Canva is Unbelievably More Versatile Than I Thought

23 144
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

July 27

It's been a while since the last time I designed a tarpaulin. If I remember it right, it was in 2018, when I designed one for my youngest son's second birthday. Yesterday, I started designing one for our eldest son's birthday tomorrow.

I still have my laptop. But I prefer using my tablet. At first, I used Medibang Paint. I know I could have just used my favorite app. However, I decided to try the other apps in the list I mentioned in my two-part article "Graphic Design Apps Graphic Designers Need To Try".

I tried Ibis Paint. Again, I could have created the tarp using Ibis Paint. Then again, I wanted to try something else. So, I thought of using Canva instead.

Created Using Canva

Greetings my dear read-cash readers, friends, and sponsors. Those who have been following me here may have already noticed that I normally use Canva in creating my lead image for my articles. I have been using Canva for quite a while. Most of the time, however, I use it to create images for my articles. Suffice to say, I haven't explored the full potential of Canva.

What is Canva?

Canva is a free online design and publishing tool. It can be used to create social media images, presentations, flyers, calling cards, and a whole lot more.

You can use Canva for free but there are images, elements, and templates that can be accessed only by premium users or you if you pay for them.

How I used Canva So Far.

At the time of writing, I used Canva mostly in creating images for my articles. Sometimes, I use it to add text to the images that I post in Noise-cash.

Recently, I am using it to create designs for calling cards.

Exploring Canva More...

Earlier today, I decided to try if I can use Canva for a large print format. In other words, I tried to create a tarpaulin using Canva.

The tarpaulin dimension is 3 feet by 2 feet. It's not big. But since Canva is an online application, even if I am using the mobile application, I was half-expecting that I will have some problem with the speed, considering the size of the project.

To my surprise, after uploading the large background image, it felt like I was just creating another social media image.

I tried to keep the number of elements of my design as little as possible. I'm still wary that the app might lag if I put too many elements. After maybe half an hour, I finished my initial design. What took much of my time is editing the image which was compressed when it was sent via Facebook.

Nevertheless, to cut the story short, I was able to finish the design. Canva saves the design automatically on their cloud storage. I downloaded the project as a PNG file. The file was over 6 MB.

In Closing.

I admit, that I underestimated Canva in the past. Recently, I have been using it a lot. Unless I have a problem with my Internet connection. After today though, I realized that Canva is unbelievably more versatile than I thought. It has its limitations, especially the free version. But premium users can access some additional features like background eraser and other features.

If you have not tried Canva yet, I suggest you give it a try.

Thanks For Reading


15
$ 9.05
$ 8.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Jnavedan
+ 5
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

Definitely, it has all you need for your presentation and everything you want to do on your images creatively.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Canva is such a good and user friendly tool. I always use it to create greeting cards, tarp, invitation, and lead image here in rc.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Canva is my all-time favorite application when it comes to editing and designing. Been using it for years and it helped me and my career a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Canva is awesome i use it all the time. You should consider putting your referral link in with your article, you can earn some money or free credits for premium features.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

[spam]

$ 0.00
1 year ago

thanks for reminding me that. I forgot about that referral link.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always use Canva in my school works though. There are many thing you can do in this app.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I so love to use Canva sir because it is so user friendly and even if you would just explore and do some experiments, surely you would have good results for any draft to make.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am a great fan of Canva. I am using it for most of my design projects. I also use it to create tarp designs. Though mostly for personal use. I am really satisfied with this app though there are some limitations because I am using the free version.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

yeah. Same here, I'm using the free version. I have to use other apps to do the other tasks I can't do in Canva

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just used can't too in making a tarpulin, yes your design was great,I like it, that too cute.Im still exploring canva , so that I can use effectively.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Canva is really versatile and very good tool for editing.. thanks to MJ she introduced it to me .

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I used canva as well pero di ko Keri ung ganyang ka creative ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Canva user since 2020. Kahit naka free ako sir eh ok na ok pa din naman. Pero if ever na pagka perahan ko pagdedesign sa canva eh baka mag premium na din ako hihi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I use Canva for many of my design stuff, from my article covers to ebook covers. For things that require more precision that I can't get in the free Canva version, I use other programs like GIMP, but at least Canva replaced 70% of my editing and made my work faster.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The design is good 👍. I have not tried canva. I only have pixellab.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oh wow! And I have just tried Pixellab! I recreated my design in under 10 minutes! And It has a lot of features Canva does not have. and... (I will reply to @ahmadmanga's question below)...

Why haven't I tried Pixellab before?!?!?!?!

Thanks for this

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Can pixellab be used offline? Canva is an online-only app...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I installed Pixellab and turned off my wi-fi... guess what... It worked perfectly!!!!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks for letting me know!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really love this designs of yours it worth more than million. I also use canva some times to carry out assignment in school which the teachers usually end up liking mine than others, it good to see we both know the benefits of what we have it time we share it to others

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No doubt Canva is type best application for designing and creation of Images. I have used it from start but I am making trail on other apps mentioned in your article. There is no comparison of Canva with them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I just learned about Pixellab from @Tife's comment. I think you should try it...

$ 0.00
1 year ago