Fighting for my dreams- how did it happen?

24 38
Avatar for HermaniGinger
2 years ago

This is my 4th draft of writing. I wanted to postpone writing about this but I am too excited.

Anyways, I have been absent for the past few days- I wasn't able to publish a story because I was too busy fighting for my dreams! I did check in from time to time and thank you for renewing your sponsorships sisters @BCH_LOVER and @yhanne and to my newest sponsors, one of my bunso sisters @Rhoma ...She used to be my sponsee, now it is the other way around.

Magandang umaga, tanghali, hapon, gabi sa inyong lahat no matter where in the world you are! Keep on fighting, especially for your dreams and climate change. The Earth deserves to breathe so please let us help in whatever way we can.

The beginning of a crazy adventure

I was scrolling my Facebook newsfeed when I came across an advert from FTW or Future for The Women Foundation, a non-profit organization in partnership with Accenture about a Salesforce Cloud Developer Program. I got so excited that I clicked on the "Apply" button. I think I was online and reading some articles here on read when I received an email from them.

Here is a screenshot taken from my inbox

I wasn't sure whether to take it or not but I was swayed by their statement, "We believe you have the potential". I clicked on the button that contains the assessment but didn't do anything so they reminded me to do it.

Screenshot from my inbox

And that 60 minutes was definitely one of the most difficult in my examinations life lol. There were 30 items in Math and it was only for 15 minutes. Because it was time-pressured, I had to guess the remaining numbers I couldn't answer anymore. And after it, the Math exam was followed by Database exams. Some were easy questions because I remembered my subjects but I did some fast research as well. But the rest of the Database exam was True or False and there was also a Venne diagram exam. I just followed my instinct in choosing the best answer lol. It was time-pressured too. And then there was a programming exam. You have to determine the output of the program, good thing I had a self-study with Javascript. I think I was able to answer some of them correctly. And then HTML, my love. Though there were questions that I didn't know, most of them were basic questions so I guess, I was safe??

The funny thing was, that the email address that I used in the exam was different from the application. When I realized it, I got disheartened. I tried taking the exam again using the correct email this time but I didn't finish the assessment. I decided to forget about it. How would I be chosen among those thousands of applicants all over the country?

Screenshot from my inbox

Just when I decided to move on, a piece of good news came into my inbox! Whattt??? Are you sure?

But it wasn't a dream! I passed that horrifying exam, woohooo!!! And I was so happy and proud of myself. And I told my cousin @Lucifer01 about it.

I remember those moments when my dream of applying my knowledge in Computer Science almost came true:

  1. My application in Metrobank was way back in 2008 when it kept on raining whenever I go for my interview and I applied as an IT support. I stopped when it rained for the 3rd time lol. I would always go home dirty because of the muddy streets of Blumentritt.

  2. I applied to Stefanini, an IT company based in Makati. Their offer wasn't that big for an entry-level IT Helpdesk role but I was after the experience. I passed all the exams, which also made me proud of myself. But I decided to stop the application because I was already computing the expenses- I had to avoid overdraft because I have a child to support because I was a single mom.

  3. When I was the only one offered a Study Now Pay Later Scholarship by Zuitt last 2018. I tried to apply because the offer was great and I want to relearn. But I didn't have 8K pesos as an initial downpayment and I had to travel from Caloocan to GMA Kamuning. I can't handle the expenses. So, goodbye Zuitt.

I did love studying Computer Science, especially when my favorite instructors handle the subjects. You will really see the difference in my grades lol.

Anyways, back to the topic. And now, here is this good opportunity. So when I received this email, I felt like my dreams are coming into reality. And I do pray that God will give it to me this time.

So I opened the email and saw another challenge: a pre-work that needs to be done on or before the 20th of this month. Hmmm..And when I opened the link, my brain froze.

Brain freeze- image source from Thoughtco.com

I was just looking at the screen, my mind was blank for hours. What do you think happened to me after that? Did I survive?

See you in my next article!

P.S I remember you sis @Khing14 because you are good at computers or programming or whatever. Miss you!

TO MY BEAUTIFUL AND HANDSOME SPONSORS AND MY 56 SUBSCRIBERS- MARAMING SALAMAT PO!

All content is mine unless stated otherwise. The lead image was from Unsplash.com, the Brain Freeze image from Thoughtco.com and the rest of the pictures were from my inbox.

April 21, 2022

I miss you read and noise.cash universes!

©HermaniGinger

15
$ 1.44
$ 1.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 11
Sponsors of HermaniGinger
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HermaniGinger
2 years ago

Comments

Wow well done my friend, I am so happy for you! You are very smart and deserve the best! 😘 I will read the next article now😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for your time in reading my article and for the support, dear Jelie :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Galing sis ah! Pagdating sa computer medyo kulilat ako ksi di nmn kasing hightech noon kesa ngayon eh.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe okay lang yan sis. Salamat :) May ilang rounds pa for tomorrow :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Laban lng sis hehehe. Para sa ekonomiya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat sis hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations dear 😍😍 I am so happy for you and proud of you too! This is a step in your ladder of success, I wish you more dreams come true ❤️🎉

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, dear. I still have to fight for my slot tomorrow lol but I appreciate your well-wishes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are doing awesome, sis Jas!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you sis :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

keep the spirit to carry out all efforts, never give up and give up hope to achieve a dream and restore the image that used to be held requires extra hard work.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you very much, my friend. Your words have moved me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well done! Although curious as to what happened next.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you po. I made it to the next round it will be a workshop and if I make it, the interview is the last step :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm always proud of you my dear angel. I never doubted in your abilities. Congratulations for the success but more way to go.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

THank you, my dear cousin. I am on the next half of the challenge :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looking forward sa next article kung ano ba talaga meaning Ng freeze brain na Yan hehe...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha mamaya sis :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too trying to Chase my dreams and want to turn them into reality. But time not giving me a single opportunity to do it. I need strong motivation and planning too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You can do it, my friend. Don't think you don't have the opportunity- think the other way around and you will manifest it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand your situation my friend. All of us here will miss some days to be active for some valid reasons as yours. The important there is we learn to go back.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, my friend. Read is my family as well, I wouldn't leave it forever.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're very much welcome my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have a great day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago