Typhoons and Hurricanes

25 43
Avatar for Infinity
2 years ago

December 16, 2021. No. 98

At the moment the Philippines is being besieged by Typhoon Rai. Its forces are equivalent to a category 4 hurricane. I know very well about hurricanes because they are frequent in Cuba, but only between the months of June to November. Outside these months, these storms do not form.

Matthew hurricane

Typhoons and hurricanes are exactly the same metrological phenomenon, only it is called differently because of the geographical position of the planet in which it occurs. When one of these storms occurs in the North Atlantic, the Caribbean, and the Northeast Pacific, it is called a hurricane. On the other hand, in the northwestern Pacific, these storms are called typhoons. Despite the name, it remains the same: A demonic wind and torrential rain.

The natural disaster that leaves us in its wake is regrettable and difficult to assimilate. Families who see the roof of their houses disappear in a matter of seconds or even their entire house is swept away. The electricity poles in the dream complement, which you do after work to replenish the electricity take several days. It is a bleak picture. More damage is avoided by the evacuation of people living in a risk area mainly.

Recovering after a weather event like this is never easy. The other important point is the number of deaths that can be left behind. Luckily, these cases are few in my country, but I see the news in other countries and there are many fatalities due to these meteorological events.

Image from windy - Typhoon Rai

Typhoon Rai could turn into a super typhoon. Its maximum winds exceed 215 km / h, making it the equivalent of a Category 4 hurricane on the Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Wind Scale.

Flooding is one of the biggest problems. Imagine that if you managed to survive the winds and rain, you could still be the victim of unprecedented floods.

In chatting with @LykeLyca and @Eybyoung and reading the news, I was surprised that it said that this typhoon was the 15th to hit the country in the year. This is an insane figure. Imagine that practically every month, even months with more than one. Although not all typhoons become large, they are still so. It will always affect the economy and social welfare.

I sincerely wish you a speedy recovery after this typhoon passes, and that the damage it causes is minimal. May all of you and your family members remain safe throughout this time. Do not worry, that everything will happen quickly. Its speed of translation will increase and in this way, the damage will be less. Remember not to take any action when your life is in danger. Try to stay informed and charge your cell phones now while they are out of power. Tomorrow, when it happens, they can surely recover as best they can with everyone's effort, in record time. Hopefully, it doesn't take human lives, which is the most important thing too.

Good luck to you all! A lot of strength Philippines.

15
$ 9.87
$ 9.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 11
Sponsors of Infinity
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Infinity
2 years ago

Comments

Thats one thing about life. We might be planning a wedding, about to graduate, or about the buy a new home or any other things that humans do to take a step. Then, all of a sudden, life would just happen in the form of natural disaster or a pandemic and before you know , we have lost everything and now back to square zero. .... Thank you very much for this enlightenment. Ever since I was in high school, I found it hard to differentiate between a hurricane, typhoon and tornado.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly the same, but with a difference in their names. They are natural disasters. I hope everything goes well. It's like you say, nature has its own agenda.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We call the typhoon here Odette and she already made a 3 land fall I think my gosh. I wish that those affected are all okay. Even our province has a signal too but I'm still thankful that there's no rain.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad you're safe. Take care my friend. A hug. You keep us informed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The rain just intensified this evening hopefully it will be gone before midnight.. Thanks for the concern. Btw, are you writing while chatting? Haha! You got an article up ans ready.. That's fast!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes! I commented to Eybyoung that it even seems that I fell asleep 😴 ahah (it was at 12 at night here) and I accidentally gave him publish, the title left with a misspelling, misspelled. Tiredness from work these days has been a lot, it leaves me without time to even be online.

I hope everything goes well and that it happens quickly. Good luck to all. 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is one of the reasons why I will always thank God for the kind of weather we have over here. There has not been cases of extreme weather conditions. Please stay safe and I pray for all those in the affected area.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If you live in a place on the planet where these events do not exist, consider yourself privileged. There are very few.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am seriously grateful to God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I read all year long how hurricanes hit the Filipinos. Flooding and destruction of their property and crops. May God help them in such a terrible time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And I thought that my country was badly positioned geographically due to the hurricanes that always pass through here. Now I realize that what we do is child's play compared to them. How sad. I hope everything goes well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

15 typhoons is lesser actually. Mostly, we experienced 20+ typhoons for the whole year. It can't be help since we are near at the Pacific Ocean. This typhoon right now is strong, local government units have been preparing for days for this before it landed. Good thing, citizens have evacuated before it landfall this morning.

Thanks for your concern, by the way.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If only 5 hurricanes pass through my country, with that intensity, it is a loss of millions of USD for the economy and it is really difficult to recover after that. Imagine more than 15. Good luck.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are already used to it. 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have read a lot about this recent typhoon that is happening in the Philippines, I heard they are still expecting more storms before the end of the year

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They say 20 is the record. I can even imagine 20 hurricanes passing over my country in a year. It disappears us from the map.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am praying to God to all of my fellow Filipinos who are affected in the typhoon, I hope and pray that no lives will waste.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Avoid the loss of human lives, should be the first mission. I hope so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am praying my friend because the typhoon is a Super typhoon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I read about these in geography and different names of these phenomenon like willy- willy in Australia and cyclone in India in geography. well cyclones are also common in indian coastal areas every year almost.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So sad my friend. Hopefully everything will work out. 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so terrifying news for the world cause the typhoon might struck other countries and they must prepared for it, here in Philippines specially in Visayas and Mindanao, they are experiencing heavy rains and heavy flood, I feel pity for the people there since evacuation area is already fully occupied and there's a risk of a virus.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hopefully everything passes quickly and there are no major damages or deaths. These natural disasters are getting stronger every year. Climate change is a reality.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We we're just chatting and now you already publish this one haha. FAST HANDS!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I posted it at 12 at night. After the exhaustion of the day, I began to write. So I am doing daily. I almost always fall asleep while writing ahah. It's that lately I don't have time for almost anything, a lot of work. I even made a mistake and the title was misspelled 😩. I think I accidentally gave him post. That happens when you are tired. I hope everything goes well and that it happens quickly. They keep us posted. A hug.

$ 0.00
2 years ago