No one told me this is what Adulthood looks like.

36 120
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Growing up, I anticipated the day I will grow up, earn my own money and be nicer than my Uncle who doesn't give my siblings and I money anytime he came visiting. A stingy and selfish Uncle he is. I'm sure I will do better than him when I grow older.

I've always dreamed of how pleasant it will be when I'm all grown up with enough money to do whatsoever I want. I wanted freedom and the only way possible to get it was to grow up as fast as possible. I wished a year will be equivalent to three years. Ask for my age just a month after my birthday. I will add half to it. You'd hear me say "I'm 10½ years old". Such was the Enthusiasm to grow old that I counted weeks as months.

Each birthday was celebrated with joy. I start the count down from January and when it is Finally February, I jump around with Joy. My parents will laugh wondering why the excitement each year. Little did they know that I'm celebrating that I'm a year closer to Freedom-Adulthood.

Recently, I hate it when it's few weeks before my birthday. It isn't like I'm Deeply Sad, after all, I'm HappyBoy. lol. I just have this nonchalant attitude towards it. No excitement or anticipation. Instead, I reflect on what I've achieved, what I'm achieving and what I am yet to achieve.

Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty

You're missing out if you haven't checked out articles from my wonderful sponsors. Don't be left behind. Do the needful.

I began to understand the true meaning of adulthood. The responsibilities that comes with it, the anxiety, the expectations and the pressure that comes with it.

The public expect somethings from you, they've set a goal for you without your knowledge. They compare you to others. The Family isn't left out. They raise the bar so high that you sometimes wonder if they know that you are human and not a bot. Your friends expect somethings from you. Even in your relationship, your Significant other expect time and attention from you. Which most times isn't yours to give.

I need to tender a public apology to all my nieces and nephews. I know they are disappointed. But their Dad did the same to me. lol. it isn't some form of Vengeance. It is Adulthood.

Another set of People I need to apologise to are my Uncles that I called Selfish, stingy and Covetous. I didn't know the struggles, the responsibilities on them back then. I was just a kid. But now I know better. Hopefully, their children will grow up one day to understand me too. I'll be here waiting to listen to their apology. 😂.

Conclusion

To Every Teenagers and youth out there who are Saddled with one responsibility or the other at such a tender age. Are you responsible for the well-being of your parents and siblings?. Are you the one paying the bills or tuition fees of your siblings?. Are you feeling the weight of these responsibilities on your shoulders?.

Do not be weary. Push on, press on and stand firm. With time things will work out well for you. You're a step closer to it. Don't give up or break down. You are a Superhuman. A different Breed. One of a kind. Show the world what you've got and we shall meet at the top.

Remember Tomorrow is another day!

Thanks for reading!🤗🤗🤗

Check out other articles from HappyBoy:

Story lovers

♡ Looking for Nokia

♡ We met on noisecash...

♡ Go with your own money

♡ You fish in the night

Laugh a little

♡ Various noisecash users

♡ Which Superhero am i

♡ How I was scammed

Prompt

♡ Nature: I can't breath

♡ Cheating: He woke the monster in me

♡ Darkness: my deepest secret

PS: To everyone, I'm sponsoring. Once the current payment expires, I will cancel the sponsorship and make another offer. This is due to the new Logo I'm using. Bear in mind that I'm still committed to the Sponsorship. I only need to change the Eiffel Tower to my new avatar. (which will also change soon😂)

29
$ 13.72
$ 12.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 16
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

every stage is a learning process, just don't get swayed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's alot of things which is unfold about adulthood but thankGod has we are getting there the picture is being clear day by day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! so ypu own that Eiffel Tower I see on other users! Oop, my bad, Paris has the Eiffel tower! LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I began to missed my childhood. I have enthusiasm before, right I only have sarcasm.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

When we were small and we expect our elder ones to extend their hands to give us something, we thought they were being wicked until I grew up to understand they have a lot of responsibilities to cater for. I am sorry for my misconception then and now I know how it feels especially when I tend to help them. I know it isn't easy at all. Adulthood comes with a lot of responsibilities.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Exactly what i expect from them too while growing up...but now i know better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are entering in adulthood and now you see the reality of life . Like you said about your uncle he is so selfish, now you see a lot of people who are closer earlier and then they leave you or you leave them because if their behavior

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We have wishes in our life . I had a wish to drive bike on myself in my childhood because my cousins used to make fun of me. I tried and now I can drive bike and car . My cousins can drive only bikes. They are jealous of me when they see me driving our own car.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

When I was a kid, I wanted to be an adult and was excited to work but when I became one, I miss the feeling of crying over a lollipop's flavor. 😶

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I can understand 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We got to experience more as we grow older. Well, that's life.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Adulting is not shaping up to be anything like I thought it would when I was younger. I've come to the realization that one of the hardest things about adulting is that we are 100% responsible for motivating ourselves. We are in charge of calling out the crazy lines we feed ourselves all the time you know!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's tough being an adult, but we should always find a way to keep ourselves from being stressed continuously. We should also take a break and reward ourselves from the fruits of our labor and make ourselves feel refreshed and energized to do more and be able to overcome all the hardships in life and become a better person to help our family and love ones.❤️😁

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You're right. We need to take a break once in a while

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the reality man..🤣 it sucks.. And you will experience more as you grow up. But you shouldn't lose your pace and track. Always follow the right path

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks ma'am 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are just starting to see the reality of life, by the time you get married and have kids that's when you will understand the inside of life.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ah! Just the beginning?😳

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha it sounds like my daughter talking. Always in a hurry to grow up. I always told her that she has to enjoy being a child because the moment she becomes adult, she has to pay a lot of bills.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I had no one to tell me this. Even if someone did, i wouldn't have listened🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes children do feel some people are stingy and are not ready to give but what they are carry is bigger than them . So, there are a lot to learn as adults.

We have been disappointing some people as adults but they just need to accept it and accept our apologies.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I feel you about the excitement when younger but I dread every adulthood moment when I have to pay for almost everything myself. It gets exhausting. 👌

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You're right, it's Exhausting 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your intended uncle has a lot of commitment, the more you grow the more the needs that arise for you. God will help you to accomplish your heart desire

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Amen 🙏💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My Sister barrowed a money to me before but not for some things that she want but because she wanted to pursue the course that she want. Well it is for her future so how can I say No? Since my mother did not know that she is still continue to study. It is true that when we grow up it is our responsibility to help our family didn't mind the weight that we carry as long as for the better future.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's really Nice of you. May God continue to provide for you and bless you abundantly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do not be weary. Push on, press on, and stand firm. With time things will work out well for you. You're a step closer to it. Don't give up or break down. You are a Superhuman. A different Breed. One of a kind. Show the world what you've got and we shall meet at the top.

I like this part. It's so encouraging words for everyonee

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks Gracee🙏💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am very happy that you have come to the understanding that your uncle was never stingy or selfish rather he was saddled with enormous duties as an adult. It's funny when we think that being an adult is a gateway to freedom, but I tell you, my friend, adulthood is the beginning of your enslavement as a person...😂🤣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

For real brother it is🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh well lucky that my parents are not pressuring me even if I stopped schooling temporarily. I was thinking if they don't care about me or what because they did not object when i said i will stop schooling just for a moment. lol but i know they understand my reasons that is why they supported me.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Wow! You've got a loving and understanding parents. Not all parents will agree to that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah, that's why I thank God everyday for the gift of loving parents.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The responsibilities that comes with it, the anxiety, the expectations and the pressure that comes with it. - this is just so true. I cannot imagine now how it is difficult to be an adult. The pressure you receive, just to provide their needs as they are depending on you. Sometimes, I am really wishing I can get back to times that I want to be the one asking again, because there's no pressure. But one thing about adulthood as well is that, you got to decide on your own which I obtained now that I am an adult.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's true. Adulthood has it advantages too

$ 0.00
2 years ago