To become one thing, you need to become a lot of things first

45 86
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

This will probably be among the few times I’d try to post anything motivational but oh well, the randomness that is me, remembers things at random. Anyways, to become one thing, you need to be a lot of things first. This was something a friend’s mom used to tell us when we hung out at her place and she would catch us drawing or doing exchange prompts for fun. She would always check out the things we did often too and told us what we could improve on, it was nice.

At those times, we never really understood what that meant but as I grew older I understood her. Like with the idea that to be a good writer, you need to be a good reader, observer, thinker, speaker and judge of text. Same with being a good artist. I came to understand that to achieve one thing, a web of other disciplines needs to be understood too. You can never know only one thing. There should never be such a thing as a master of one thing. It was always a better thought to be a jack of all trade, a master of none. At least that’s what I was taught.

On my experience with writing, either as a content and research writer from before or as a free writer now, reading will and always be the biggest discipline you should really come to master. And it’s not just being able to read but to understand the meaning and gravity behind each sentence and even word. As well as the aspect of being able to judge the texts you read. You will never figure out how to judge those unless you don’t read enough so read! Read! Read!

There’s also with the idea of being a good speaker. Good writers are often seen as good speakers because they can get into the minds or capture the attention of their readers. You definitely don’t need to be a psychologist to do this; but you do need to be a good observer of people that came before you and of your audience. I’m not telling you to copy them but learn from them and incorporate what them to your own style.

In the end, all the things you did for the sake of writing will eventually help you create your own style, your own voice and a very solid opinion and that, I think, is what really attracts people towards writings, stories and poems. Because people can see that you can justify what you’re writing and not just make empty claims you can't justify. There’s nothing more attractive than passion, am I right?

37
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @dhona019
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

a determined educated mind is a very powerful thing, don't waste it embrace it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Definitely and of you can, nurture it as best as you can

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When I read the title of the article, I was thinking that this is about a journey in life. You know stuff about successful people, being so many things before becoming one thing. 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice article dear, plz subscribe me🥰🥰🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

write to good information dear brother

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is it like a step by step process maybe? One way to another

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was honestly a one way or the other

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very informative article and I really liked you article 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Focus on what you need to do and gain some experience. It will help you overcome any obstacles

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wasn't really talking about obstacles and all. I was just simply sharing the things I did to get better at writing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Experiences are really important in our journey in life. If you want to be great, you need to go through struggles and hardships.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True and you need to earn everything too so that no matter how much people degrade you, you will always be great no matter where you go

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Finally I had some fun while reading your article😑😑 good job😌😌 nice one. Like it😪😪

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So what, is this a sign that i should change genres and be a motivational speaker too? 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nah.. it's a coincidence. Next time you will again move into your cave and will say dark and deep stuffs again

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ehh sorry ;-; it's how i was taught to write. Hard to change habits pounded into your head

$ 0.00
3 years ago

that's why I avoid after getting the vibe😑😑

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mhmm... sorry about that then.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article dear💖💖

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Are you referring to this? I read it just now.. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, not at all. It was the one you reposted

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nicw

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is so true. Back then when J was participating in a Journalism contest, what my coach always tells me to do is to write with your emotions. The judges that will see my work are already in years of experience, they will know. And so I did. And that time I won😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's really cool that you won. And as I've said there, nothing is more attractive than passion. People will always know if you write from the heart anyways

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think rather than be a jack of all trades , a better option would be as they say"know something about everything and everything about something" .

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

That's basically what a jack of all trades is though, just someone who knows about things yet can't seem to master anything despite the knowledge. And that's honestly way better and more effective now than anything

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Agree with you completely. There is a set of step to achieve any goal successfully and sometimes many roles and character changes happen on the way

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not sure about steps but these are what people kept telling me and guiding me to all while growing up. I can say that hanging out with the adults wasn't a good way to spend one's childhood

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And they were right, and I consider each of those phases of life as steps that make us ready for the final achievement

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. Each step took years to perfect pr at least learn to some mastery. All for the sake of improving, i guess

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What an impressive writer you are! Your writing is so informative. Keep writing this kind of article and also support me I will support you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Smooth. But I'd rather you try to improve on your writings first before anything

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very nicely written. This is an instructive post. Thanks for sharing. Keep sharing more like this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This wasn't instructive at all.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great job and I totally agree with this,keep it up dear 💖

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, that cool, you state what make up the reason to be a better judge

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's not about being a better judge but as a writer.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That was an avoidable error from my side.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with you, as I always say "every day something new is learned"

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, you'll totaly right, I mean.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really wish good writers are good speakers but most of them are not. A surprising high amount of writers, good writers, can hardly read a story. They are terrible storytellers and some should better not read a part out of their own book. It doesn't do them good. So far I only met/heard one great storyteller and he made me buy his books. The way he told his own stories, he had the right voice for it, even made his detectives way better than they in reality are.

Great your friend's mom guided you. 👍💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago