Reaper Ch. 9

9 27
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Chapter 1

Chapter 2

Chapter 3

Chapter 4

Chapter 5

Chapter 6

Chapter 7

Chapter 8


Chapter 9

[Prompt] There is more than just one Grim reaper- there is the sorrowful reaper, the envious reaper, so on and so forth- one for each emotion behind the death. You were chosen to take  over one of the reaper roles… Welcome to day one as the Puzzled reaper.


After having finished giving the twins their respective dosages of the anesthesia, I carried Nina in my arms and used her hand and eyes for the fingerprint and retinal scanner before placing her back on the bed. I turned to face them one more time, leaving behind an ace of heart card with the word alice written in between. I gazed at their forms one last time before I descended down the elevator which they rode down to their lab.

It was exactly how I’d seen it on cam and if I remember correctly, the laser just beyond that door.

As I approached, another vision came. It was the area 51 guys who came to check on the laser in the twins’ absence on their trial day. From that, I was sure, this contraption can’t be left like this. It’s better that it gets destroyed now than to have it destroy the entire town. On one side of the wall, I saw blueprints,plans and even a few notes all neatly arranged based on their previous trials. The kids truly were geniuses. Among the scribbled notes, I found one that was rather different

Finish this to save mom and dad

Mom and dad? Their parents? All they wanted to save the precious people in their lives. My hunch in the end was correct. They were like me, whose talents were abused by the wrong set of people, yet for them, there was even a threat. It had me wondering just how much they had rebelled before agreeing but I guess I’ll never get to ask.

I took a look at the blueprints one last time then went on to disassemble the laser before me.

After a few hours, I reached the core of the machine. The part that carried its plutonium core. The material responsible for what would be the largest explosion since Hiroshima.

As I was dismantling its container, a part of the glass cracked. It started off with just a small one. The next thing I knew, the crack was spreading. Panicked, I checked back on the blueprints. I didn’t notice.

The container could only hold the magnetic field that kept the plutonium from emitting such strong radiation and it was the very mechanism that was keeping it from coming into contact with any surface. What have I done.

I glanced back at  Laser and I could see the cracks on the glass, it got worse. The container was gonna break! The plutoni-

A blinding light surrounded me and the next thing I knew, I was at the center of this peculiar room, surrounded by hooded figures that did nothing but murmur.

“Silence.” It was the largest one that spoke. The one that wore such a dark tattered cloak and carried with him a scythe much larger than them and at a glance, one can tell that the blade was definitely sharp enough to cut with even just a glance “We have gathered here to discuss the proceedings of what to do with this soul.”

“He deserves to be sent to the depths of hell” Another figure spoke, one that wore a blue robe. The kind of blue seemed as sorrowful as the night sky. In its hand was a knife

“Despite all the death this man has caused, you can’t deny that he had saved more lives with the choices he’s made” Again, the black hooded figure spoke

“Then make him a reaper if he’s that special” This time, it was a green hooded figure that spoke.This one had an axe whose handle had a snake wrapped around it

The notion caused an uproar amongst the rest of the crowd. A number of them had agreed, stating that he was a better passer of judgement than they were when they had lived whilst the rest were ballistic with the idea. Eventually a vote was held. A number of them voted for his reaper-hood

And so it was agreed upon that he would be turned to a reaper.

“Child, tell me. What was it that you last felt as you died”

I stared blankly at him for what seemed like an eternity. My death hasn’t even processed in my head, my reaper-hood, and now he asks me such a ridiculous question. Even Satan made better company than this guy ever will.

It seems like you’re still puzzled by the turn of events. The puzzled reaper you will be. Hopefully you will continue to pass judgement unto others as you have in your human life. And for that, I will give you these bombs which will serve as your scythe.”

“Wai- I still don’t understa--” Without even being able to decline nor say anything about his judgement, he was whisked away in a blur of smoke. As to where? It was to the next person he had to pass judgement on.

---------

A not so satisfying ending but ayyyeee It's finally done and now I need to draw more soon.


3
$ 2.34
$ 2.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

WOW!!! You wrote the story backward, huh? All that led us to the initial prompt!

I'm in awe!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well that was the plan to begin with. I needed a reason on how he became the puzzled reaper and all and i don't think any ordinary death will suffice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Right or wrong, you've finished your story. And now there may be a continuation as a reaper.

Now to continue drawing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No more reaper for this one but I will start finding time to draw again since I now have way too mich free time on my hands

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Are you not working anymore? or is your schedule more flexible?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have a holiday break since all the holidays here line up with my work days so i basically have almost 2 weeks of free time which i will use to relax a bit

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's good to be on vacation, that you enjoy it with your family and your boyfriend.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well I'm definitely spending it with my fam, we're still trying to figure out when my bf and i can date again

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wish you success in your plans with your boy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago