Understanding The Importance of the Three P's For Sucess

3 44
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

February 22

"Patience, persistence and perspiration make an unbeatable combination for success" –Napoleon Hill.

I have shared this quote a number of times in the past. However, commiting into these P's is another story. With my hectic schedule in the past few weeks, I realized the importance of the combination of the three.


How are you doing my wonderful readers? I hope you are all doing well. I was supposed to write this article last night, I was too tired already and I did not want to stress myself out further.

I have realized something though. I may have accomplished a lot in the past few weeks. However, there are a few important tasks, that I failed to accomplish in time. As a result I will cramming my schedule again today!

Then I remembered Napoleon Hill's "Three P's of success."

  • Patience,

  • Persistence, and

  • Perspiration


The Formula For Success

I realized that these three must go all together. They must be put in use in combination. A whole formula. If we these in a mathematical equation we get:

patience+persistence+perspiration=successs

Just like in any mathematical equation, if you can't find the value of one variable, you will never find the solution.

Let me share with you my thoughts on these three P's but I'm going to rearrange the order based on my own experience.

Patience

The first three definitions in Dictionary.com states:

  1. the quality of being patient, as the bearing of provocation, annoyance, misfortune, or pain, without complaint, loss of temper, irritation, or the like.

  2. an ability or willingness to suppress restlessness or annoyance when confronted with delay

  3. quiet, steady perseverance; even-tempered care;

The third definition equated paitence with perseverance. That's another P. And perseverance means:

"steady persistence in a course of action, a purpose, a state, etc., especially in spite of difficulties, obstacles, or discouragement."

-Dictionary.com

Simply put, to have patience and perseverance mean, we continue to do what we need to do in spite of the problems, or obstacles that we encounter. We push through to accomplish as task, or a project no matter how difficult it is.

Perspiration

I am not going to give the actual definition of this term, but in this context, it means, we need to work hard to finish things. If you want to stay healthy, you need to exercise. If you want to be knoweldgeable, you need to study. If you want to earn, you have to work.

A house can't build itself.

No champion athlete was not born with the skills they have now. They worked, they practiced endless hours to have the skills they have now.

Source: Unsplash

Persistence

This is defined as:

  • continued existence or occurrence

  • the continuance of an effect after its cause is removed.

-Dictionary.com

With persistence we continue to do things no matter what. The other two P's will become useless or innefective with out pesistence. Life is long journey, not a short sprint.

This means, we need to continuously "perspire" and have "patience" no matter what the curcumstances are.

I admit, that I lack this last P... persistence.

Moreover I am not persistent in doing another 'P' --- PLANNING!

I wrote about the tools/apps that I use to create my monthly, weekly, and daily plans. Planning will help a peson organize his/her day, thus maximize productivity for each given time. However, planning requires time and effort as well.

Then reviewing the plans and goals requires time also. One may reason why spend too much time on planning when we can do things right away. I admit, I think this way too sometimes... no... not sometimes... but often.

What Happens with No or Lack of Planning?

In my personal experience, if I don't write down what I need to do, there is a tendency that I will forget some of the tasks that I needed to do. I would end up cramming in a day or two to catch up with things.

In Closing

We need te three P's to work together. The two P's - Patience and Perspiration to start our journey towards success. However, we need to be persistent to reach success.

On the other hand, we need to be vigilant. Failure is also persistent in trying to stop us on our journey towards success.

Live an abundant life

Thanks for reading.



Previous posts


4
$ 1.43
$ 1.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @MoonTrader
$ 0.01 from @alicecalope
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

It my first time reading your article I can easily say I am really blessed by this and nice meeting you mam or sir . You are right this three p's only assures us of success looking on patience , persistent and perspiration . We need to understand the basic of these words in other to grab success on how hands . Thanks for saving the word by sharing this 🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is a perfect timing reading this article as I need those 3 P's. To remind me always to be more patient, persistent and to do the perspiration. I need to understand that every thing happens for a reason so I need to be more patient, and I need to be persistent in every thing I do and I have to to do the hard work so I can see the outcome of what I do.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad that you find this helpful. Yeah, these three Ps are all equally important.

Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago