What happened at Hollywood

9 61
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

Every Nigerian University hostel has its unique history and somehow people with distinct characters are grouped today in a dorm or hall. Yesterday an event occurred at work and it was similar to something that happened some years back at the prestigious Hollywood hall in Yabatech. I was still all smiles till I got home and together with my brother we started reminiscing on events that took place when we were at the Hollywood hostel

Hollywood hostel Yabatech

Yaba college of technology, Is the first higher institution in Nigeria and history says doing the Festac festival in the year 1977, a hall was built in this school to house foreigners who were in Nigeria to celebrate. After leaving, the hall was converted into a hostel for students, hence the name Hollywood. The hostel is known to house the most troublesome students in the school, even if you aren’t before you get into the hall they will make you turn ways. While staying there so many things happened, here are a few

1. The Proud beggar

I have a weakness which is known to my roommates. I hate when someone says he is hungry, I will try my best to help him one way or the other, even when it isn’t convenient for me. They know this and make use of it always, asking for one thing or the other from me even when they know it isn’t convenient for me.

One day I felt I’ve had enough and I declared that my Santa Clause days are over. I didn’t listen to their noise or usual complaints when I’m cooking, I know it’s a style to eat from it. However, one of them came to me and ask me to give him noodles because he is starving, I went against my decision and opened my wardrobe to give him the noodles he asked for. I brought out 4 and gave him but he said I should add Sardine to it. Obviously, he saw a can of Sardine in my wardrobe when I took the Noodles out.

At first, I thought it was a joke, how on earth will I give you the only sardine in my wardrobe after giving you noodles?. he insisted but I refused, he threw the noodles on the floor and left the annoyance. That was the final stroke that broke my camel’s back, I took a new decision that shocked all of them. The audacity makes me laugh now.

2. Lost Last supper

I and my brother shared a bunk together in my second year and we cooked together. We ran out of foodstuff after a few weeks and had just two cups of beans. We decided to cook it that night and tomorrow we will both find ways to earn some money. When the weather is hot, we don’t cook in the room, we use the corridor so there I was cooking our last supper with the hope that tomorrow’s meal will be provided miraculously.

I decided to go in and take salt, pepper, oil and other spice but came back to meet just my stove outside. The pot of beans was gone. I shouted, went everywhere shouting, and made vain threats but the pot of beans was not to be seen. I was close to tears and my stomach was grumbling in protest. I decided to call some friends and offered to help them with their assignment for a little token. They accepted my offer and I was able to get a meal for myself and my brother.

Weeks later the pot miraculously reappeared at our door, washed clean. Since then, whenev’m cooking, I stay with my food to avoid another food theft.

3. The night king

Everyone in my room was complaining of missing foodstuff every day, we didn’t pay much attention to it since the foodstuff that kept missing was Garri. Garri is just like Cornflakes that need not much fuss to prepare. In fact, with just water, you can eat Garri, so people don’t put much value on it, although it’s a lifesaver for students with little money on them.

After some weeks in school, most students go broke and have to rely on their Garri to survive, that was when the missing Garri became something to worry about. Everyone denied taking it. The thief doesn’t steal any other thing apart from Garri, and he sometimes leaves the cup unwashed, so we knew it’s definitely someone from our room.

On a certain night, a few of us decided to keep watch and see who is doing this almost every night. We did this for some days but the thief didn’t strike. We gave up and everyone started locking their lockers in ways they haven’t been doing before.

One day I woke up to go to the toilet and heard some sound close to my wardrobe/locker. I asked who was there but no one answered. I switched the light on and behold I saw one of our roommates with a cup in hand, mouth filled with Garri hiding. I gasped in awe and started laughing. A few other roommates woke up and saw the scene. That was how caught the night king or the Garri King rather. The funniest part is that he joined us in keeping watch know knowing he is the culprit.

There are other funny experiences I can remember while typing this but that will be for another day.

Thanks for Reading! 🤗💙🤗

Special thanks to @PVMihalache and @foryoubtc09 he sponsorship renewal.

11
$ 1.51
$ 1.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Giddyboy
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 9
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

Comments

Lol 🤣 garri night king School life is the best

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Huhu school days ahhahah so much of memories, hostel life haha frustrating

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha the night king ke nibo 😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is so hilarious 😂. Imagine the garri stealer hunting for himself 😂. Hostel life is interesting and frustrating

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah. All hell will break loose o...they took that pot of beans. Ah. Everyone in that hostel will suffer o because I will pack their clothes and throw it away 😂😂🤣😂😂. They will all pay for it o hahaha.

Imagine...he threw the noodles on the floor hahaha. It's obvious he isn't hungry he just want to take undue advantage of your goodness. People like that annoys me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

School days memories 😆😆...it was really fun when I was at school you know and it seems as though nothing has really changed 😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

lot of memories was brought back after reading this. i remember how some will steal ones clothes and still have that gut to sell the same cloth to the person. hostel lifeis very fuuny i swear.,

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hostel life hen😅😅😅😅, so many people from different backgrounds and different behaviours. I miss being in the hostel presently.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's absolutely nothing you will not get to experience in a Nigerian higher institution

$ 0.00
1 year ago