The Diamond you seek

31 93
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

The Diamond I'm talking about isn't the one given to the top tippers on the platform. It isn't the silver one neither is it the Golden one.

Recently I've read so many relationship-related articles on this platform. The married ones gave their advice and the singles also entertained us with a challenge and little word of advice. Most of these articles came from the ladies and I began to wonder- "Don't guys also have anything to say about relationships? Or don't we have single guys in the house to give us relationship tips? Or are we all players?. lol.

I'm a boy with little or no experience compared to others. Probably because of our I shut my heart to love as I talked about in my previous article. But I still can say I know what love is. Isn't it the beautiful feeling you feel, that you can't just explain?. lol

Let me share the story of my friend with you...

Andrew's regret

My friend Andrew (i changed the name) was very close to Melinda who was our long time friend. Though the three of us are friends, the connection he shared with Melinda was incomparable. I sometimes get envious of them. They understood each other and even acted the way couples would.

Numerous attempts to tell him Melinda was the girl for him fell on deaf ears. Though the choice was his to make, it was so glaring that the girl was into him and she took him as someone more than just a friend. Andrew's reply every time anyone suggests dating Melinda to him was "Though she has the majority of all the attributes I want in a girl, I can just date her. She isn't my type. She isn't sophisticated enough". If you know she isn't Sophisticated enough why don't you teach her. By "Sophisticated" he meant she doesn't dress the way he wants his woman to dress.

Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty

He kept on mentioning one celebrity or the other. This went on for years and he even takes out time to go on dates with other ladies. Melinda also on her part pretended as if she wasn't hurt but the pain was always written on her face. How Andrew never noticed baffles me till today. Maybe he noticed but chose to ignore her.

Towards our last year in school, Melinda relocated and their conversation was restricted to phone calls. After three months away Melinda uploaded some pictures on Facebook and we were all shocked to see how beautiful she was in the clothes she wore. Scrolling down we saw a picture she snapped with a guy. A handsomely built guy. A mini Dwayne Johnson. Lol. Andrew pale compared to him.

He was angry and said Melinda betrayed him. We asked how but he was speechless. The one being Chased now became the Chaser. He'll constantly drop messages for her and call her but it seems Mr Dwayne Johnson was taking Melinda's time and attention all the time. She even sent pictures of them together to Andrew and with pain, he complimented each picture. By the time he realised his feelings for her, it was too late.

Why not water the grass you are stepping on

Most of us go about looking for greener pastures. You have a girl you are dating but still go about looking for chasing others. Ask why he is doing such and he will give excuses why. Why don't you mould your girl into what you want? I know this might sound insulting to the ladies but I'm sure you know what I mean.

Everyone has a perfect girl/boy picture in their head. Most times it is the tall, beautiful girl with all the model material we have in our head. We want a Scarlet Johnson with a Beyonce voice and Chimamanda's confidence. We have a list of attributes we want them to have. If a girl has eight out of ten of our listed attributes, we dwell on the two she doesn't have and move on in search of the perfect girl.

I see these unwritten attributes we have in our heads as an excuse to remain in the market. After most breakups ask the two parties the reason for the break-up and watch the guy gives flimsy excuses. I'm not trying to spare the ladies. There are numerous cases where they are the ones giving these excuses. But I believe the Men are the ones in great need of this message. Don't fight love, embrace it, and if you are the type that is afraid of "No", hear this well - you won't be the first nor the last person to receive a "No" from a girl. But you will live without the burden of thinking of what could have happened if you have.

The treasure you've been seeking is already in the sand you dug. You only need to unravel it, clean it if need be and live an happy life. So what are you waiting for? Pick the phone now, book that date and go out like the king you are and express your feelings to her. Don't be another Andrew!.

Thanks for reading! πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

I hope to hear positive feedback from you all. If you all don't come back with nice stories of how you took the step, I will be forced to call you all Single boys-men outπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

PS: Don't ask about mineπŸ˜‚

Lead image source

17
$ 10.35
$ 9.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 14
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

I had such an experience. But mine I deliberately left him seeing he wasn't serious. But I got engaged by May and soon to be married and guess what? He keeps disturbing my friend who my fiance is. But I am happy I didn't end up with him.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow! I'm happy you met a better man.

His lost, let him keep asking. I'm sure he hates himself now🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many guys out there are like Andrew. Int the lose that precious gift they never value it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Had I know will be the next word from andrew. That will served as lessonπŸ€” to andrew, and all other guys out there who don't cherish what they have. andrewπŸ’˜πŸ˜‡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You see this proves that you really don't know what you have until you lose it. Andrew didn't know until he lost it. Such a pity!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Andrew deserves that surprise from Melinda for he doesn't appreciate what he have and kept on looking for something else. What he didn't realize is that he's slowly losing something beautiful while he's wanting for more.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

oh oho h Sorry for andrew! he had his chance haha howell.. It happens.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The grass might be greener on the other side but it doesn't mean that you should go to that side. Why don't you water (as what you've said) and take care of the grass in your area? Anyways, some things are meant to happen in order for us to learn something from it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

See you. Tell us about yours. You came first at us right? We can always build the men in our lives to be the man we want them to be.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Let take it as "I'm in love with so many people at the same time"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"You have a girl you are dating but still go about looking for chasing others."

I'm glad that my bf is not like this xd

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Make sure you let him know he is the true definition of a man.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I look pity to Andrew. All he did, the regret is always at the end.. πŸ’”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, poor Andrew, sorry for laughing as I pity him lol. Now that he saw how gorgeous Melinda can be then that's the only time he will chased him and regretting he didn't make a move when he knows that she likes him as well. But too late now but maybe not. But still, Melinda deserves more than Andrew. If he cant cherish me at my worst he will not have me at my best. You go girl!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's it! "If he can't cherish her at her worst, he doesn't deserve her best" wise words. Thanks for dropping by ma'am. πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was about to ask about yours, but I saw that p.s. there! πŸ˜‚ I love everything about it, you spoke well as of you have so much experience. That's why I love your articles.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thankfully i put the clause πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Thanks for reading Michelle πŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… after reading this,I now imagined myself going to a girl and professing my love for her,hmmm. A shy guy now have confidence, hmm. I really love the confidence you gave me this morning, like boys do say all die na die. If she tell me no, na to double my hustle be dat,I won't relent. On my way to ask my crush out and go on a date,byeeπŸ™ƒπŸ™ƒ

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Go go Gaftek πŸ₯³πŸ₯³πŸ₯³

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My eyes is pushing me πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But you know it's imminent that I would ask??? Please if you don't mind, I and many others would love to know about yours...πŸ˜…πŸ€£

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm a Single guy dating but not in a relationship. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Damn... This is complicated. So you are dating but not in a relationship...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Go Melinda! She deserved way better than your friend! It is always important to go for people that are compatible with you, who cares what clothes they wear?

$ 0.04
2 years ago

sometimes our standards make us doubtful, but yeah that happens, cause regret is not in the first place haha

$ 0.04
2 years ago

I laughed when I saw that "mini Dwayne Johnson" lol! But it's really true, boys really don't know better. As time goes by, I realized that the one I ignored is the treasure that I've been looking for all this time but same as your friend, it's all too late. Regrets always come later and boy does it sucks!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah, it sucks. Took a long time for Andrew to recover. But he still live with the regret till date

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, this is a totally different perspective but relatable. Personally, I, too dwell on the things that my boyfriend don't have. I sometimes think 'what if he is not the one' because not all the attributes I've been looking is in him. I now understand to build him to the man I want him to be. Thank you for this.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's it✍✍✍ build him into the man you want.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It looks so much confident idea! So all,,be confident & unbox your damn fellings.. men will be men πŸ˜‚

$ 0.05
2 years ago