Claustrophobia

30 105
Avatar for Infinity
2 years ago

December 21, 2021. No. 103

Let's imagine for a second that we are in a mine about 100 meters deep. The only light is that cast by the helmet we wear on our heads. The place is not exactly a 5-star hotel where you have space in the double room to do the Olympic Games if you wish. It is very tight and difficult to move between the walls that every second, they give you the feeling that they are squeezing you. Still, in those conditions or even worse, miners have to work today. You would do it?

I have a special relationship with claustrophobia. I know several people who suffer from it, making it difficult for them every second of their lives. I have not been exempt from suffering it, and to some extent, I would dare to say that almost everyone suffers it once in their life at least. It is that the simplest thing is to put on a pullover and that it locks in the head, covering the face and the reflection begins that you are suffocating for just a few seconds. It is a feeling that is fully in your mind, and that will make you believe at all times, that you are drowning in yourself.

The closest I have ever experienced this has been when I have been in an elevator. Once I got stuck in one for more than half an hour. As soon as the elevator stopped, getting stuck in the middle of the floor, the sweat began to run down my body and the heat took over me. The feeling that the walls were getting smaller every moment is enormous m. And the other chaperones in the elevator get bigger as each second goes by. You have nowhere to run and the mind begins to do mischief: "What if it is the same as in the movie that the elevator falls?" "What if they can't open it any more?" "And now how do I get out?"

You definitely can't do anything to improve the situation. You're only going to make it worse with that attitude. It doesn't help anyone, least of all yourself. The nervousness increases and you do not see that the situation improves much more. Eventually they fix the elevator and when they open the door, you are shot out and pale. You do not scream, but you win you do not lack. And that's not enough, considering that I don't think I suffer from claustrophobia, or at least not at a high level.

Many are afraid to get on a bus that is busy. In these cases looking for the window is the best option and not looking inside. This way you avoid the effect that other people could have on you, even if they are not even touching you. The mind can be treacherous and play tricks, it is a favorite pastime on many occasions. It sends you a signal that you are in danger and to get out of that urgent situation.

"Claustrophobia is a situational phobia triggered by an irrational and intense fear of small or crowded places."

Those who suffer from it, usually take antidepressants and other medications that are used in these cases. The goal is to remain sedated to prevent the mind from making its plays. Claustrophobia is not easy to combat, it requires a lot of work on the part of the person who suffers it, and a lot of understanding on the part of all of us towards these people. They are like that not because they want to attract attention, they cannot help it. Do not push them away, add them to your life and help them overcome these fears.

Has it happened to any of you? Do you have a family member or friend who is suffering from it?

Is all for today. I have had very little, to say the least, time to keep an eye on my notifications today. I hope you understand. I hope the situation improves eventually. Again, I apologize.

Credits:

100% original content.

17
$ 7.75
$ 7.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 11
Sponsors of Infinity
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Infinity
2 years ago

Comments

My brother sometimes experience this claustrophobic thing. He don't even attend elegant birthdays. You should bring him food, and he'll be fine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not claustrophobic but the times I have been put through an MRI machine I am terrified. The way to forget that I am in that cramped space is to forget where I am. And walk away from the place in my mind until someone says.... Done.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is that the human mind is made of imagination. So she wants to play sometimes, and makes us believe that this reduced space is bad, or that the door will never open and we are in danger.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The fear of small spaces. Yes, it is an unpleasant and paralyzing situation for those who suffer from it.

Well, my youngest daughter suffers from a fear of heights. Even today at twenty-four years old when she crosses a narrow bridge or an elevated and suspended escalator she panics and clings to my arm.

What will this type of phobia be called? Perhaps height phobia.

There are those who say that only by facing fears are they overcome. Hopefully, it was so easy to say, but in reality, it is a torment for those who suffer from it.

Greetings.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Acrophobia, that's what it's called. Face your fears, no one is going to tell you that it is easy to do it. But it's not impossible. Everything is in your mind, although it is difficult to change it, it can in some cases, with perseverance and time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think I am claustrophobic coz I am not scared of small places, mine is quite the opposite; I am scared of large dark places 😆 maybe I think I am not claustrophobic because I haven't exactly been in that situation before. But one fear I have is the fear of high places

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The moment you get stuck in an elevator, at that moment everything becomes complex

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm. Claustrophobia,that's a new one to me. I don't think I have ever been claustrophobic before, I was actually born in a market place 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

😂 Wow, Sure if the crowd doesn't bother you. Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know a friend with this phobia, it's worse to the extent that we sleep with light on because of him back in year 1

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow, really intense then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not claustrophobic. Though I've never been stuck in an elevator to test my limit but I'm pretty sure I don't have issues with closed spaces.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Until the moment you get on an elevator and your mind starts working. I hope it never happens to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It won't. I'm Batman. .lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've never experienced claustrophobia and will never know how how claustrophobia people feel since I've never come across one.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's a strange choking sensation. I hope it never happens to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can't exactly say I am not claustrophobic, as there are many situations I have not experienced, like being stuck in an elevator. But I do know I don't like crowded places.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Being in a crowd is obviously not something that pleases many. Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also got stuck in an elevator once and I think that also caused a very very minor claustrophobia on my part too. I am lucky somehow that I was alone in the elevator that time and I just sat in the middle while waiting for the maintenance crew to get me out. After I got out, I experience a super trembling feeling on my knees, I can't even walk for a few minutes after I got out. Now, I don't want to be in a closed space or around too many people.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That experience is horrible. Luckily you passed it fast

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so happy that I don't suffer from it because a lot of things could have happened but my nephew does and I always try to calm him down anytime it happens.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks my friend 😊 🙏 Take care of him. This situation is not easy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This kind of phobia is new to me, as none of my family members or even I, myself don't feel that kind of fear. I'm fine with crowd and I'm fine with small places too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow, congratulations 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It works a little inside me. I've seen when I live in a locked room, an extra fear works in me. The details about this were good again after a while.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's how claustrophobia works

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't have it though.. But I just don't like the crowd. Small places are fine for me too..but not the point that I'm squeezing myself inside a confined space..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

A few years ago I was at a concert, where I could literally lift my feet off the ground and float through the population. How terrible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same as you Sir being stock in the elevator thinking many whaf if that triggered more fears.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So scary 😩☹ī¸

$ 0.00
2 years ago