Let's learn some Cebuano!

31 53
Avatar for HermaniGinger
2 years ago

Kamusta na ang tanan? It means "How is everyone?"...

Today, I am gonna be your teacher, char. And I'm gonna turn you into chalk if you're not gonna listen to me.

Bitaw oi, gikapoy na ko ug ininEnglish...Mag-Binisaya sa ta karon, oki ra? Actually, ang formal na tawag sa Bisaya nga language is Cebuano.

Cebuano is the most spoken language in the Philippines and the most understood. It is our lingua franca (check the meaning here).

But due to its complexity, we have our national language, the Filipino language which is a combination of most dialects in the Philippines. (Ingon si Grammarly I sounded like a genius).

Anyways, let's start with the basics -sugdan nato sa pinakasimple, simulan natin sa pinakasimple. Ang format ng example natin ay Cebuano- English, Tagalog.

Kamusta- How are you? -Kamusta or Kamusta ka na?

Nahigugma ko nimo- I love you- Mahal kita

Ambot- I don't know- Ewan ko

Halok- Kiss-Halik

Purtahan/Ganghaan-Door- Pinto

Asa ka padulong?- Where are you going? -Saan ka papunta?

Ngano?- Why? -Bakit?

Pila man?/ Pila man kabouk? -How much?/how many?- Magkano?/Ilan?

Aha ka nagpuyo?- Where do you live? -Saan ka nakatira?

Dagan- Run- Takbo

Tagam or Mirisi- Karma's got you- Buti nga sa'yo

Naunsa mana sya- What's wrong with you? -Ano'ng nangyayari sa'yo?

Ganahan ko nimo- I like you -Gusto kita

Amigo-Friend-Kaibigan

Langgam-Bird-Ibon

Lamigas-Ant-Langgam

Let's have a practice: Ganahan ko nimo (I like you) kay (because) amigo taka (you are my friend). Ta- means my ka- means you

Just sharing a joke (no pun intended): Sino ang mas advanced, mga Bisaya or Tagalog?

Sagot: Bisaya

Bakit?

Kasi ang langgam sa mga Tagalog gumagapang pa lang, sa Bisaya lumilipad na (wewewewe)

The baby cried and wanted me to carry her...I am exhausted already...Time check 12:48 A.M...I shall continue this later during our quiet time. See you!

So yeah, hey again, my dear friends. It is now 12:46 PM...Wow, 12 hours since my last writing. Saoirse is beside me watching Cocomelon while I am typing. I guess she has to get used to this kind of set-up once I start working.

Anyways, before we continue with our lesson, let me flex my sponsors:

Sponsors of HermaniGinger
empty
empty
empty
You guys are amazing! Thank you for the support- more BCH and blessings to you!

Aha na ta?- Where are we? -Asan na tayo?

Manayaw ta- Let's dance- Sayaw tayo

Tukar- Music-Kanta

Nitukar-Starting to/Here goes- Ayan na naman sya

Example: Nitukar (Here goes or starting to) na sad (na sad- again) iya (her or his) sapot (moody or bad mood)

English: She's moody again

Tagalog: Tinotopak na naman sya

Kapoy- Tired-Pagod

Example: Gikapoy nakog (I am tired of) sinulat (writing) aning (this) blog tungod sa (because of the) bata (baby).

English: I am tired of writing this blog because of the baby.

Tagalog: Pagod na ko sa blog na to dahil sa bata.

I do hope that you learned from me today. Cebuana is a fun language to learn and believe me, you will survive going to Bisaya region if you know some terms and phrases. Bisaya people are a little naughty so beware :P Do you want to share a Cebuano term or do you want to ask the meaning of a Cebuano word? Do comment down below and I will answer you.

I was supposed to publish this last night but because my baby is teething again, cried multiple times and woke up in the middle of the night for nth times hagardo versoza ang witchy nyo.

Will make it up to you later, guys.

Thanks for all your support. If you like me, char..I mean if you like my articles, do subscribe so you will be updated whenever I have a story to share.

Author's note: The purpose of this article is for entertainment only. I am not a professional linguist. Do research if you wanna study Cebuano further. What I shared was my stock knowledge.

All the images were from Unsplash.com

Balik-balik ha ;)

©HermaniGinger

13
$ 1.17
$ 0.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.05 from @Jelena
+ 6
Sponsors of HermaniGinger
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HermaniGinger
2 years ago

Comments

I don't know this. First time see this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maayo article og I know mahal kita and I know much more cebuano than I know tagalog maayong buntag :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maayong gabii, sir Ed :) It was already nighttime when I read your response. Who taught you Cebuano if I may ask?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so cool, thank you so much. I will need this when I come to visit you. 😊 Nahigugma ko nimo! Mahal kita! I love you my friend! 😊 Tagalog seems easier than Cebuano. We say I love you - Volim te. Mahal kita is a bit funny to me because "kita" in Serbian is impolite slang word meaning male organ 😀 I love learning languages, this is an awesome article!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha, thanks for the tip about the impolite word, my friend Jelie :D Mahal din kita, it means I love you too :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for it. Now I'm learning it too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I learned a few many years ago from a Cebuano friend :) nakalimutan ko yung iba pero yung iloveyou naalala ko nung nabasa ko yung lesson na eto hehe. Salamat sis :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa dihang gehangak nka cge English no? Hahaha dghn nta nagdugo na ang ilong. Di mn ko nagagamit ug grammarly app sis ky english carabao rmn ning akoa hahaha.

Pero nalingaw ko sa imo blog ron🤣.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the lesson teacher .. Nahigugma ko nimo 😁❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Welcome, my dear. I love you too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is effort indeed. 😁 Keep it up po. Mas maraming makaka learn about basics of our mother tongue, hehe. From Leyte here.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aww, salamat po. Naay Waray diri, isog ra ba mga Waray hehe.. Thanks for the visit!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is an informative article especially for those who have the courage to learn our language . I myself from Cebu and glad to read that you were able to share your knowledge here. For sure , those who are willing to learn are enjoying reading this.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you :) I do hope the readers will enjoy :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala, Bisaya here. Taga asa ka? hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Bisdak hehe, taga Iligan ko :) Ikaw sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

taga Davao, Sis. Hahahha Bisdak kaayo 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe dugay na ka dari sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

1 month pa sis ahhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww okay ra na sis. Fight lang :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nalingaw kaayo ko nagbasa Ana sis labi na sa langgam. Sa elementary pa ko, first nakong pagkadungog anang langgam sa Filipino Subject kay abi nako pareha lang sa bisaya ug meaning, Dili d i, hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mao lagi sis, usahay makalibog noh hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha libog jud kaayo sis oi, Mao Usahay kung makadungog ko ug Tagalog nga word na naa pud sa Cebuano word, makatawa ko kay lain man ug meaning lagi..Taga Iligan d i ka sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah kanang imong gi ingon nga libog sis ahehe..Bastos sa ilaha..Oo taga Iligan ko sis. Dugay nako daris Manila. Salamat sa suporta :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na Mao jud sis. Pastilanan, hahaha...Way sapayan sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nalingaw kog basa. Kining naanad tag iningles nga pucho pucho lang, dili na hinoon ko kamao mobinisaya. Unique article karon pa ko nakabasa g ingon ani.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salamat sis, usahay kapoy na magininglish hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok Let's learn mate.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sure mate :) Welcome to read!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tagam or mirisi which is commonly tells a person who have done something unethical deeds to others. Thanks for sharing this information of yours.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes and we always use that in our province lol. You are welcome, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago