloomy day, I got bad news about the possible demolition of our house because of the upcoming river widening project by the government. My father, on the other hand, complained about the money he spent on building his house and the government can't just demolish it because we own the lot. Besides, it's not an ordinary native small house that is easy to rebuild. And the compensation they would give to affected residents wouldn't be enough to build a new house as it would cost an arm and a leg to buy the materials. It made my jar so full of lemonade that I didn't even know how to discard the excess.

Prior to the election in the Philippines, they started the demolition of the houses by the river. That includes my grandmother and other relatives. The affected residents were given a certain amount of compensation which is not even enough to rebuild a new house. The officials also stated that, after the project, affected ones could rebuild a house in the same area.

The bad news is, after the election, the construction team discontinued working leaving debris, shot rocks, and unfinished shoreline construction on both right and left areas of our house. My grandmother's house can not be rebuilt due to this situation. That's the ugly part of Philippine politics. The politicians running for candidacy would implement projects just to get the votes of the people. After the election, they will abandon the projects, lol. I even joked to my mom, "maybe they will finish the project next election," and she just laughed, lol. But that makes sense.

Blurry resolution, it's just a screenshot from our video call

The good news though is that the officials opted to exempt our house. They probably couldn't pay the worth of money we spent on building our concrete house. They need to pay more than a million if they want to demolish our house and my father would certainly not allow it to be ruined without enough compensation. Besides, he already built a seawall behind our house that could protect us from any unexpected flood and landslides. The construction team just needed to extend the seawall my father made.


Speaking of home, my favorite area in our home is of course my room as I could do anything inside. But honestly, I visited our home only on special occasions when I was in the Philippines as I spent most of my days in the city as I needed to work. So my younger sisters would usually use my room when I am away.

I remembered every time I go back home, my mother would prepare a special viand for me. Of course, my little siblings would love it and they are always excited about what present I have in my bag.

They are all grown-ups now, taller than their 'ate', lol

A memory that makes me smile is when my youngest brother was only seven. He liked taking junk foods and sodas from our mother's store and he doesn't like eating meals as he preferred eating junk foods. One day I tried to dupe him so he would stop eating unhealthy food. "July, stop eating chips and drinking coke. It will create a hole in your tummy." I thought he will be scared and would stop eating.

The next day I tried to stop him again but he just said, "Ate, you're just fooling me. My tummy doesn't have a hole even if I eat chips." That memory always makes me smile. Kids nowadays can not be fooled as they are sometimes even wiser and clever than adults, lol.

A 7-year-old July

He is now 12 years old, fat and tall young boy. He wants me to buy a tablet for him before, but I guess he wants food more than a tablet now, lol. During one of our conversations, I was teasing him and asking if he's gay because my mother said he often acted like a gay and even likes her older sister putting colors on his face. Look at his facial reaction to his older sister sitting next to him because we were both teasing him that day.

Photo from one of our video calls

He isn't a baby boy anymore and I missed those younger times when we were playing with my other little siblings. I remember those days he really talked and walked like a gay and I know there was a possibility that he would become gay when he grow up. And I guess, he's showing some gay symptoms(😅) now. I want him to be a man though, a real man, because we already have a gay in our family, lol.

Reminiscing the good old days with my family really makes me smile. My life may be tough, but I become tougher because of them. Someday, we will meet again. I missed our home sweet home.

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

27
$ 10.61
$ 9.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 13
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Looks like politicians are all the same all over the world. The ones over here also pull that stunt of working on numerous projects when election is around the corner and they abandon it when the election is over. It's a good thing that your dad's house was exempted from the demolition, it would have been a big pain in the neck to rebuild if it was actually demolished

$ 0.02
1 year ago

A very big pain.. My father spent blood and sweat building our house. He finished renovating it just last year..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That would have been a big loss. I always feel sorry for people who fall victim to the government's demolition plan, seeing your home demolished can be really depressing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank God your house wasn't demolished then and your Dad stood his ground, unless they had compensated him enough to rebuild his house. They could actually have cheated someone who wouldn't have a say though.

Your brother is so cute even as he is now grown up.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

He looks gay though 🤣. Fat gay

$ 0.00
1 year ago

By the way Jane I remember uuwi ka na ng Pilipinas di ba? Na-postpone ba yung pag uwi mo?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Extended again... Nag back out yung papalit sna sakn 😥

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww super miss mo na po family mooo like magugulat ka nalang din pag uwi mo how they grow up so fast. Good thing talaga is di naman nasama sa demolition house nyo hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga. Kundi uuwi ako wala bahay 😢

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sorry about Grandma's house. Those politicians have no heart. I won't be surprised if they are meant to give more than they gave. They would have gotten more on paper when they write it in the budget but they are giving stipends after demolition someone's hard sweat without due compensation. Those politicians are the same every where and it's super annoying.

I'm glad God gave dad the wisdom to do what he did and glad the house is still off the demolition trail because it's never easy starting from the scratch no matter how much they would give.

Always a pleasure to see your cuteness, Janeeeeeyyyyyy... Those round glasses...😍😍😍

$ 0.04
1 year ago

The old version of me 🤣.. We're hoping that the project will be done though so our grandma can build a new house without any interruption..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha I love every version of you. I hope they can sort it out too as quickly as possible.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If ever the demolition happen, does the government provide for your house sis?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Iwan.. Kulang pa yung ibibigay pangtayo ng bahay

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Children of this new age are very hard to decieve, if you as an adult are not careful they will even be the once to decieve you, hehehe things have changed now we are in new a world.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe. Like your brother, I used to eat a lot of junk too growing up. But they say all that junk and sweet is good for kids. Hahaha. There is a good chance he'll grow out of it. Sorry to hear about the situation of your grandma, I hope they clear out her space and she can erect her house again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope so too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Welcome to my country where politicians are everything, I thought this Starting a project to get people vote for you and after the election you just dump everything and move on like they never even started anything and the worse part is the people voting them know this will happen because for year's we have being seeing so many of this projects done and left unfinished.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haaay buhay nga naman oh..sana naman at ipagpatuloy na nila ginagawang project nila..kawawa naman nung affected sa demolition at sa sarili pa talaga nilang lupa ba

nakuuuu yung anak ko rin may early signs na sa pagiging gay pero sabi ni mama magbabago pa daw yan pag laki...gusto ko din naman talagang magkaapo lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣.. Wag nman.. Sayang ampogi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Politicians strategy were the same, even in our place, the people who vote them have received assistance from the municipality, those who are not are bokya.

Anyway, your you have a beautiful house and family, your brother have changed a lot as I look at the photos, his a big man.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, I suppose it is not only in my country politicians are cunning. I hope they complete the project so your grandma can rebuild.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope so too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Baka nasa phase lang sya ng 'exploration' hahaha. Tsaka marami din namang straight men na feminine lang talaga kumilos. Pero if ka-pederasyon, support nalang :))

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha..madami na sla sa family namin 😂..pero okay lang kung ganun tlga sya haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad your house wasn't demolished. Your brother's name, July sounds funny. Maybe because I haven't seen anyone bearing that name

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Like politicians are politicians. There are only few them who do what they've promised and served the community rightly and purely. Anyways, your brother was like my brother too. We thought he's gay before but as time went on, he's not pala hahah.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana nga hndi ..sayang naman haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oww kahit ako din ilalaban ko talaga, pero bakit naman hinahayaan lang tsk, for sure madaming pweding mangyari dahil sa mga basura nanaman doon. Pilipinas nga naman.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung steel bars din... Delikado kpg mag laro2 mga bata

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hays mga politicians talaga malala. Nakakapag gulo sa mundo.

Gwapo si July. Sana magkajowa sha ng babae

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha..ayoko nga maging bakla eh..madami na bakla sa family namin kht cousins at uncle ko 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whatever your brother chooses, support na lang hehe.

Grabi talaga ang government natin pero sana matuloy pa rin ang project na yan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayun. Tengga lang ..okay sana kung matapus eh . bahay nla nanay sinira tlga tapus wala lang

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakainit ng ulo pag ganyan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago