Ghostwriting

38 80
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago

Ghostwriting

By definition, it is to write for someone else. You have no authorship over whatever you have written, nor do you have any claims over it.

As for the written material, it varies and depends on who you write for. It can be something as simple as a letter or a social media post, essays for academic purposes, novels and books, to even somebody else's dissertation. The limits to what can be written by a ghostwriter are limitless. As long as a person has an idea, there could always be a ghostwriter that has the ability to put those ideas into reality. To give them a much deeper and more detailed elaboration than what the supposed author could never think of.

Why did I think about writing this all of a sudden? Well, from February to just recently, I partook in ghostwriting just to feel like I was still working, because honestly. I'm not the type that enjoys not doing anything and just drawing things wasn't cutting it for me. It was helping for a while. My first client asked me to do a biography for him. Despite the struggle to understand his accent, it was a smooth job. Although I honestly couldn't understand why he wanted to have a biography done when he couldn't even remember parts of his life when I asked for more details. The project took me 2 weeks. What followed was a diet book that focused on a keto diet. I managed to finish that in a week because the diet is a basic thing in our biochemistry class. Then I experienced having to write property books. I had to do 2 of those and I swear, I never want to touch any of those again. I don't ever want to see another property book in my life after everything I had to go through with those books! Then I worked on a fantasy fiction, the one that stressed me out the most because I was given basically only 5 days for that. After all that pressure, I resigned but my employer forced me to write one last biography before I left because the client specifically asked for me. I hated that job, yes. They were so late in paying for some of those books but I do think my writing really leveled up after everything I went through. 

Ghostwriting isn’t for everyone. And if it is, pray to the heavens that they give you a good handler for the projects because I was assigned to a huge a$$hole. He forced me to keep up with deadlines I was never even informed of. They would spam me with at least 20+ emails when I don’t respond. It was like a harassment threat, I tell you! And to make it worse, I already told them that I would be working on the documents yet they still spam me with emails. How can you expect anyone to type while answering questions? It was precisely why I gave them access to the documents I typed, so that they can check when they want. I understand that they have other documents in their drives but it was just a stupid mindset, I swear. 

Another thing that made me question ghostwriting was the fact that I had no claims over anything when the entire book was based on everything I wrote. I would usually just be given a paragraph to get an idea then the rest was up to me to write and arrange. Of course with biographies, I was allowed to interview the clients but for the rest, I was on my own. and after the entire project book is said and done, I always have to sign a non-disclosure agreement, stating that I in no rights have any claims over the finished book and anything relating to it, including profit.

It’s hard to write for someone else because you don't know them and you have no assurance that they’d like your ideas or if you’d even be paid for what you wrote. That happens, actually. The handler still makes you finish a book but the thing is, the client doesn’t like it so you don’t get paid for it. Then the next thing you know, your finished book still makes it to the market. How did that happen? The handlers sold it to someone else who was looking for something written with the same idea. It’s frustrating and the handler I was assigned with made the experience much worse. 

I came to a point where I thought of writing a book but where i should start was the question as well. I had no connections in the publishing world. I had no fame and reputation in the writing world aside from read.cash and just searching doesn’t help because they only show the surface level identity of these publishing platforms. So where should an amateur writer even start? That is a question that will continue to plague me for a while, or until I find a distraction from the question.

 Perhaps I'll write other things I learned while ghostwriting because I don't think I have the brain to think of a good story these days.


17
$ 32.76
$ 32.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @z_graeden
+ 3
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago

Comments

I guess ghost writing is not for me. I'm a greedy kind of person. I want the words I weaved under my name and mine alone.

I actually have a friend who was a ghost writer. He showed me some of his writings, it was good. But then he told me that he cannot claim ownership to it. From then on I said that it's not for me eventhough he told me to try it one time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's why this platform is pretty worthwhile because the struggle of being a ghostwriter isn't one that's so easy to understand without experiencing it firsthand

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think what matters is that you learned something from your experience. For people wishing to try ghostwriting, at least you have given them significant tips.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

there was more to this but i got distracted with writing a few other things

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hanzell l agree with you ghost writing is hard but in actuality l love film. But if you are after writing stories , l can give good ideas l have skills and imagination needed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i have the imagination needed for it. i just don't need such horrid clients and handlers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I got your point hanzell what is your price rate for writing a story

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ghostwriting is both challenging and rewarding, if, like you said, you find the right client. Yes, it means you cede ownership of something you worked hard on, but if paid fairly, it's okay. It is finding handlers and clients who will do right by you that is tricky.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mine paid fairly but i really hated that handler and a few of the clients i had. they were headaches, honestly and were close to making some of my veins pop from the stress

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa galing mong yan marami ka pang mahahanap na matitinong client. Ni wala ako sa kalingkingan mo, Proffesional na proffesional. Mapapasanaol na lang aketch. Hayan mo na. May readcash pa naman atleast magsulat ka hanggang gusto mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah, for now I'm staying with read.cash OwO as long as may pang invest invest kahit konti konti, it works for me UwU. but idk about my writing skills OnO idk if it's pro na? I'm not Stephen king level yet

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s sad coz you write such great things and you don’t even have the credit for it 🥺 At least here, bot-san loves you ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yiss bot-san loves us at least OwO but I'm still gonna try to publish an e-book. just gotta find the sipag to finalize the editing talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can do itttt!!!!! I’ll read it but you write such long stories 😭😭😭😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ehh i already cut it short when i publish it 😢😢😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ghostwriting is like fliptop battles there are people who write on mc so they have another battle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First of all, the title should be 'To hell with you ghostwriting'🤣🤣 I think that india a$$hole thought you have a time machine or something, so you can visit his part and write it🤣🤣 Or he wanted you to make his biography?🤣 I know you got frustrated because of all of it but I actually laughed a bit while reading it. Good job reaigning from this Though te pay was pretty good😐😐

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the pay was good but I don't need that kind of stress 😤😤😤 felt like one of my veins near my brain might have popped from all the stress that indian dude gave me. never gonna work for an indian dude ever again!!! might get my knife collection out for real this time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣 He really pissed you off🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

super 😤😤😤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are or neighbours. So We know what a nation they are😅😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

now i see why you understand their culture so much 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

e bangladeshi absolutely hate them...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this, I was wondering about ghostwriting. Where do you apply to be one? If the client dislike what you wrote, they can reject and then you don't get paid? It sounds quite sad that there is no claim for your authorship after all the hard work. And to have a nasty handler, that is a real bummer (although a handler reminds me of those dramas about undercover cops, they have handlers too). I know how that feels, being chased and harassed every minute. But it is a good experience, to help you decide how to move forward.

Sorry, I wanted to tip you but I have had this Error 413 for weeks, not able to transfer fund. I wrote to hello@read.cash twice but no reply yet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it's alright to not tip XD I'm just sharing my experience but you can actually find those ghostwriting gigs on the net. there are sites that only hire ghostwriters but then the problem is with choosing clients. i got hired on upwork but before that, i was working in livingston (during my college days) so I've ghostwritten a lot of papers already

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naka experience djn ako maging ghost writer but mostly mga acad related. The pay is low too kasi clients ko lang lagi is friends and my sister's classmates or friends. May instances din I wrote literary pieces for someone, the worst thing I wrote is when i wrote a song lyrics, my friends made the tune, we performed it during school competition and won 2nd place. The school later used it during Madulang sabayang pagbigkas whenever the song is related to the theme. And they only give credits to two of my friends who are also a part of sabayang pag bigkas like they own the song. Yes they do own the song but it's not just them given that I wrote 80% of the entire lyrics. We're not getting paid but appreciation and recognizing all the artists is something priceless for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i also did that for acads but that was when i was in college. the pay wasn't so bad for me because it was an international site and sometimes i get extra tips if i finished fast. I'd usually have $200-300 per cut off then so I'd say it wasn't so bad. it helped me through my college days at least UwU

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oohhh minsan talaga mas better ang client na taga ibang bansa kesa dito pero depende parin sa ugali ksksks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah mas okie sa ibang bansa cuz i used to get paid $5-10 for just a one page essay na 300 words. and i could finish those in an hour even with the search i do. it's not so bad but again, it will depend on your handler talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was offered to write an article before for 10 dollars. Thankfully I did not accept because it turned out, it was "ghost writing"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ghost writing isn't so bad. my only problem was my handler, honestly. he was such a whiney ass. it's hard to work with some people who only has work for a life because they want every deadline met yet they don't even inform you of anything, they just expect that you meet their expectations yet again, they don't tell you what they expect so it's plain stupid

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have ghostwritten for people before, and I find that it varies entirely based on the client. If the client is rude, like yours was, the whole process is unenjoyable. If the client is nice, the whole process is wonderful!

I hope you give ghostwriting another chance!

As to the rest of your writing, you should check out my recent post on the top ways that I have made money while writing. It's a good way to support yourself while you work on a book! :)

Keep writing! You're doing great!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not sure I'd like to ghostwrite again for a while. i have my studies again so I'm not planning to focus on writing for a while. but i will check those work of yours out when i have the time to

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Studies always come first! Good luck.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly, I also like to write. Here I do it for anyone who wants to read it. But at some point I will collect everything written and make a book out of it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ohh then you should maybe compile it per topic. you can download everything you've written as well. i just forgot how to do that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First time q to meet this word... ang hirap nman,, to write for someone with only a paragraph for a clue. Worst thing was, you don't even get paid with an amount you deserved.. sulat sulat n lng tau dto pra sa part time and when the bot is good, we get more than we expected khit engols kalabaw at minsan nagiging redunduncy na pla ang mga artikols ntin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah, that's why i resigned din kasi ang stressful ng handler ko.di na nakakatuwa kasi parang work is lice sya na kahit 2am biglang mang gigising just for a revision. so being on read.cash is still better cuz no pressure and all

$ 0.00
2 years ago