Manila after 6 months

64 74
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

It feels good to be writing again after such a long while. I'm happy I've managed to go through my notification flood and to have gotten out for a while yesterday, September 14, 2020.

The department chairperson actually summoned the entire batch to clear out our university thesis lockers and we did just that.

At around 8am, I was ready to go. The commute was too tiresome just by getting there and the routes were much more different now than before. I took this car to the bus terminal then from the terminal, I had to travel through makati just to get to the MRT (train station)

I had more photos but they came out blurry. It was raining yesterday too so now I'm down with a bit of a runny nose. I also get lost a lot in makati and yesterday was no exception 😂😂😂 it took me some 15 minutes to find the MRT station so that I could ride it to the end then take another train to get to my University. So far, train fares didn't change but the carpooling services and buses doubled in fare price

The trains were far more spacious than before the pandemic. It was nice and everyone got the chance to sit. Plus they ran faster now with lesser mess ups and travel stops compared to before

Upon arriving at my stop. I noticed that the food street almost every student around U-belt (University belt) loved, was gone and got converted into a garden of sorts. It would make sense seeing as nobody would be eating there for a while anyways but I think I'll miss that one Japanese stall that sold takoyaki, okonomiyaki and cheap ramen the most. Also some of the sweet shops there too

The building diorama is a layout of my school since I wasn't allowed to roam the school ground anymore, the map will suffice. Then that small building at the far end with an L shaped structure is my building. That's where my beloved laboratory is

This was once the largest chemistry laboratory in Asia and was a school that participated in making bombs during world war 2 or so our student manual told us but that place is not where the graduating students do thesis. We do our research at the far end of this building. That's where all the instruments and special equipment are placed. Unfortunately the instrument room was locked so I couldn't take photos. I only managed to get pictures from the general lab then the wet lab. That's where we prepare our samples and standards and also the busiest area in the entire laboratory

I've missed this and the smell of chemicals so bad. It was always the hottest place in the lab too so it was never a question why our university never had overweight graduates before 😂😂😂

I had initially only planned to clean out my locker but then I found that my sample crystallized- I couldn't tell it it was because of the sulfuric acid in it or if it was slowly turning into a diamond but it was water soluble in the end so it may have been a mutation in the carbon layering. I never could find out because I couldn't use the instruments to check. Plus we were all kind of being rushed to finish the clean up.

I finished everything by 3pm. My phone died shortly after but after the clean up, me and my close college friend went to get a huge bucket of fries then went on the trip back home since we take the same route back

50
$ 0.47
$ 0.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

Wow.!! Really this is a good post and good Article brother

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really??? You missed the smell of chemicals? I always feel like choking in a Chemistry lab, especially when we had to open a bottle of acid or alkaline :D

It is nice to be able to see your school. It doesn't look like life there has started? Amazing how abandoned things look just after 6 months.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I spent 4 years of my life in that lab so i got used to the smell so much that it became part of my every day life though

The school was never this empty even when we had saturday classes before, honestly. So it was way too creepy for me to be walking along the empty halls

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aaahh... that explains it. Don't you get worried though, that the chemical substances may linger too much and seep into your system?

Yah, it does look creepy. Is school restarting soon there?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am worried but after all that time, i ended up not caring about it much since we have safety equipment

Nope, it's only online classes for senior high and college but besides that, the kiddos are all just at home

$ 0.00
3 years ago

after 6 months the place must look very different to you right, but why do you miss the chemical smell, are an scientist or something...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am 😂😂😂 I'm a chemist and the smell of chemicals has been with me in the past 4 years. That or something burning, honestly

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, that is interesting so do you love the smell or you just miss perceiving it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just miss it. I don't think anyone would love the smell of cancer in the air though but when you get used to smelling the same thing, you end up missing it when it's gone

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you have a point there...please can you try posting some chemist related kinds of stuff, I am also interested in science

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I used to post those, you can dig it up. I just ran out of the free time to do the meticulous searches i used to do for my science articles

$ 0.00
3 years ago

okay, I understand...nice chatting with you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

After 6 month it is a big time. Your chlick was nice dude. Bye the way make sure that you all ways wear mask beacuse the covid 19 is not end. So saftey is first thing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I did, and the face shield i hate so much. I do believe it's almost 7 months now since I was last in manila and in school? But I've no more reasons to visit the school now except for alumni gatherings

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow your explanation would have make anyone navigate through your University , I can't believe you miss the chemical smell .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm a chemist, what would you expect. The sensation of suddenly coughing up when you open a bottle of something was missed and is still so funny after months of not seeing it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh well I understand after 6 months is no long time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it's good that mrt fare didn't add up but how can you know that there's still availble seats before going to the station? take a good rest to recover fast from your colds

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well they just leave markers along the entire boarding platform to limit the train passangers and it assures them a seat

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Waah ang sugoii naman nung bout sa bomb woahh hahah tas my friend really love takoyaki haha. Parang ang creepy walang masyadong tao haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Super creepy. Usually ang daming tap sa U-belt so seeing this was so weird. Lalo na sa lab, it was rarely empty dati but now though. Ohh you like bombs too?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For sure it was a tough walk with a face shield attached on your face. I'm certain it affects your vision.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I took it off when i needed to walk. The reflection makes me keep hitting things :< or tripping

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know the feeling. As for me, I just place it on top of my head like sunglasses because my right hand can no longer manage to hold things.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do that too but then there would be guards around so I'll have to lower it again. What happened to your right hand though?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmmm, I attempted something on my wrist 2 years ago so I damaged its tendons. I can no longer do a close fist. I had stitched. The doctor said I'm lucky because I still have my pinky and ring fingers tendons intact. If it was damaged, I could have lost my hand.

Sorry for this sensitive information. 😔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No no, it's fine. not like i never attempted anything like that before. It's good that you're still here now though and that i still got to meet you so no apologies 😊😊😊 only hugs

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was really a tough time going through all that but here I am, blessed with another chance. Although I have yet to discover my purpose pa but I'm enjoying the ride so far. Hihi it was really nice meeting someone here like you ☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe your purpose is with another country or human or with pets ❤ i hope mine is with pets. I'll happily fulfill that asap

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sunny came to me months after that incident though and she's keeping me company ever since. I really hope it's something like you hope too. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sunny? A pet too? I think animals like me more than kids because the strays in the subdivision like me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, my dog pet. You forgot about her. You commented on my article before. Hahaha.

Animals must have seen something in you that made them feel comfortable.

Anyways, I need to sleep now. It's past my schedule. Hehe, good night ☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I stalk way too many animal communities here orz the cuties i love seeing. But you sleep, I'm gonna finish my game OwO nanighttt

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We also suffered the same fare increase... They even don't consider discounts for students... We have suffered a lot of negative impacts because of this pandemic.. Our police officers also in here are continously cleaning the sidewalks.. Its only advantage i find is the less or no traffic in national roads.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The trains didn't get an increase in fare though, just the small cars. So train travel is still doable, you just need to check out the passenger stats to know the times tmwhere uou don't need to wait that long but yeah, the buses and the fx got doubled

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ooh i see. We only have jeepneys for transpo while tricycle for short trips. 30php suddenly became 50php because of the strong implementation of social distancing.😅.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's what happens to the fx cars too. From 25 to 50 real quick tbh. But i can understand that they operate at reduced capacity. Luckily I saved up enough nefore going to school ;-;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is so unusual that there's no people in UBelt 😅 Back then it was a crowded place specially Recto 😅

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I know- but now it doesn't even reach 30% of the crowd it used to have- it was so weird, lalo na sa lrt!!! It was so empty and no lines

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree of that sissy since we have pandemic. Manila and every part of luzon was different than before. Its not normal at all. Stay safe over there stay healthy god bless you always it's been a while since I don't have notif about your articles published. And I know your so busy at your studies. 🌻😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Some are slowly normalizing though. Or adapting would be the right term? I also saw some kids out yesterday so I'm not sure on what's really happening to the metro. But i definitely miss my cheap ramen from this place orz. You take care too since you travel a lot

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's really different now that it's more hassle for the commuters :(

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Super. The number of bus and train changes wes ridiculous. I missed the single route buses I used to take. It made life easier

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I missed it too even the small vehicles. I hope the pandemic soon so that we can live our lives safer and more convenient.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well we can honestly travel now. It's not that bad, the media is just making it worse to cause a frenzy of fear but yeah, the hassle of transferring from one vehicle to another

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope they can use their platform in a good way, so that the people will get the true infos and not be scared about it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well that's the goal of some media people sometimes, to cause fear and make it so that something that's not so bad suddenly becomes a threat to the public.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for showing around. How come the photos were blurry because you were in a hurry?

Incredible you managed to deal with your notification flood mine is still there. I believe it only grows.

There's no corona between you and your friends? Sounds to me life started again. I don't hear you mention you already moved. Did you?

Enjoy your day. 🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was rushing to get to a few places to get the task of cleaning done soon. Plus my feiend and i never stopped walking, that's why most of my shots were taken while walking

Life is slowly going back to the way it was here. I think the whole covid situation is slowly being ignored and adapted as normal too. And i haven't moved yet, probably on October or maybe my father changed his mind about making us leave the house, he's never bothered us anymore. He just kept locking himself up in his work shack now so it became more peaceful on my end

$ 0.00
3 years ago