Quick sketch 3

79 88
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

I am back! And I gave myself 2 hours to sketch again instead of allotting that to my papers πŸ˜‚ but since this day was way too stressful, I think I deserve sketching time at least.

This time, I want to fulfill what I told @marcmire about giving life to one of his texts. It was hard to choose from because all of them gave clear images in my head and I wanted to justify the passages properly if I ever did sketch them. In the end, I decided on River of Styx which is this article below:

https://read.cash/@marcmire/river-of-styx-2a919366

It's good and it's one of his first posts here

So on with the sketch. For this one, I used charcoal that I also dislike using but since charcoal provided a solid color, I thought it would fit what I was thinking

Yes, this is how messy I make on rough sketches. It was still in the making anyways

I had two types of charcoal sticks, a light one and a dark one. I only use these two because I tend to really do solid colors when I use charcoal. Some only stick with the medium shaded stick though and I think that's fine but since my hands are too light, I need to use the extremes in shades

Slowly, I shaded things in part by part, though it doesn't look like much but now theres the questioning lady about to be taken to River Styx (probably me πŸ˜‚) then charon who is the ferryman of the river. It lacks elements from the poem like the gates of hell and Cerberus but I did this at 10 pm :"" no more brain cells plus hard to draw a three-headed dog :<

I do feel like I could have added more details onto the water and maybe added floating soals in the water but this is what can be done in 2 hours before I sleep. I hope @marcmire will enjoy this and hopefully it's close enough to what could have been done for the short passage

23
$ 0.14
$ 0.11 from @Telesfor
$ 0.01 from @Baij
$ 0.01 from @Princesstj
+ 1
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

Amazing yaar😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What the.. That's fantastic! I wouldn't have the patience for charcoal, can't ctrl+z that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wouldn't have the patience for digital because i can't make accurate lines there even when on a pad πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me neither, though. I think you'll have to use one of those high grade pens, but I can't grasp them, either. I'm too used to the mouse.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I suffer more with a mouse than anything ;-; I don't think I'm meant for digital arts just yet πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've been using this method since I was a little girl; I don't think it's a common or preferred tool for digital drawing. Especially in today's age.

In the end, you can learn to work with anything, you just have to keep on going.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seems like it because even my friends under computer sciences don't use mouse for their animation projects

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And that's why I usually have to draw the outlines two or three times over, I'm a scrub.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's too much work and such a lot of patience ;-; while half the time I just pen everything down so everything looks neat

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm pretty neurotic and nitpicky with my work, anyway.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Verynice. I admiring anyone who knows to sketch.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, miss ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. Fantastic. I admire you, you talent. I wish I can sketch too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well you can always start practicing on how to sketch? Then maybe show it here. I'm sure a lot of people will help you improve

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well I'll try it, if have time. I will check your other works too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll look forward to seeing you try!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes.. soon.. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

pretty good concept.... i like the concept more than the whole art.... you are a creative presonπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘Œ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! I hope you took the time to see the passage which was actually the inspiration for this piece 😊😊 That deserves a lot of recognition too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wowwww very artistic!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Still don't like messy charcoal though :"(

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are experienced.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've had my years exhibiting art too ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice art❀️❀️ this is really amazing

$ 0.00
User's avatar Ohi
3 years ago

Thank you ohi-san!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh my, you really have a good sense of art, not gonna lie. I'm flattered to see one of my works come to life, and I appreciate for taking the time for it. I do agree that the details on the water can make it better. But, overall, the scenery is amazing. Calm but disturbing kind of vibe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

2 hours and a sleepy kid isn't really the best combination but then i hope it fits the concept enough?

Well that's the image I got from reading a lot of your stuff. A lot felt eerie but in the subtlest of ways that you'll only get when you actually focus on the other elements. Hopefully I can do a few more because your writing really puts vivid images in my head and I kinda wish a lot more people would see that too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha, art itself is subjective. I'm just happy that you're taking time to understand my works, and I very much appreciate that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with that. And right now I'm on a 50-50 if i should be happy or not that a lot of people find this piece eerie and scary

I feel this is a good collaboration in the making πŸ˜‚ but I'm glad i found someone whose words can coincide with my art style.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha, they totally are wrong but anyways, it's a matter of perception.

Hmm, I'm pretty much game for that. :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I find it peaceful though. The kind of peace you should get with death and while watching charon row

Stay tuned for whatever random text of yours I'll reinvent next πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree.

Hahaha, will be looking forward to that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

his drawing is very well done, he experiences a feeling of cold and loneliness, of tragedy, I don't know what happened to me but I felt that. it scared me, (excuse me)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Couldn't capture hopelessness enough on this. Probably a change in position for the woman would've worked

The image scared you?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A good artist can be understood by his/her drafts. I see that you are really good artist 😌 Awesome dear :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you ^-^ i gained it through experience but i still think my draft gets messy af when I'm in this much of a rush

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You did great here ❀️

$ 0.00
User's avatar Jim
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The art itself is amazing, speciathe reflection part where the ratio of them to their reflections in the water are the same. ❀❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was just basing the reflection on my imagined point of view though. Here, it was landscape so it needed to be proportional at least or a little shorter works

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What was your idea behind it, what were you thinking. This artwork is deep. I really hope you were optimistic while drawing it coz this picture to me shows alot of meanings

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was based on the text of @marcmire one of his first ones entitled river of styx But as for the sketching process... well my depression played a huge role in this πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awww. I hope you are better now. Means you can draw based on stories as well. I want one for me as well then. I'm planning to write about my love story soon and I will really appreciate it if you can show an illustration of it based on your thoughts 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I only draw what I can imagine so it will either revolve on a specific scene or it will just be abstract. It really depends on how specific and how emotional you can be for me to draw it πŸ˜‚ alao, i avoid love stories a lot

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What if the love story comes is more of a suspense and a thriller. I still don't know how to put it in words lol. Lets see how much i can manage to impress you lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We'll definitely get to see. Well feel free to tag me in that story when you've posted it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Will do thanks πŸ˜‡πŸ˜‡πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice sketch And also deep meaning

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh em gee. This looks creepy😭 don't wanna be in that boat. Anyways, the sketch is super amazingπŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder how it's creepy? Looks peaceful to me though? But thank youuu

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It really is hahahaha. Maybe something that's monotonic gave you comfort

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe? I just like how still it looks there

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You really are something aren't you? πŸ˜‚ Well, anyways, the sketch is greatπŸ’• it reminds me of the movie percy jackson as they went towards the underworld

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oof i hope that's a good thing ;-;

I didn't think of that- I could have checked that out for reference sake

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No need to check for the reference, you already did great even without oneπŸ’• i love your imagination

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's really beautiful. πŸ’—

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But i hope you see how charcoal works?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeap dear. Next time i will follow the instractions. Thanks for it.πŸ˜‡

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not really instructions but start eith which shade of charcoal works with how heavy or light your hands are

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeap. And it's really a good instraction for me. 😊 I will do it in my next art.🌹

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh I'll look forward to that then

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay dear.❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow I love this πŸ˜€ and I hope you still have my request in mind although you are busy I do hope to see it someday

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I... kinda forgot that request πŸ˜‚ i barely remember anything these days but what was that again? So i can get to it soon?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A parting couple. I made a drawing have u seen it 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's too vague a request. Basing it on something like a story or a song would be nice

I did, it was okay

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You did a lot in yep hours and it's great to see what is possible and how the drawing develops. I wonder if you make drawings on request, can make a living out of it. πŸ€πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I used to? I did a lot of commission work growing up because I'm a bit prideful with asking may parents for money and all. So i did that and it developed my art style per medium a lot

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope you continue with it and ask for money for it. A good price. Do not be too proud for that. You are good. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I stopped when I got into my higher years of college though. It took up too much time and materials. The price was good, i asked for like 15-20usd per piece, usually? Just depends on what they asked for. And majority of them were portraits, thus why

$ 0.00
3 years ago